Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

My HR10-250 died but DirecTV came through


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
20 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Chris Blount

Chris Blount

    Creator of DBSTalk

  • Administrators
  • 17,181 posts
Joined: Jun 22, 2001

Posted 17 September 2004 - 09:24 AM

Well, after 4 months of reliable service, my HD-Tivo died.

Starting about 4 weeks ago, I occasionally saw the unit slow to a crawl while navigating the menus. It happened only a few times so I chalked it up to just being a bad Tivo day. Then, about a week later, it started freezing for a minute or two. This happened about every 4 days.

The problem then started to get worse over time until last week when I had to continuously do a complete power down/up cycle several times a day just to get it running again. At first I thought it may have been a heat problem but now I think the hard drive went bad.

I called DirecTV on Monday. After describing the problem, the CSR quickly ordered a replacement. No hoops to jump through, no fuss. It's obvious I wasn't the only one to have this happen especially since this and other forums are buzzing with reports of HR10-250's failing.

I received the replacement last night and hooked everything up. No problems.

My old receiver had an April manufacture date. This new receiver is dated July. The only differences I have seen so far is that the menus and guides are MUCH faster. I also now have channel logos on the Now Playing list which I didn't have before. I still don't know if the HDMI output ever worked since I never used it.

I guess my advice right now is to keep a close eye on your HR10-250 after about 3-4 months of service. Apparently, many of them are breaking.

I will, of course, be updating my review with this new information.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,025 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 17 September 2004 - 10:53 AM

I've had mine since mid May and so far, except for the no logo and HDNet audio issue, no problems. Mine was a made in the USA, wonder if that makes a difference since, if I remember correctly, early June was when they moved manufacturing to south of the boarder.

See post My Setup for configuration info.


#3 OFFLINE   bkanneg

bkanneg

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 49 posts
Joined: Oct 10, 2002

Posted 17 September 2004 - 03:39 PM

I'm confused. I bought mine through Circuit City, not D*. Wouldn't I go through them for a replacement?

#4 OFFLINE   aaronwt

aaronwt

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 123 posts
  • LocationNorthern Virginia
Joined: Aug 14, 2003

Posted 17 September 2004 - 10:51 PM

If you bought the extended warranty through CC. If you have the DirecTv service plan, they should cover it. It also has 1 year warranty which is also DirecTV.

#5 OFFLINE   Chris Blount

Chris Blount

    Creator of DBSTalk

  • Topic Starter
  • Administrators
  • 17,181 posts
Joined: Jun 22, 2001

Posted 18 September 2004 - 06:17 AM

I'm confused. I bought mine through Circuit City, not D*. Wouldn't I go through them for a replacement?

You can go through CC if you like but it will take longer to get your replacement receiver. I purchased the extended warranty through CC but don't plan on using it until the 1 year warranty from DirecTV is up. I called CC yesterday and they told me that the extended warranty is still valid even if DirecTV exchanges the receiver.

#6 OFFLINE   Capmeister

Capmeister

    Large Hairless ApeCutting Edge: ECHELON '08

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,222 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2003

Posted 21 September 2004 - 06:06 AM

Do you recommend getting the DTV service plan? I'm intending to switch to DTV and HDTIVO after the first of the year (my 1 year agreement for Dish with locals will be up then.)
--Cap

-------------------------
TVSHOWBOARDS.COM


#7 OFFLINE   Chris Blount

Chris Blount

    Creator of DBSTalk

  • Topic Starter
  • Administrators
  • 17,181 posts
Joined: Jun 22, 2001

Posted 21 September 2004 - 06:16 AM

Do you recommend getting the DTV service plan? I'm intending to switch to DTV and HDTIVO after the first of the year (my 1 year agreement for Dish with locals will be up then.)

It's really up to you. Having extra insurance against failure is always a good thing but just remember that the HD-Tivo carries a 1 year warranty when you buy it new so at least in the first year it might be a waste of money to have the service plan. On the other hand, the service plan covers everything in your system and not just the HD-Tivo.

I opted for the Circuit City extended warranty on my HD-Tivo instead of the service plan. If anything goes wrong with the cabling or Dish, I can usually fix that stuff myself.

In other words, take a hard look at your situation and then decide if the service plan would be right for you.

#8 OFFLINE   bkanneg

bkanneg

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 49 posts
Joined: Oct 10, 2002

Posted 22 September 2004 - 12:56 PM

Mine is still working, but I have noticed the menus slowing down a little. I haven't had to do a reboot, however. Also, it hasn't had any problems recording anything. Is there anyway that you know of that I can tell if my hard drive is going bad?

