Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

6000 OTA Without a Dedicated Sat signal (sort of)


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   DarrellP

DarrellP

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,637 posts
Joined: Apr 24, 2002

Posted 07 May 2002 - 12:14 PM

Someone at AVS Forums posted that they were able to use a regular old cable splitter on their satellite cable so the 6000 can see a satellite signal and function as an OTA only receiver.

This is good news so you don't have to run a seperate line to the 6000 by adding another dish, multiswitch, cable, etc. Since you won't be doing any tuning on the LNB with this setup, it will work.

I suppose you could also watch the same channel as the other receiver, though he didn't mention that.

Also, when the 6000 is first installed, it would need the cable all to itself so it can download the latest software.
<---- I wish she was my girlfriend. :D

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Scott Greczkowski

Scott Greczkowski

    Banned User

  • Banned User
  • 6,968 posts
Joined: Mar 21, 2002

Posted 07 May 2002 - 12:16 PM

Yup it still needs a satellite signal, although that signal does not have to be a subscribed signal. :D

I guess they dont want people buying Dish 6000's just to use them as cheep over the air receivers.

#3 OFFLINE   Chris Blount

Chris Blount

    Creator of DBSTalk

  • Administrators
  • 17,185 posts
Joined: Jun 22, 2001

Posted 07 May 2002 - 12:45 PM

I think they were talking about using Diplexors. They work great for this sort of application. Although there are some detractors on this board that think Diplexors shouldn't be used.

I have a dish pointed at 61.5 with a diplexor outside which combines the OTA and Dish Signals. Then the diplexor on the inside splits them back out to my Dish 6000 receiver. One cable going to the Sat signal input and the other going to the 8VSB module for OTA HDTV.

Using a regular splitter probably isn't a good idea because there is no DC Blocker to keep the receiver's control from reaching the OTA antenna.

I've had the diplexor setup running for months now with no problems at all.

#4 OFFLINE   DarrellP

DarrellP

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 1,637 posts
Joined: Apr 24, 2002

Posted 07 May 2002 - 01:20 PM

Chris, he is not using his 6000 to tune satellite channels, that is how he is getting away with using a regular cable splitter. He is running a seperate OTA cable from the antenna so he doesn't need a diplexor. His main question was; can he use the same sat cable to 2 different receivers.

Here's the link.

I use a diplexor as well and have tested my system with and without it and I have not seen any loss of signal quality caused by the diplexor.
<---- I wish she was my girlfriend. :D




Protected By... spam firewall...And...