Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

NIC not seeing Xbox


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
6 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Ric

Ric

    Godfather

  • Gold Members
  • 474 posts
Joined: Apr 26, 2002

Posted 24 August 2004 - 09:58 AM

Just moved our Xbox into a new room. I have a computer in that room that is connected to my wireless network. Previously, Xbox was in the same room as my router and was hardwired into the network. Now I want to have the xbox share the wireless internet connection that is on the computer. All this is for Xbox Live Here are my issues:

1) When I connect the xbox to the computer using standard ethernet cable, the NIC and the Xbox show as the cable is disconnected.
2) The cable is 50' so I can run it directly to the router for a test connection (but it travels down stairs so not the best solution but can troubleshoot). When Computer NIC is hardwired to router, connection is made. When Xbox is hardwired to router, connection is made so cable is ok.
3) I like this hardware arrangement so I want to get the Xbox to use the computer's internet connection - Xbox live website states it should work and logic tells me it should. I have downloaded the latest drivers from Nvidia as I have an Asus A7N8X board with the NIC from Nvidia on board.
4) Don't want to invest in an Xbox Wireless connection since I have a computer sitting right beside it that is already connected.

Any ideas?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   kwajr

kwajr

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 742 posts
Joined: Apr 07, 2004

Posted 24 August 2004 - 10:53 AM

i think you have to get the special one if you want it wireless they covered this on techtv one day may want to search the archives

#3 OFFLINE   SimpleSimon

SimpleSimon

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,468 posts
Joined: Jan 15, 2004

Posted 24 August 2004 - 09:04 PM

Problem #1: To go Ethernet NIC-to-NIC you need either an auto-polatiry NIC at one end, or a crossover cable. Ethernet cable uses 2 pairs - one transmit and one receive. Ethernet hubs are wired "backwards" so they receive the other end's transmit, and vice versa.

Problem #2: The computer has to be setup to pass the XBox traffic through to the wireless card. Depending on your version of Windows, this can range from impossible to near-trivial.
"I agreed with Bogy thrice in 5353 posts. That means he's wrong 99.94% of the time."
----------
DishDVR 921, B: 120B, F: F051, V: L211HECD-N@04-Dec-07, L212@05-Mar-01, L213@Apr-01, L215@Jun-29, L216@Jul-23, L218@Jul-28, L219@Aug-11, L270@Sep-14, L272@Oct-28, L273@Dec-08, L274@Mar-08, L275@Mar-23, L276HECD-N@06-Mar-31.
DP-Twin=110/119, DP Single=148, into a DP34, DP Dual=61.5, into DP21s to add 61.5

#4 OFFLINE   cdru

cdru

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,517 posts
Joined: Dec 04, 2003

Posted 25 August 2004 - 07:35 AM

Yes you can do this. You will need to bridge the two cards on your PC in order for the XBox to use the wireless connection on the PC. You can read up on it in this thread. This way really isn't recommended though. You would be much better off grabbing a WET11 or a WRT54G+sveasoft firmware and setting them up to bridge the wireless connection. Either would allow you to hook up multiple network devices seamlessly.

#5 OFFLINE   SAEMike

SAEMike

    Banned User

  • Banned User
  • 2,596 posts
Joined: May 29, 2004

Posted 26 August 2004 - 07:45 AM

When you get your X-Box running, let me know, I'll kick your butt at some Madden :D

#6 OFFLINE   cdru

cdru

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,517 posts
Joined: Dec 04, 2003

Posted 26 August 2004 - 02:53 PM

When you get your X-Box running, let me know, I'll kick your butt at some Madden :D

Do you use XBConnect or XBox Live?

#7 OFFLINE   SAEMike

SAEMike

    Banned User

  • Banned User
  • 2,596 posts
Joined: May 29, 2004

Posted 31 August 2004 - 02:11 AM

Do you use XBConnect or XBox Live?


XBox Live. Never heard of XBConnect




spam firewall