Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

FEATURE REQUEST: Start recording OTA channel, switch to satellite channel


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   djdj

djdj

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 16 posts
Joined: Jul 27, 2004

Posted 24 August 2004 - 11:24 AM

With satellite channels, you can start recording one (manually) and switch to another channel without stopping the recording (because of the dual tuners), but for some reason the 921 does not allow you to start recording an OTA channel then switch away from it to a satellite channel. It forces you to stop the recording before it lets you change channels.

Is there a hardware limitation preventing this? Or could this be changed?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Mark Lamutt

Mark Lamutt

    Your Neighborhood Liasion

  • Registered
  • 12,527 posts
Joined: Mar 23, 2002

Posted 24 August 2004 - 11:49 AM

I'm of the opinion that this is definitely a BUG, and not a feature, and have reported it many times as such.
Mark Lamutt
markdl@dbstalk.com
Your DBSTalk.Com Community Liaison to Dish Network

#3 OFFLINE   SimpleSimon

SimpleSimon

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,468 posts
Joined: Jan 15, 2004

Posted 24 August 2004 - 02:12 PM

I just thought of something - and maybe it's "old news" - has anyone tried using PiP to workaround this? Or can't you PiP when watchig digital OTA?
"I agreed with Bogy thrice in 5353 posts. That means he's wrong 99.94% of the time."
----------
DishDVR 921, B: 120B, F: F051, V: L211HECD-N@04-Dec-07, L212@05-Mar-01, L213@Apr-01, L215@Jun-29, L216@Jul-23, L218@Jul-28, L219@Aug-11, L270@Sep-14, L272@Oct-28, L273@Dec-08, L274@Mar-08, L275@Mar-23, L276HECD-N@06-Mar-31.
DP-Twin=110/119, DP Single=148, into a DP34, DP Dual=61.5, into DP21s to add 61.5

#4 OFFLINE   boylehome

boylehome

    Hall Of Fame/Supporter

  • Registered
  • 2,143 posts
Joined: Jul 16, 2004

Posted 24 August 2004 - 05:14 PM

I just thought of something - and maybe it's "old news" - has anyone tried using PiP to workaround this? Or can't you PiP when watchig digital OTA?

Can't get pip to work in OTA or HD.

#5 OFFLINE   Mark Lamutt

Mark Lamutt

    Your Neighborhood Liasion

  • Registered
  • 12,527 posts
Joined: Mar 23, 2002

Posted 24 August 2004 - 06:11 PM

My PIP window reads "PIP not available on Auxillary & local off-air channels"...
Mark Lamutt
markdl@dbstalk.com
Your DBSTalk.Com Community Liaison to Dish Network

#6 OFFLINE   SimpleSimon

SimpleSimon

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,468 posts
Joined: Jan 15, 2004

Posted 24 August 2004 - 06:23 PM

Ah. Bummer.

#7 OFFLINE   dishbacker

dishbacker

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 429 posts
Joined: Jun 15, 2004

Posted 25 August 2004 - 07:14 AM

If i remember correctly, the issue with this one is if you have a timer that has a 'manual stop', regardless if its OTA or SAT. Now, all OTA timers set real-time are 'manual end' and that will hopefully change when we start getting OTA guide info. On SAT channels, if you hit the record button, select options, and select manual end, you will get the same problems.

This has been discussed in other threads as well, and most feel as Mark stated above that it is a bug. The question / problem is, you are responsible for going back to your recording to manually stop it. If you don't, then you can easily fill up your DVR.

I think we will see alot less of this once OTA guide info becomes available and we can set instant timers that end at the end of the event. Mark, is it working good on your Beta release? ;)
942 user 1/22/06 L288
622 user 9/30/2006 L365
DPP Twin LNB for 110/119 / DP Dual for 129
Sony 42in LCD RPTV
Pioneer VSX-D810S Receiver

#8 OFFLINE   FaxMan

FaxMan

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 111 posts
Joined: Oct 13, 2003

Posted 25 August 2004 - 06:12 PM

This workaround my have been posted before, but just in case...

If I want to record something that I am currently watching OTA, I go to the guide and find a 1/2 hr show in the near future and create a DVR timer.

Then, I go and edit that timer go to the OTA channel and fire a couple minutes later until the expected end time for what I am trying to record.

Of course, by the time I've finished, I've missed about 5 minutes of whatever I am trying to record, but at least I can time/shift, commercial skip whatever I've recorded. It's been helpful for OTA HD Olympic coverage.

Kind of a PITA, but at least it works.

#9 OFFLINE   dishbacker

dishbacker

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 429 posts
Joined: Jun 15, 2004

Posted 25 August 2004 - 08:31 PM

Or you could just do Menu-7, select create, enter channel '9999', which takes you to the end of the Sat channels and shows the OTA channels, set the time (can be current or even in the past, it will start the timer as soon as you save it regardless) and there you have it.

Done it a number of times with success.
942 user 1/22/06 L288
622 user 9/30/2006 L365
DPP Twin LNB for 110/119 / DP Dual for 129
Sony 42in LCD RPTV
Pioneer VSX-D810S Receiver




spam firewall