Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

IS NBC HD Activated Yet?


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
4 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   pvm21

pvm21

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 8 posts
Joined: Sep 08, 2004

Posted 26 September 2004 - 06:01 AM

I see the east and west coast stations in the channel guide but I don't get the picture - just the standard "contact x721 on the bottom of the screen"

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,065 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 26 September 2004 - 09:21 AM

I see the east and west coast stations in the channel guide but I don't get the picture - just the standard "contact x721 on the bottom of the screen"



Yes, they've been active for a couple of weeks now. You should call D*, you probably don't qualify if they didn't turn them on automatically for yor.

See post My Setup for configuration info.


#3 OFFLINE   mini1

mini1

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 862 posts
Joined: Jan 25, 2004

Posted 28 September 2004 - 09:40 AM

please do a search before posting a question that has been answered quite a few times already.

#4 OFFLINE   Elryzor

Elryzor

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Oct 07, 2004

Posted 07 October 2004 - 01:23 PM

Yes, they've been active for a couple of weeks now. You should call D*, you probably don't qualify if they didn't turn them on automatically for yor.



I already get CBS HD but DTV CS refused to add NBC. They submitted a waiver application for me.

On another call a few days later I had a CS rep tell me that it wasn't possible that I was getting CBS HD. He was quite insistant. I offered to play HD recordings from CBS for him to listen to (the commercials from CBSE) but he wasn't interested.

#5 OFFLINE   bonscott87

bonscott87

    Cutting Edge: ECHELON '07

  • Registered
  • 9,809 posts
Joined: Jan 21, 2003

Posted 07 October 2004 - 03:55 PM

You'd only get NBC HD if you are in an NBC O&O market just like you get CBS HD if you are in an CBS O&O market. They are not the same.

You'd also get them if you qualify for distants or have a waiver from your local station.

Most like your CBS is O&O and your NBC is not. That simple.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...