#9 OFFLINE   Chris Blount

Chris Blount

    Creator of DBSTalk

  • Topic Starter
  • Administrators
  • 17,181 posts
Joined: Jun 22, 2001

Posted 22 September 2004 - 04:13 PM

Mine is still working, but I have noticed the menus slowing down a little. I haven't had to do a reboot, however. Also, it hasn't had any problems recording anything. Is there anyway that you know of that I can tell if my hard drive is going bad?

There are many signs. For me, the initial sign was when the menus started slowing to a crawl for a few minutes and then coming back.

Basically, just keep an eye out for anything unusual. If your receiver starts doing things it's never done before, you might be at the beginning of bigger problems.

#10 Guest_Drenhead_*

Guest_Drenhead_*
  • Guests
Joined: --

Posted 26 September 2004 - 10:47 PM

There are many signs. For me, the initial sign was when the menus started slowing to a crawl for a few minutes and then coming back.

Basically, just keep an eye out for anything unusual. If your receiver starts doing things it's never done before, you might be at the beginning of bigger problems.



One more question, when they replaced your unit, did they send you the replacement first, or did you have to go without one for a while?

#11 OFFLINE   Chris Blount

Chris Blount

    Creator of DBSTalk

  • Topic Starter
  • Administrators
  • 17,181 posts
Joined: Jun 22, 2001

Posted 27 September 2004 - 12:33 PM

One more question, when they replaced your unit, did they send you the replacement first, or did you have to go without one for a while?

They sent me the replacement first with a pre-paid return FedEx label. There was not charge (unlike Dish Network who charges a fee for advanced replacement).

#12 OFFLINE   Elryzor

Elryzor

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Oct 07, 2004

Posted 07 October 2004 - 01:20 PM

I wish I was getting as good CS support from DTV as you got.

By this time I've spent almost 5 hours on the phone with DTV and had two technicians at the house. I've had a DTV CS rep hang up on me and their automated systems have hang up on me twice. Twice I was told that a supervisor was unavailable but one would call me back within 24 hours. That never happened.

The problem I am having is - we have Bravo HD (channel 74) coming in over channel 80 instead of HD CBSE. We also have a black screen with no sound on channel 73 HD ESPN.

The transponders all have signals > 95 except for the 119 satellite. On the 119 sat, transponders 25 & 29 have 0 (zero) signal on them and transponder 31 has a signal around 60. The first tech told me the odd numbered channels on the 119 satellite are not in use anyway and the low/zero signal strength is normal. The second tech confirmed that the dish couldn't be aimed any better and he also put new LNBs on the dish without improving the problem.

I called DTV while the second tech was here. The CS repo I spoke to refused to talk to the service tech but eventually agreed to transfer the call to the CS department that would help the tech. That CS department refused to speak with me. The tech and the 2nd CS department repeated basic troubleshooting and then the CS person decided that this was an access card problem. The tech ordered a new access card and left.

I called DTV again because I wasn't sure this would help. The HD specialist I spoke to still thinks this is a "bleed over problem" due to poor satellite dish aiming. She scheduled yet another service appointment for Saturday PM and "requested" a senior HD trained technician...

I asked what if that doesn't work and finally was told that if the service appointment on Saturday didn't fix the problem they would send a new HR10-250 to me.

I wish there was a way to get the shows I've already recorded from my current TiVo to the new one....

#13 OFFLINE   CAL7

CAL7

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 124 posts
Joined: Dec 16, 2003

Posted 14 October 2004 - 05:52 PM

As is commonly reported, my unit has always been slooooow to add any new program (presumably slowly searching through its programming database to juggle the program priorities). But, it seems to be slowing down even more. Is this a symptom of impending problems, or is just an inevitable residue of an increasing number of season passes and other programs?

#14 OFFLINE   Chris Blount

Chris Blount

    Creator of DBSTalk

  • Topic Starter
  • Administrators
  • 17,181 posts
Joined: Jun 22, 2001

Posted 15 October 2004 - 12:14 PM

As is commonly reported, my unit has always been slooooow to add any new program (presumably slowly searching through its programming database to juggle the program priorities). But, it seems to be slowing down even more. Is this a symptom of impending problems, or is just an inevitable residue of an increasing number of season passes and other programs?

It's hard to say. Are you having problems in other areas? Picture freezing? Slow menus? Pixelation?

#15 OFFLINE   CAL7

CAL7

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 124 posts
Joined: Dec 16, 2003

Posted 15 October 2004 - 12:30 PM

No, Chris, I am not seeing any of the other symptoms you cite (except that grid menus have always been slow). I guess this means it is normal.

It seems like I need the equivalent of an HDD defrag and index rebuild.

#16 OFFLINE   JLevitt

JLevitt

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Jul 25, 2005

Posted 26 July 2005 - 04:41 PM

I'm new to the site, but i've quickly found it very useful for my newly deceased HR10-250. I called DTV who was "quick" to offer a replacement, but very little trouble shooting.

