Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Season Pass and Guide for OTA


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
4 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   ImmerTech

ImmerTech

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 67 posts
  • LocationFort Lauderdale
Joined: Jul 19, 2004

Posted 19 July 2004 - 09:02 AM

Newbie question before I spend a fortune on e-bay.

How does the the HR10-250 work with Season Passes for OTA stuff? In other words does the guide have data for my locals that I get OTA? If I can only setup Season Passes for the SD DirecTV version of my locals that would stink.

Has anybody had any experience with this and am I asking this question correctly?

- ImmerTech

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Tusk

Tusk

    Back in the Game

  • Gold Members
  • 738 posts
Joined: Nov 14, 2002

Posted 19 July 2004 - 09:15 AM

It works exactly like your regular Tivo. The HD Tivo receives guide data from the satellite for all of your OTA channels. You then simply set your season pass for the show you want on the specific OTA channel. Then watch and enjoy.


#3 OFFLINE   JLucPicard

JLucPicard

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,983 posts
Joined: Apr 26, 2004

Posted 20 July 2004 - 03:04 PM

One caveat to that. There have been some (and I'm a victim of this myself) of the local broadcasters that may not broadcast the program guide data on their signal (I know I'm not hitting the nail on the head technically, but I hope this will make sense). For example, my local UPN channel is 29. The SD locals I get through DirceTv are also on 29. My local UPN station actually broadcasts their digital signal on channel 22.1. On my HD Tivo, there is program guide data showing for channel 29.1 that is the UPN programming for my area. However, the actual audio and video for my local UPN station is only there when I tune to channel 22.1. The Program guide for channel 22.1 only shows as "Regular Programming", so I cannot set Season Passes through the guide. I can set up recurring manual recordings for those programs.

I have been in touch with DirecTv and the story I get is that the local station needs to do something that remaps the data so the guide will align with the broadcast. I haven't gotten beyond that point yet.

I will say that my local digital stations for CBS, ABC, NBC, Fox, WB, PBS, etc are all fine and I can use the Season Pass for the digital broadcasts with no trouble. It's just the one UPN station I have a problem with. I don't think this should be enough to scare you off.

If I look up my locals on antennaweb.org, I can see that my local 29 actually broadcasts digital on 22.1. If you have concerns, you may want to visit that site and check it out. It is a problem, if I understand it correctly, that can be corrected, but it takes the local station doing something for that to happen.

Good Luck!

#4 OFFLINE   Tusk

Tusk

    Back in the Game

  • Gold Members
  • 738 posts
Joined: Nov 14, 2002

Posted 20 July 2004 - 03:23 PM

Jluc, you need to contact your UPN station and let them know that their PSIP (Program & System Information Protocol) generator is not functioning properly. The purpose of the PSIP is to let your set top box know that although they are broadcasting on 22, the transmission should be remapped to 29 in your situation.

My CBS station broadcasts on 12 and is mapped to 11. Everything worked fine until one Sunday night when the signal on 11 was gone. The Tivo was tuning the channel on 12 (the actual broadcast channel). I contacted the technology director at CBS and they rebooted the PSIP system. The Tivo then correctly remapped to 11.


#5 OFFLINE   JLucPicard

JLucPicard

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,983 posts
Joined: Apr 26, 2004

Posted 20 July 2004 - 05:14 PM

Tusk,

I appreciate your help!!! I had been dealing with D* and could never quite get to a person who was able to give me resolution or a place to go.

I'll be in the phone with them (WFTC, my UPN station) tomorrow!

Great folks out here - very fortunate to have found you.

Mike




spam firewall