Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Dishplayer 5721 upgrade spooling now


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
14 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Chris Blount

Chris Blount

    Creator of DBSTalk

  • Administrators
  • 17,190 posts
Joined: Jun 22, 2001

Posted 10 May 2002 - 05:04 AM

Just received the 5721 upgrade this morning. Hope it fixes the "left on after 3AM download" bug.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Scott Greczkowski

Scott Greczkowski

    Banned User

  • Banned User
  • 6,968 posts
Joined: Mar 21, 2002

Posted 10 May 2002 - 06:02 AM

I just applied my patch. Lets see what it fixes.

I notice if I am on the DISH HOME screen (or listings or other full screen graphics generated by the Dishplayer) that the image is shifted over to the left about an inch (on my 27 in Bedroom TV)

However when I watch video it fills the screen fully.

It this happening to anyone else?

#3 Guest__*

Guest__*
  • Guests
Joined: --

Posted 10 May 2002 - 06:50 AM

According to a Dish tech, the 5721 DOES fix the "left on after 3 a.m. download" bug. Guess we'll find out in coming days, eh?

#4 OFFLINE   JohnH

JohnH

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 7,802 posts
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 10 May 2002 - 09:09 AM

Scott, everthing looks normal on my 32" after the upgrade.

#5 OFFLINE   Scott Greczkowski

Scott Greczkowski

    Banned User

  • Banned User
  • 6,968 posts
Joined: Mar 21, 2002

Posted 10 May 2002 - 09:12 AM

Hmm I will try resetting my unit tonight when I get home.

I did not check my second unit.

#6 OFFLINE   Geronimo

Geronimo

    Native American Potentate

  • Gold Members
  • 8,295 posts
Joined: Mar 23, 2002

Posted 10 May 2002 - 11:59 AM

Some say there is new receiver s/w too fixing the 3 satellite switch problem when 148 is involved.
I never cared for all the signatures that insult posters with other points of view.

#7 OFFLINE   Chris Blount

Chris Blount

    Creator of DBSTalk

  • Topic Starter
  • Administrators
  • 17,190 posts
Joined: Jun 22, 2001

Posted 10 May 2002 - 01:24 PM

It doesn't surprise me that they have fixed the "on after 3AM download" bug. It was the most obvious problem to everyone who owns a DP. They probably had tons of phone calls.

I, for one, am glad it's fixed. Having the hard drive running for no reason bugged the heck out of me.

#8 OFFLINE   micmac

micmac

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Apr 24, 2002

Posted 11 May 2002 - 10:32 AM

Well I don't see any improvements wit this new version! This morning, my 7200 was on again, after being turned off at bed time. Futhermore, I had a problem last night that I have never seen before. I had set up two programs on the same channel to record, back to back. The first was 9pm to 10pm and the second was 10pm to 11pm. I happened to be watching live so I saw the problem in real-time. The first went OK, but about 30 seconds into the second, the screen suddenly turned bright pink and the sound stopped. Attempts to turn off the dishplayer from both the remote and the front panel failed. I then pulled the smart card and re-inserted it. After the usual 30 seconds of blinking power light, the Dishplayer came back on showing the Home screen and with recording running. So, weird!
Mike

#9 OFFLINE   Chris Blount

Chris Blount

    Creator of DBSTalk

  • Topic Starter
  • Administrators
  • 17,190 posts
Joined: Jun 22, 2001

Posted 11 May 2002 - 01:00 PM

Sorry to hear you are having problems Mike. My suggestion would be to unplug the unit for a minute then plug it back in. Sometimes after an upgrade it helps to do that.

Both of my DP's this morning were properly turned off after the 7-day download. Thanks Dish!

#10 OFFLINE   Maniacal1

Maniacal1

    Godfather/Supporter

  • Registered
  • 444 posts
Joined: Apr 09, 2002

Posted 14 May 2002 - 11:53 AM

How does one go about getting the upgrade? I'm still on 5709. It's been so long that I've forgotten how the upgrades come down.

Do you have to turn the Dishplayer off to receive the upgrade? Usually mine is left on, but for the last couple of nights, I've turned it off overnight. Still no upgrade.

#11 OFFLINE   Chris Blount

Chris Blount

    Creator of DBSTalk

  • Topic Starter
  • Administrators
  • 17,190 posts
Joined: Jun 22, 2001

Posted 14 May 2002 - 12:29 PM

You should have received the upgrade by now especially since you have turned your DP off at night. Do you turn it on yourself in the morning or is a timer running? You need to actually turn the receiver on yourself to receive the upgrade.

#12 OFFLINE   Maniacal1

Maniacal1

    Godfather/Supporter

  • Registered
  • 444 posts
Joined: Apr 09, 2002

Posted 14 May 2002 - 12:43 PM

I definitely turned the DP off last night, from the front panel.

I haven't had a timed recording on that DP since before Christmas, so I know it didn't turn on by itself. I don't remember whether I turned it on this morning by the remote or by the front panel. I suspect I used the front panel.

I'll try again tonight and I'll keep track of how I turn it off and on. Do you recommend front panel or remote? Does/should it make a difference?

Thanks!

#13 OFFLINE   Chris Blount

Chris Blount

    Creator of DBSTalk

  • Topic Starter
  • Administrators
  • 17,190 posts
Joined: Jun 22, 2001

Posted 14 May 2002 - 12:50 PM

It will give you the upgrade screen if you use the remote.

#14 OFFLINE   psecic

psecic

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 62 posts
Joined: Apr 05, 2002

Posted 14 May 2002 - 01:15 PM

Originally posted by JohnH
Scott, everthing looks normal on my 32" after the upgrade.


Mine did the same thing.

#15 OFFLINE   Maniacal1

Maniacal1

    Godfather/Supporter

  • Registered
  • 444 posts
Joined: Apr 09, 2002

Posted 14 May 2002 - 04:17 PM

Thanks, Chris. I used the remote to turn off and on the DP when I got home from work, and now I can complain about 5721 instead of an antediluvian version. I've always been confused about when to use the front panel and when to use the remote and what the difference is.

It's been a long time since I've used the DP to record anything. Last fall, I got one of the free 501's they were handing out for the Club Dish deal. I used it to replace my 4700, which had had a standalone TiVo attached. I hooked the TiVo up to the DP and have used it to record. It's amazing how non-problematic the DP is when you don't use it to record anything. The only problem I've had is if TiVo tries to record a suggestion during the nightly EPG download.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...