Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

DVI Output and 1080i


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
8 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Shappyss

Shappyss

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 88 posts
Joined: Jun 26, 2004

Posted 26 June 2004 - 12:10 PM

I have a HD DVR with directv and it works great!! :D I connected it using the HDMI to DVI cable and when I change the resolution to 1080i from 720p the picture seems to get worse. The coloring is off and it is very light. Is anyone else having this problem or know how to help? I used to have the Hughes HD reciever that automatically upconverted to 1080i and never had this problem (i did use component video then)

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   mini1

mini1

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 862 posts
Joined: Jan 25, 2004

Posted 26 June 2004 - 03:39 PM

why would you want to switch to 720p? keep everything at 1080i and you will not have any problems.

#3 OFFLINE   Shappyss

Shappyss

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 88 posts
Joined: Jun 26, 2004

Posted 26 June 2004 - 06:11 PM

I would like to keep it at 1080i but the picture looks much worse

#4 OFFLINE   bonscott87

bonscott87

    Cutting Edge: ECHELON '07

  • Registered
  • 9,809 posts
Joined: Jan 21, 2003

Posted 27 June 2004 - 08:27 AM

More important, what does your HDTV set do? If it's native 720p then if you send it a 1080i signal it will have to downconvert it. Perhaps it doesn't downconvert very well. If your set it a 720p set then put the HD-DirecTivo in 720p mode and don't change it. My suggestion anyway.

#5 OFFLINE   Shappyss

Shappyss

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 88 posts
Joined: Jun 26, 2004

Posted 27 June 2004 - 09:39 AM

My tv is capable of 480i 480p 720p and 1080i but since it looks better at 720p i guess I will just leave it at that.
Thanks for the info

#6 OFFLINE   jpoklop

jpoklop

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 64 posts
Joined: Jan 20, 2004

Posted 27 June 2004 - 07:30 PM

My projector does 480i, 480p, 720p and 1080i. I try to match the format the show is broadcast. If I am watching EPSN or ABC, I set the output to 720p. Otherwise I leave it at 1080i. The differences are pretty minor most of the time so if I am channel surfing I just leave the setting on 1080i.

There are so many variations between tvs that I would not worry about which setting people say you should be using. Pick the one which looks best to you and enjoy.

#7 OFFLINE   haggis444

haggis444

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 137 posts
Joined: Jan 20, 2004

Posted 29 June 2004 - 09:55 AM

What kind of TV are you using? I have a sony 57WS510 and it only displays 1080i, 480p/i. If I send it a 720p image, it donconverts to 480p.

#8 OFFLINE   bonscott87

bonscott87

    Cutting Edge: ECHELON '07

  • Registered
  • 9,809 posts
Joined: Jan 21, 2003

Posted 29 June 2004 - 11:53 AM

haggis,

He said he has a projector. It's not a TV.

#9 OFFLINE   jpoklop

jpoklop

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 64 posts
Joined: Jan 20, 2004

Posted 06 July 2004 - 07:35 AM

What kind of TV are you using? I have a sony 57WS510 and it only displays 1080i, 480p/i. If I send it a 720p image, it donconverts to 480p.



I have a Sanyo PLV-70. It is a projector I have set at 119" diagonal and looks stunning on HD content. SD is still very watchable, though, much improved over my regular Tivo.

The PLV-70 autoswitches 1080i/720p/480p/480i through the component settings and locks in 1080i when using DVI. Due to the positioning of the projector, I have not been able to adequately test the DVI connector. My DVI cable is over 30 feet and I get too many artificats. I am planning on moving my Tivo for testing purposes using just the cable included with the receiver. Even without the artificats, I prefer the image using component on my setup.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...