Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Annoying Problem


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   brewerdude

brewerdude

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 32 posts
Joined: Jun 11, 2004

Posted 08 July 2004 - 06:46 AM

For the most part I've been happy with Voom, but recently I've encountered an annoying problem which I can't seem to resolve. While watching any channel, local, HD, or SD somewhere between every 30secs - 2mins the picture resets and I momentarily see a green bar in the middle of the screen. The whole process takes about a second but is really disruptive. I've reset the STB twice and the issue still hasn't gone away. It got so bad while watching a local channel the other night, I had to switch to cable.

There have been clear skies in my area since the problem started occuring, so I don't think rain fade could be the culprit (I live in Phoenix, so this is rarely a problem). Signal strength from the satellite is 95-96, and at the time the problem was really bad, my OTA strength was 70.

Just wanted to see if anyone had experienced this issue before calling Voom...

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   bryan27

bryan27

    DBSTalk E* Spot Beam Guru

  • Registered
  • 443 posts
Joined: Apr 01, 2002

Posted 08 July 2004 - 03:40 PM

I haven't experienced it, nor have I heard anyone else with it. I have noticed some weird bugs that have been cropping up the past two days that hasn't cropped up for a month. Yesterday during clear skys I lost signal twice requiring a reboot to get the signal back, and today the STB froze up twice and required a reboot before I could use the remote again.

I don't know, here lately when I see something weird I think they are getting ready to send the new software.

#3 OFFLINE   brewerdude

brewerdude

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 32 posts
Joined: Jun 11, 2004

Posted 09 July 2004 - 06:39 AM

Turns out my resolution setting was incorrect. Voom did a good job of helping me with this.




spam firewall