Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

FROM MARK: L187 - CallerID Problems?


  • Please log in to reply
32 replies to this topic

Poll: L187 - Are you having problems with CallerID? (64 member(s) have cast votes)

L187 - Are you having problems with CallerID?

  1. YES - CallerID does not work properly for me (22 votes [34.38%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 34.38%

  2. NO - CallerID works for me just fine (42 votes [65.62%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 65.62%

Vote Guests cannot vote

#1 OFFLINE   Mark Lamutt

Mark Lamutt

    Your Neighborhood Liasion

  • Registered
  • 12,527 posts
Joined: Mar 23, 2002

Posted 11 August 2004 - 10:59 AM

PLEASE DO NOT ANSWER THIS POLL UNTIL L187 SPOOLS AND YOU GIVE IT A COUPLE OF DAYS TO TEST!

Under L187, are you experiencing problems with CallerID? If so, please provide the following information:
  • city where you are located
  • name of your phone company
  • is your CallerID history being updated correctly, but you are just not seeing the CallerID popup on incoming calls
  • are you seeing the CallerID popup, but your CallerID history is not being updated properly
  • Does CallerID work on another Dish receiver that you have - if so, what is/are your other receiver(s) on which it does work
  • how are you connecting a phone line to your 921 - ie wire directly into phone jack, wire into splitter connected to your phone jack and how may ways you split the signal, wireless phone jack (please provide brand name), etc.
Thanks for participating in this thread. The more information you can provide will go a long ways towards getting this fixed!
Mark Lamutt
markdl@dbstalk.com
Your DBSTalk.Com Community Liaison to Dish Network

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   FaxMan

FaxMan

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 111 posts
Joined: Oct 13, 2003

Posted 11 August 2004 - 03:09 PM

Sorry, I clicked my answer before I read the request to wait for 187.

Please delete or whatever as you see fit.

#3 OFFLINE   Mark Lamutt

Mark Lamutt

    Your Neighborhood Liasion

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 12,527 posts
Joined: Mar 23, 2002

Posted 11 August 2004 - 03:39 PM

Unfortunately, I can't delete your vote once it's cast.
Mark Lamutt
markdl@dbstalk.com
Your DBSTalk.Com Community Liaison to Dish Network

#4 OFFLINE   Hoxxx

Hoxxx

    Cool Member/Supporter

  • Gold Members
  • 246 posts
Joined: Jun 19, 2004

Posted 13 August 2004 - 06:13 AM

Phoenix
Cox Communications
no history
no pop-up
L187
connected with a standard phone cord

P.S. 510 works fine

#5 OFFLINE   John Walsh

John Walsh

    Godfather/Supporter

  • Registered
  • 342 posts
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 13 August 2004 - 01:54 PM

Caller ID did not work for me before L187. I just started messing around with it today and noticed I did have some in history. I removed my DSL filter and all of a sudden Caller ID started working. Not sure if it really had anything to do with L187
John Walsh
E*/508/2X 522/921 (on my 4th 921)
XM Delphi Sky Fi
My DVD Collection
Boot Version: 120B
Flash Version: F051
SW Version: L215

#6 OFFLINE   lapplegate

lapplegate

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 163 posts
Joined: Jan 17, 2003

Posted 13 August 2004 - 04:05 PM

I had always had history but the pop up very seldom worked (only right after boot).
Now it seems to be working. 100% pop up.

Thanks Dish
722k

#7 OFFLINE   Raymond Simonian

Raymond Simonian

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 122 posts
Joined: Nov 22, 2002

Posted 13 August 2004 - 07:57 PM

My caller ID started working again with 187. It worked when I first got it in January but after one of the downloads it only worked intermittently. I would get an occasionally number in history but I never saw the caller ID on the screen when the phone rang. Now its working perfectly again just like it did when I first purchased it.
Ray S

#8 OFFLINE   MikeA

MikeA

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Feb 11, 2004

Posted 13 August 2004 - 10:40 PM

College Station, TX
Verizon
CallerID History is now being updated
CallerID popup is now working properly
CallerID works on the 508
Was connected via a DSL dual fliter/splitter provided by verizon

I've had my 921 since late Jan/early Feb pre L146 and have never been able to use the CallerID until this evening. I decided to retry somethings I tried a few months back because of a post on this thread.

I removed Verizon's DSL dual splitter/filter and plugged the 921 directly into the wall, callerID and history now work.

I plugged the 921 into the wall using a single Verizon DSL filter, callerID and history work.

I plugged the 921 into the wall using a Radio Shack dual splitter, NO callerID, NO history.

I plugged the 921 into the wall using a Wal-mart dual splitter, NO callerID, NO history.

