Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Phase III Multiswitch Help


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
22 replies to this topic

#21 OFFLINE   Flyboy917

Flyboy917

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 115 posts
Joined: Oct 24, 2003

Posted 20 July 2004 - 09:49 PM

DirecTv techs spent two and a half hours today trying to get my Spuan 5x16 switch to work. After trying every concievable wiring possiblility, they gave up and put in their own 5x8 switch that worked fine.
They gave it to me for free...which is cool, but now I have no future upgradability, and no amplified OTA.

Thoughts, Ideas? :confused:

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#22 OFFLINE   ctauber

ctauber

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 35 posts
Joined: Jul 26, 2004

Posted 26 July 2004 - 03:28 PM

My dtv installer put in a zinwell 4x8 today to connect a 3 lnb dish to 3 tivo units. How can I add a ota antenna without running 3 more lines?

#23 OFFLINE   Flyboy917

Flyboy917

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 115 posts
Joined: Oct 24, 2003

Posted 04 August 2004 - 09:32 PM

DirecTv techs spent two and a half hours today trying to get my Spuan 5x16 switch to work. After trying every concievable wiring possiblility, they gave up and put in their own 5x8 switch that worked fine.
They gave it to me for free...which is cool, but now I have no future upgradability, and no amplified OTA.

Thoughts, Ideas? :confused:


To answer my own post: The DTV installer monkeys insisted that the switch be placed on 18 volts for their LNB's. Well, after actually reading the instructions (they they had studied for quite a bit of time) I read that the switch needed to be set at 22Khz for the triple LND DTV dish. NOT 18 or 12 Volts.
Well I put the thing back in and it works fine. Have not added the OTA yet. Will let anyone interested know.

Flyboy
:)




spam firewall