Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

SuperDish for everyone instead of having two dishes!!!


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
9 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Brownside

Brownside

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 44 posts
Joined: Apr 21, 2004

Posted 12 May 2004 - 01:28 PM

I know a SuperDish is used for 110, 119, 121 but why doesn't DishNet offer them to customers with 110, 119, 148 sats, or 110, 119, 61.5 sats, instead of having to install two dishes. Is a SuperDish so hard to make for satellites 110, 119, 148/61.5?
(¯`·.No one knows my struggle they only see the trouble-Tupac.·´¯)

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   mattb

mattb

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 189 posts
Joined: Apr 29, 2002

Posted 12 May 2004 - 01:44 PM

The spacing between 119/110 and 61.5 or 119/110 and 148 are too far apart, you would need a Super Super Super Dish to pull that off.

#3 OFFLINE   TonyM

TonyM

    Banned User

  • Banned User
  • 1,385 posts
Joined: Aug 14, 2003

Posted 12 May 2004 - 02:11 PM

Think about it
61.5 is almost 50 degrees away from 110.

My 61.5 and 110/119 are right next to another. The arms look almost 90 degrees from each other. The dish would have to be huge!

People b*tch about SD size....yeah, lets have a 50" dish!

#4 OFFLINE   Brownside

Brownside

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 44 posts
Joined: Apr 21, 2004

Posted 12 May 2004 - 02:16 PM

Maybe a Toroidal-90 dish will do, (captures up to 16 different satellites) it seems to kick ass! :) T55/T90 (20/38 inch dish) can cover up to 40 degrees in arc, 60 degrees in azimuth. But it still wouldn't work for me do to the satellite distances right?.:(

[[[Toroidal Dish]]]
(¯`·.No one knows my struggle they only see the trouble-Tupac.·´¯)

#5 OFFLINE   Brownside

Brownside

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 44 posts
Joined: Apr 21, 2004

Posted 12 May 2004 - 03:03 PM

148 is 29 degrees away from 119 right, so I guess the 20" T55 will work fine (110, 119, 148 sats.) for me.:)
(¯`·.No one knows my struggle they only see the trouble-Tupac.·´¯)

#6 OFFLINE   cdru

cdru

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,517 posts
Joined: Dec 04, 2003

Posted 12 May 2004 - 03:10 PM

Maybe a Toroidal-90 dish will do, (captures up to 16 different satellites) it seems to kick ass! :) T55/T90 (20/38 inch dish) can cover up to 40 degrees in arc, 60 degrees in azimuth. But it still wouldn't work for me do to the satellite distances right?.:(

[[[Toroidal Dish]]]

That toroidal dish will see 110-148, but won't see 61.5-119 great as they are right at the limits. It also won't work with standard Dish LNBs. Dish DBS signals use a circular polarity. When they hit a reflector, they switch polarity. Dish's LNBs know this so they correct the polarity internally. If you reflect it twice, it's already correct, so Dish's LNBs will flip it again making them the wrong polarity. 105/121's FSS signals use H/V polarity that are immune to this reversal.

#7 OFFLINE   Brownside

Brownside

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 44 posts
Joined: Apr 21, 2004

Posted 12 May 2004 - 03:45 PM

I only need 110, 119, 148 sats anyways, so I'm happy to get them on one dish.:) If I get the Toroidal specified LNBF's for DishNet will I also need a new switch instead of my DP34?
(¯`·.No one knows my struggle they only see the trouble-Tupac.·´¯)

#8 OFFLINE   Van

Van

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 109 posts
Joined: May 03, 2004

Posted 13 May 2004 - 11:37 AM

dp34 picks up 3 sats.

#9 OFFLINE   TonyM

TonyM

    Banned User

  • Banned User
  • 1,385 posts
Joined: Aug 14, 2003

Posted 13 May 2004 - 12:03 PM

dp34 picks up 3 sats.


The DP34 is a switch....he wants to pick up 3 satellites (110, 119, 148) on one dish

#10 OFFLINE   Brownside

Brownside

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 44 posts
Joined: Apr 21, 2004

Posted 14 May 2004 - 01:32 AM

Right and because the DP34 a certain type of LNBF's, I wonder if it could work with the LNBF's that I must use on the Toroidal dish. I probably need a different type of switch.:(
(¯`·.No one knows my struggle they only see the trouble-Tupac.·´¯)




Protected By... spam firewall...And...