After talking with level 1, 2, and maybe 3 tech support, the only assistance they could muster was to restart the box - not exactely stellar supprt considering that's what the automated menu suggested.

I did a little digging on my own and have deermined that the problem is most likely a hard drive failure in loading the TiVo OS.

Am I on track here?
Has anyone else experienced this issue with DTV support?
Is there any way to get my saved programming off of the "dead" box?

Much love for any help - thanks!

#17 OFFLINE   Mctube

Mctube

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 10 posts
Joined: Jul 01, 2004

Posted 26 July 2005 - 10:11 PM

Well after three purchase I finally got a TivoHD that worked. It worked very well for eleven months. Then one day the picture turned pink. I could touch the back of the HR10-250 at the HDMI cord and the picture would go on and off from pink to black, until it finally quit all together, I got no picture at all. Switched to the RCA cord and was back up. I called C.C. and they shipped me a refurbished HR10-250. They sent it in a reusable box with the return labels and directions to send the broken box back to them. The new one looks brand new to me and it works perfectly. I am so glad I came here and read all about the HR10-250 before I bought it. The insurance was well worth it. I even have D* insurance plan just in case. On a side note we had called D* for a problem with our dish alignment, you know why go out on the roof if you pay for a plan where they will come and fix whatever for free. And its not really free because you pay for the protection plan every month.Well anyway I get a call from this guy, he says he's the repairman for D* that he will be right over, he asked me if I was still having an alignment problem I say yes, then he says well as long as he does not need a ladder he will be right over! So I say how will you get on the roof if you don't have a ladder? He says ,well I kind of hoped that you had a ladder. I tell him not to bother coming over. I fix it myself. That protection plan works great and you get a little comedy to go with it. A dish repairman without a ladder, I wonder if he was coming over in a cab? :nono2:

#18 OFFLINE   Chris Blount

Chris Blount

    Creator of DBSTalk

  • Topic Starter
  • Administrators
  • 17,181 posts
Joined: Jun 22, 2001

Posted 27 July 2005 - 08:02 AM

I'm new to the site, but i've quickly found it very useful for my newly deceased HR10-250. I called DTV who was "quick" to offer a replacement, but very little trouble shooting.

After talking with level 1, 2, and maybe 3 tech support, the only assistance they could muster was to restart the box - not exactely stellar supprt considering that's what the automated menu suggested.

I did a little digging on my own and have deermined that the problem is most likely a hard drive failure in loading the TiVo OS.

Am I on track here?
Has anyone else experienced this issue with DTV support?
Is there any way to get my saved programming off of the "dead" box?

Much love for any help - thanks!

Hi there and welcome to DBSTalk!

It's probably your hard drive. If your hard drive did go bad, it's not likely you will be able to "rescue" any programs. Let us know how it goes when you get your new box.

#19 OFFLINE   Chris Blount

Chris Blount

    Creator of DBSTalk

  • Topic Starter
  • Administrators
  • 17,181 posts
Joined: Jun 22, 2001

Posted 27 July 2005 - 08:05 AM

Well after three purchase I finally got a TivoHD that worked. It worked very well for eleven months. Then one day the picture turned pink. I could touch the back of the HR10-250 at the HDMI cord and the picture would go on and off from pink to black, until it finally quit all together, I got no picture at all. Switched to the RCA cord and was back up. I called C.C. and they shipped me a refurbished HR10-250. They sent it in a reusable box with the return labels and directions to send the broken box back to them. The new one looks brand new to me and it works perfectly. I am so glad I came here and read all about the HR10-250 before I bought it. The insurance was well worth it. I even have D* insurance plan just in case. On a side note we had called D* for a problem with our dish alignment, you know why go out on the roof if you pay for a plan where they will come and fix whatever for free. And its not really free because you pay for the protection plan every month.Well anyway I get a call from this guy, he says he's the repairman for D* that he will be right over, he asked me if I was still having an alignment problem I say yes, then he says well as long as he does not need a ladder he will be right over! So I say how will you get on the roof if you don't have a ladder? He says ,well I kind of hoped that you had a ladder. I tell him not to bother coming over. I fix it myself. That protection plan works great and you get a little comedy to go with it. A dish repairman without a ladder, I wonder if he was coming over in a cab? :nono2:

That is too funny. I don't have the protection plan but will probably order it up pretty soon. My dish is on the roof of our 2 story house so I'm dreading the day when I have a problem up there. I don't like heights. :)

#20 OFFLINE   gglockner

gglockner

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 73 posts
Joined: Mar 25, 2004

Posted 28 July 2005 - 09:42 AM

It's probably your hard drive. If your hard drive did go bad, it's not likely you will be able to "rescue" any programs. Let us know how it goes when you get your new box.


I would correct this to say that you cannot rescue any programs without a lot of time and effort. It can be done if you want to hack your own box, but you probably don't want to bother.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...