Jump to content

Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Sat 119, Transponder 40, Channel 15848?


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
16 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   larrystotler

larrystotler

    Hall Of Fame

  • Gold Members
  • 2,582 posts
Joined: Jun 06, 2004

Posted 13 June 2004 - 08:06 AM

I found something really strange yesterday. A friend of mine picked up a JVC 4500 receiver. He wanted me to test it to see if it worked. The software was so old that it only had the 61.5, 119, and 148. When I ran the check switch, it only had 18 tests. It would see the 110 on the sig screen, but not on the test screen(wrong sat, 110 west). It showed the 119, so we canceled out to see if it would show a picture on channel 101. It kept getting an error on the 119, trans 11, and then, at one point after resetting it, it gave error on 119, transponder 40, channel 15848.......anybody have ANY clue what this is? After the receiver took the s/w update when I shut it off for 10 minutes, it was fine, and it wouldn't show this error anymore...
Weird, to say the least.

#2 OFFLINE   SimpleSimon

SimpleSimon

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,468 posts
Joined: Jan 15, 2004

Posted 13 June 2004 - 10:03 AM

Just a SWAG here, but I think it might've just been some memory corruption caused by old software seeing something so new it couldn't handle it. Then the s/w update fixed it.
"I agreed with Bogy thrice in 5353 posts. That means he's wrong 99.94% of the time."
----------
DishDVR 921, B: 120B, F: F051, V: L211HECD-N@04-Dec-07, L212@05-Mar-01, L213@Apr-01, L215@Jun-29, L216@Jul-23, L218@Jul-28, L219@Aug-11, L270@Sep-14, L272@Oct-28, L273@Dec-08, L274@Mar-08, L275@Mar-23, L276HECD-N@06-Mar-31.
DP-Twin=110/119, DP Single=148, into a DP34, DP Dual=61.5, into DP21s to add 61.5

#3 OFFLINE   larrystotler

larrystotler

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Gold Members
  • 2,582 posts
Joined: Jun 06, 2004

Posted 13 June 2004 - 08:25 PM

Or maybe they just aren't telling us everything........................................ :)

#4 OFFLINE   JohnH

JohnH

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 7,802 posts
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 14 June 2004 - 12:20 AM

More likely the receiver had a hiccup. There is no Tp 40 or channel 15848 in the system.

Maybe it was seeing some Tp from DirecTV 7S. :)

#5 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 39,602 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 14 June 2004 - 01:50 AM

More likely the receiver had a hiccup. There is no Tp 40 or channel 15848 in the system.

Maybe it was seeing some Tp from DirecTV 7S. :)

Was there a 15848 in the distant past?

The error was that the receiver was looking for that channel and couldn't find it, not that it found the channel and didn't know what to do with it. On today's list I agree, there are no channels close to that number. (OpenTV Data channels are in the 19000 range and the download and EPG channels are way up in the 36800's. But you know that! :) )

Wild guess is that the channel was used a long time ago ... At least the receiver managed to find the right software download channel to get the update. That would be very bad.

Then again:

It kept getting an error on the 119, trans 11, and then, at one point after resetting it, it gave error on 119, transponder 40, channel 15848...

There has NEVER been a transponder 40 ... so the receiver was just screwy.

JL

#6 OFFLINE   JohnH

JohnH

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 7,802 posts
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 14 June 2004 - 05:45 AM

The transponder 11 error may have been associated with the Channels in the 4000s, which are no longer there.

#7 OFFLINE   Nick

Nick

    Keep going - don't give up!

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 21,252 posts
  • LocationThe Beautiful Golden Isles of Coastal Georgia
Joined: Apr 23, 2002

Posted 14 June 2004 - 07:04 AM

Obviously, channel 15848 is the inter-galactic hailing channel.

All extra-terrestrial civilizations of the Seventh Level or higher
have snarked a Universal Accord to keep this channel open for
space emergencies and pre-adolescent spawn abductions.

.


~ 12 Year Anniversary Month ~
Charter Gold Club Member
DBSTalk Club ~ 21k Club
Top 10 Poster

.


#8 OFFLINE   stonecold

stonecold

    Banned User

  • Banned User
  • 583 posts
Joined: Feb 20, 2004

Posted 14 June 2004 - 11:18 AM

I have had this error before on old but still nib model 3000 that were auction off here locally when i retailer went bankrupt. I would plug it in to the my legacy dish 500 and before it took the update I would get the same error wit hthe name mysterious tp 40. I dont remember the channel number other than it started with 15but it probably the same number.

#9 OFFLINE   Geronimo

Geronimo

    Native American Potentate

  • Gold Members
  • 8,295 posts
Joined: Mar 23, 2002

Posted 14 June 2004 - 11:58 AM

Obviously, channel 15848 is the inter-galactic hailing channel.

All extra-terrestrial civilizations of the Seventh Level or higher
have snarked a Universal Accord to keep this channel open for
space emergencies and pre-adolescent spawn abductions.



Way to go Nick. I thought that Green lantern told us not to reveal that info outside of the Justice League.
I never cared for all the signatures that insult posters with other points of view.

#10 OFFLINE   ehren

ehren

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,176 posts
Joined: Aug 02, 2003

Posted 14 June 2004 - 03:17 PM

Damn I thought maybe it was Comcast SportsNet Philadelphia.

