Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

FEATURE REQUEST: Closed Caption on Mute


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Scooters

Scooters

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 43 posts
Joined: Mar 15, 2003

Posted 24 July 2004 - 07:46 AM

How about a "Closed Caption on Mute" option.

When enabled.. Captioning would appear whenever the "Mute" button was "ON".

I've had a couple of TVs with this feature. It is handy when the phone rings and you still want to keep track of the live program.

Yes, I know it is a DVR, and Yes I know that the whole purpose is to rewind and play again. However, there are times when this would be handy.

Should not be a biggie to program.
Scooters

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   reedl

reedl

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 34 posts
Joined: May 10, 2002

Posted 26 July 2004 - 09:40 AM

The problem is that the 921 does not "mute" at all (that I know about), so how would it know when the audio receiver or TV is muted?

Reedl

#3 OFFLINE   BFG

BFG

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,118 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2004

Posted 26 July 2004 - 10:45 AM

Ditto, it can't tell when you mute...

The only outputs that a TV can use its own captions are on the Coax and Composite.

I'm surprised they weren't required to have captioning on HD imputs since the programs are being required to carry CC

#4 OFFLINE   boylehome

boylehome

    Hall Of Fame/Supporter

  • Registered
  • 2,143 posts
Joined: Jul 16, 2004

Posted 26 July 2004 - 06:10 PM

Ditto, it can't tell when you mute...

The only outputs that a TV can use its own captions are on the Coax and Composite.

I'm surprised they weren't required to have captioning on HD imputs since the programs are being required to carry CC

Yes, lets have CC on Mute. There are so many things that we can use and modify under Preference, Closed Captions (4,6) but nothing for the simple Mute. Interesting, perhaps an oversite?

#5 OFFLINE   Scooters

Scooters

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 43 posts
Joined: Mar 15, 2003

Posted 28 July 2004 - 05:32 PM

Egad, you are right. We are not muting the 921 audio output, just that of the TV or Amp.

There were so many Caption choices, I never gave it a second thought before posting.

Or as Gomer Pyle would say....
gggaallllllliiieeeee
Scooters




Protected By... spam firewall...And...