I plugged the 921 into the wall using a Radio Shack fourway splitter, NO callerID, NO history.

It looks like my 921 works correctly when plugged directly into the wall or when using a single Verizon DSL filter, but does not work when using any type of splitter...

MikeA

#9 OFFLINE   VanNuysBear

VanNuysBear

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Jun 25, 2002

Posted 14 August 2004 - 06:17 AM

Caller ID is not working properly for me.

City: Los Angeles
Phone Co: SBC
CID History: Working OK
CID Popup Window: Does not appear
Connection: Directly into phone jack

SW Ver: 187
Boot Ver: 140B
Flash Ver: F052

#10 OFFLINE   daveray

daveray

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 61 posts
Joined: Feb 12, 2004

Posted 14 August 2004 - 08:28 PM

Gravette AR.
SBC
My caller ID history showed 1 call on 7/31, 8/1, 8/2, 8/3, 8/4 and 8/5. I had many more calls no pop up. With L187 in the history the call on 8/3 changed to 37/69 for a date. I cleared ID history last night and received a pop up on an incoming call. I was watching OTA channel at the time. I have received 8 calls after clearing history. 7 were in history. the first 5 showed popup. I cleared history tonight again and the next call showed in history and popup.
I have a 721 caller ID has always worked on.
I am connected directly to the phone jack.
2 VIP 722K OTA module : Samsug LN55a950 OTA Tulsa, Ft Smith and Fayetteville AR. Joplin MO. Separator to 722Ks. Dish 1000.2 and 30" at 129

#11 OFFLINE   Lawood

Lawood

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 38 posts
Joined: Jul 29, 2003

Posted 14 August 2004 - 09:54 PM

Westminster, CO
QWEST
History shows same as popup
no (both popup and history are the same)
worked find on my 6000. 6000 is no longer connected.
connected directly into my phone line.
Say my phone number is: 012-345-6789
It is displayed as: 123-456-789
Also

#12 OFFLINE   cnacht

cnacht

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 36 posts
Joined: Dec 23, 2003

Posted 15 August 2004 - 04:26 PM

When I first got my 921 in January caller ID worked fine. When L185 and L186 came out I lost my caller ID.
I am happy to say that with L187 it is back.
My info is:
Dubuque, IA
Qwest
CID pop up is working
CID history is working.
I have a 508 as well and caller ID worked the whole time my 921's wasn't working.
My equipment is centrally located and I have a hardwire splitter with one wire to my 508 and one wire to my 921.

#13 OFFLINE   BarryO

BarryO

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 184 posts
Joined: Dec 16, 2003

Posted 16 August 2004 - 10:40 AM

When I first got my 921 caller ID worked fine. When L185 and L186 came out I lost my caller ID.
I am happy to say that with L187 it is back.
My info is:
Western Oregon
Verizon (ex-GTE)
CID pop up is working
CID history is working.
I have a 6000 as well and caller ID worked the whole time my 921's wasn't working.
There are two phones and two other Caller ID boxes on the line.

#14 OFFLINE   borfhead

borfhead

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 33 posts
Joined: Feb 02, 2004

Posted 16 August 2004 - 02:50 PM

I'm in the group that had it, lost it, had it, lost it, and now have it back again with L187...sounds like they keep flippin a switch that won't ever get everybody....

#15 OFFLINE   muenchris

muenchris

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 22 posts
Joined: Jan 15, 2004

Posted 16 August 2004 - 08:37 PM

Caller ID works (again)...looks like every second release it works

#16 OFFLINE   rbyers

rbyers

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 264 posts
Joined: Jan 14, 2004

Posted 16 August 2004 - 10:10 PM

Caller ID works MOST of the time. Every now and then there isn't a popup for a call ... even though the phone rang several times. I'll watch this more closely and try to keep a history of the situation when the popup doesn't display.

I do have a DSL splitter (SBC DSL).
2 Hoppers 1/Sling No Joeys 2/16/13
Seagate 500, 1TB EHDs
TV: Samsung LCD 50" SmartTV HDMI 1.4
TV: Panasonic LCD 37" HDMI 1.4

#17 OFFLINE   jp9

jp9

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 29 posts
Joined: Aug 17, 2004

Posted 17 August 2004 - 10:52 PM

Qwest

No history

No popup

works on 510. Previously had 811 on this jack with callerid working (in SD)

Phone line dsl filter before splitter on incoming line.

Didn't work with previous levels(s) either. Phone line check = OK. Multiple power line boots, still no callerid.

