Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Loud popping sound when switching from the menu to HD programming


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
3 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   stevemc9

stevemc9

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: May 24, 2004

Posted 09 September 2004 - 09:27 AM

Ok, well I finally took the plunge and got the HR10-250. I set it all up, menus are a little slow but from reading this forum that is to be expected for the frist few days. What I am having happen though is very annoying. Basically if I am tuned to an OTA Digital channel, for example 11-1 here in Atlanta, NBC's digital channel, then go to the DirecTV menu by pressing the DirectTV button, and then exit out back to watch TV, 9 times out of 10 there is a loud snap or some type of static and I lose audio, the only fix is to change sources on the receiver which resets the digital input. I upgraded from a non HD Samsung T160 and never had these problems. The receiver is a Pioneer Elite 49TXi.

This happens on any digital channel that is brodcasting in DD.

Anyone have any ideas? Thanks in advance.

Steve

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   aaronwt

aaronwt

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 123 posts
Joined: Aug 14, 2003

Posted 09 September 2004 - 11:19 PM

The Pioneer is the problem. i think other people have reported this problem with some Pioneer models and another brand. I haven't had any problems with my Denon or my old Sony receiver.

#3 OFFLINE   stevemc9

stevemc9

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: May 24, 2004

Posted 10 September 2004 - 09:21 AM

Shoot, well hopefully there is a software update for the Tivo box that can fix it as I doubt there is one for the Pioneer. Seems that if multiple receiver types are having the problem then the Tivo needs to fix itself! Thanks for the help

#4 OFFLINE   moviegoerman

moviegoerman

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 97 posts
Joined: Aug 18, 2004

Posted 10 September 2004 - 11:50 AM

I have the same issue with my Onkyo. See this thread on the Tivo forum...

http://www.tivocommu...threadid=182468
-Brian (Marietta, GA)
DirecTV Tivo HR10-250 DVR
DishNetwork 921 DVR - L211HECD-N, 140B, F052
DishNetwork 721 PVR
Channel Master 4228 8-Bay Bow Antenna
Samsung HLM5065 50" DLP
Samsung 931 1080i DVD Player
Onkyo TX-600-SR601 w/ Polk 5.1 Speakers




spam firewall