Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Need help with OTA Fox signal in Portland


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
2 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   mkxanth

mkxanth

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 6 posts
Joined: Nov 03, 2003

Posted 01 June 2004 - 10:36 AM

I just received the HD Tivo last week and have a problem with the guide and the OTA Fox (KPTV) channel. The guide shows the OTA Fox channel as 12.1 This makes sense as Fox is on channel 12. The problem is that if I tune to channel 12.1 there is no channel there. The high definition frequency that Fox transmits on is channel 30. If I tune to channel 30.1 then I get the Fox station.

The problem is that since my guide is incorrect, I cannot use the Tivo functionality to record anything from the OTA fox channel. I can set a manual record on channel 30.1, but I cannot do anything like a Season Pass.

I called Directv and they said the problem is the Fox station and that the guide info comes from the OTA transmission from Fox.

I called Fox and they said that the problem is probably on their side as they are only transmitting the 480i signal and nothing else. They said they are not transmitting the guide info though.

Does anyone know anything I can do to get channel 30.1 to map to channel 12.1 or any other ideas?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   bonscott87

bonscott87

    Cutting Edge: ECHELON '07

  • Registered
  • 9,809 posts
Joined: Jan 21, 2003

Posted 01 June 2004 - 12:49 PM

Your local FOX station needs to send along the PSIP data along with it's signal. This is what tells the receiver (DirecTivo or not) what channels to remap to. Basically your Fox station must get off it's duff and fix the problem. Which they actually admitted to which really suprises me.

Might want to check on AVS for the thread on your local area HDTV and see what other users in your area are doing about the problem.

#3 OFFLINE   OmarG

OmarG

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 18 posts
Joined: Apr 16, 2004

Posted 01 June 2004 - 04:03 PM

Also, FOX doesn't plan to do any true HD broadcasting that I know of until around September. I pick up my FOX digital station, but end up recording off the SD channel anyway.

All I'm saying is you've got a few months to figure it out before they start sending out any HD that you'd want to record OTA.




spam firewall