#18 OFFLINE   Mark Lamutt

Mark Lamutt

    Your Neighborhood Liasion

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 12,527 posts
Joined: Mar 23, 2002

Posted 18 August 2004 - 08:28 AM

jp9 - are you in Denver? I am, and with Qwest I have no problems with my callerid. But, I don't have DSL, so I'd suspect that the DSL filter is letting something through that the 921 can't handle. Can you try a different filter and see if that does anything?
Mark Lamutt
markdl@dbstalk.com
Your DBSTalk.Com Community Liaison to Dish Network

#19 OFFLINE   tweaver999

tweaver999

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 66 posts
Joined: Jul 09, 2004

Posted 18 August 2004 - 06:22 PM

QWEST

History and PopUps working fine now... DID not work at all with LH186. No dsl,etc... Thru normal splitter.

tw

120B
f051

#20 OFFLINE   boatdrink

boatdrink

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 17 posts
Joined: Aug 20, 2004

Posted 20 August 2004 - 02:19 PM

Huntersville NC,
Bellsouth.

Caller ID does not work not does the history. I had a 508 installed on the same line and it worked fine. I have a splitter and a DSL filter installed. It does not work even when I remove the splitter and filter and connect directly to the phone line. L187 is fully installed

#21 OFFLINE   jp9

jp9

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 29 posts
Joined: Aug 17, 2004

Posted 22 August 2004 - 01:48 PM

jp9 - are you in Denver? I am, and with Qwest I have no problems with my callerid. But, I don't have DSL, so I'd suspect that the DSL filter is letting something through that the 921 can't handle. Can you try a different filter and see if that does anything?


I did several things today to try to isolate my callerid problem.
I'll skip the full details, but will summarize by saying it seems to be related to DSL (in my case anyway).
I would suggest that before trying anything else, anyone with a non-working 921, and who has DSL, first try disconnecting the phone line at their DSL modem. For me, doing that made the 921 work reliably.

Since I kind of would like to be able to have DSL and 921 callerid work at the same time, I tried some more things. What seems to work reliably for me is 2 DSL filters in series going into my 921. I get a call popup 100% so far with that configuration. Mine are '2-Wire' brand. I've seen schematics of these on the web, and they are just simple cascaded L-C filters with 2 inductors and 2 caps each.

Maybe the 921 gets cranky when DSL noise is on the signal. One other thing, I have 1.5 Mb DSL, for whatever that is worth. I don't know how much that changes the spectrum of the signal on the phone line.

I'm not saying that this is sure to work for everyone, but it might be something to try if this issue is bugging you.

#22 OFFLINE   boatdrink

boatdrink

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 17 posts
Joined: Aug 20, 2004

Posted 22 August 2004 - 05:35 PM

I just tried putting two 2-Wire brand DSL filters in series going to my 921 and that did the trick. I am now able to get the pop up as well as the history. Thanks for the suggestion. For the first time in a month, everything now works on this 921.

#23 OFFLINE   the_tx_dude

the_tx_dude

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 54 posts
Joined: Jan 26, 2004

Posted 25 August 2004 - 06:45 AM

Kingwood Texas just outside Houston Texas

Sprint Phone Company

Not getting popup or history

Do not have another receiver with caller id capability

connected via RCA 930 wireless jack but will try direct connection when I get ahold of long phone cord

Dish 921 - February 2004
Boot Version 140B
Flash Version F052
SW Version L187HECD-N
500 DP-34 Switch

#24 OFFLINE   BarryO

BarryO

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 184 posts
Joined: Dec 16, 2003

Posted 25 August 2004 - 01:06 PM

Mark,

it sounds like you may want to update your poll to include asking whether or not someone has DSL service.

jp9, boatdrink,

what you report makes sense. As you mentioned DSL filters are pretty simple 1- or 2-pole LC filters. The rolloff between the voice band and DSL band is about 25 KHz. The lowest frequency the DSL modems use is 138KHz, in most cases. So there should not be very much energy from the DSL down in the 100-4KHz voice band that the Caller ID uses, especially after the filter. Nevertheless, there may be some, given the simple design of the DSL filter. And more likely, most of these modem chips (used for Caller ID) were designed never realizing that there would be high-frequency DSL signals on the phone line. If these modems therefore are lacking in anti-aliasing filtering on their front ends, the DSL signal will interfere with their operation. Adding a second filter would help in this situation, as you have observed.

#25 OFFLINE   Stingray

Stingray

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 36 posts
Joined: Dec 22, 2003

Posted 29 August 2004 - 09:51 PM

Mark, Caller ID seems less predictable now than under L186.
Location - Fenton, MI
Phone Service - SBC Ameritech
Caller ID history populates but pop up often does not happen
Caller ID works well on 721 and 508
All units are hard wire taps off the home phone line which serves five phones with caller ID feature. No DSL. No wireless phone jacks.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...