#11 OFFLINE   ypsiguy

ypsiguy

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 864 posts
Joined: Jan 28, 2004

Posted 14 June 2004 - 03:32 PM

Damn I thought maybe it was Comcast SportsNet Philadelphia.

Comcrap....ugh. Don't get me started on them. :lol:

#12 OFFLINE   ypsiguy

ypsiguy

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 864 posts
Joined: Jan 28, 2004

Posted 14 June 2004 - 03:54 PM

I found something really strange yesterday. A friend of mine picked up a JVC 4500 receiver. He wanted me to test it to see if it worked. The software was so old that it only had the 61.5, 119, and 148. When I ran the check switch, it only had 18 tests. It would see the 110 on the sig screen, but not on the test screen(wrong sat, 110 west). It showed the 119, so we canceled out to see if it would show a picture on channel 101. It kept getting an error on the 119, trans 11, and then, at one point after resetting it, it gave error on 119, transponder 40, channel 15848.......anybody have ANY clue what this is? After the receiver took the s/w update when I shut it off for 10 minutes, it was fine, and it wouldn't show this error anymore...
Weird, to say the least.

Probably the transponder for the onboard laser weapon. DirecTV 7S will soon be space junk. The 110 episode the other day was a misfiring of the weapon.
:grin:

#13 OFFLINE   larrystotler

larrystotler

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Gold Members
  • 2,582 posts
Joined: Jun 06, 2004

Posted 14 June 2004 - 09:08 PM

Was there a 15848 in the distant past?

The error was that the receiver was looking for that channel and couldn't find it, not that it found the channel and didn't know what to do with it. On today's list I agree, there are no channels close to that number. (OpenTV Data channels are in the 19000 range and the download and EPG channels are way up in the 36800's. But you know that! :) )

Wild guess is that the channel was used a long time ago ... At least the receiver managed to find the right software download channel to get the update. That would be very bad.

Then again:

There has NEVER been a transponder 40 ... so the receiver was just screwy.

JL


Actually, I didn't know that. As for never having a transponder 40, keep in mind that each company has "extra" transponders for "backup". Would it really be that much of a stretch to think that it could have been there, but that we can't see it? Not trying to start a conspiracy theory, but......

#14 OFFLINE   larrystotler

larrystotler

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Gold Members
  • 2,582 posts
Joined: Jun 06, 2004

Posted 14 June 2004 - 09:09 PM

I have had this error before on old but still nib model 3000 that were auction off here locally when i retailer went bankrupt. I would plug it in to the my legacy dish 500 and before it took the update I would get the same error wit hthe name mysterious tp 40. I dont remember the channel number other than it started with 15but it probably the same number.


Thanks. I'm not crazy. Unless you are crazy, and then I would not care.....
:)

#15 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 39,602 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 15 June 2004 - 02:07 AM

Actually, I didn't know that. As for never having a transponder 40, keep in mind that each company has "extra" transponders for "backup".

Oh, there are extra transponders - but only 32 transponder frequencies to be used (and that is further limited by the licenses held). Whatever transponders are powered up are referred to by the transponder frequency number, a receiver wouldn't be looking for 40.

Internally E* does number the transponders by satellite -
On 119: Conus Transponders 2, 4, 6, 8, 10-21, and spotbeams 41, 43, 45, 47, 49, 51, 53, 55, 57, 61, 63, 65, 67, 69, 71, 73, 75, 77, 79, 81, 83, 85, 87, 89
On 110: Conus Transponders 201, 203, 205, 207, 209, 211-227, 229, 231,
and spotbeams 242, 244, 246, 248, 250, 252, 254, 256, 258, 260, 262, 264, 266, 268, 270, 272, 276, 280, 282, 286, 288, 290

On 61.5: Conus Transponders 102, 104, 106, 108, 110, 112, 114, 116, 118, 120, 122 - (104 and 116 not in current use?)
And SkyAngel's License: 125-132 (with 128 dead and E* using five for their channels)

On 148: Near Conus Transponders 301-332, with a few not used

On 121: Conus FSS 501-532, with many not yet used

On 105: Conus FSS 601-624, with many not used (but bigger transponder bandwidth - they divided the 500MHz by 24 instead of 32 on that bird)

On 129: They still have 417 listed for the EPG on the old FSS bird.

But even when your dish is seeking a missing transponder it doesn't give the "internal number" ... and even if through some fluke it did, there is no transponder 40 ...

JL

#16 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,766 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 15 June 2004 - 01:01 PM

JL, you should know before post it - transponder_id and transponder number, ie FCC frequiency/polarity are different things. I would correct your message and name them as TIDs.

#17 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 39,602 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 15 June 2004 - 09:42 PM

JL, you should know before post it - transponder_id and transponder number, ie FCC frequiency/polarity are different things. I would correct your message and name them as TIDs.

Clarification for newbies:
The "internal numbers" in my post refers to the TID that is transmitted in the unscrambled system tables. You most likely will never see these numbers on the screen in either setup screens or error messages.

The FCC refers to transponders by a different set of numbers. Those are the numbers you see in the setup screens and error messages.

We now return to non-newbie explainations.
If confusion remains, feel free to ask!

JL




spam firewall