Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Diplexer which supports 750 mA?


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Eemrek

Eemrek

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 6 posts
Joined: Apr 23, 2004

Posted 29 March 2005 - 06:57 PM

I would like to run OTA and DISH Network stuff down one run of RG-6, however all the diplexers I've seen only seem to be rated for 500 mA. I know DishPro technology uses +19.6V @ 750 mA. Anyone have any ideas?

Thanks!

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   SimpleSimon

SimpleSimon

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,468 posts
Joined: Jan 15, 2004

Posted 02 April 2005 - 04:00 PM

I've never heard the 750ma number before, but have never had a problem using "standard" diplexers - unless a power inserter is involved.

Power inserters are used for the SW64 & DPP44 switches, and for OTA pre-amps.

If a switch is involved, it can get a touch sticky, but E* has a high-current diplexer designed for use with the DPP44, and they should work with the old SW64, too.

If you're runing DishPro, OTA pre-amps can SOMETIMES work with just the power provided by the receiver or a switch power inserter. A diplexer that passes power on both legs is used for that case. Make sure the pre-amp is rated for the 18-20VDC used by E* boxes. I limit this solution to DP because Legacy gear is voltage switched, and the pre-amp might not like that.

Trying to use the OTA pre-amp's power supply on the same cable as the satellite signal can get REAL sticky. Hopefully the pre-amp likes 18-20VDC, and it's power inserter passes RF up to at least 2150MHz. If the voltage is OK, but the inserter is not, an E* power inserter might be the answer.
"I agreed with Bogy thrice in 5353 posts. That means he's wrong 99.94% of the time."
----------
DishDVR 921, B: 120B, F: F051, V: L211HECD-N@04-Dec-07, L212@05-Mar-01, L213@Apr-01, L215@Jun-29, L216@Jul-23, L218@Jul-28, L219@Aug-11, L270@Sep-14, L272@Oct-28, L273@Dec-08, L274@Mar-08, L275@Mar-23, L276HECD-N@06-Mar-31.
DP-Twin=110/119, DP Single=148, into a DP34, DP Dual=61.5, into DP21s to add 61.5

#3 OFFLINE   bigrick

bigrick

    Registered User

  • Users Awaiting Email Confirmatio
  • 152 posts
Joined: Oct 21, 2003

Posted 03 April 2005 - 08:23 PM

Yeah, the product you need is called a DishPro splitter(it's basically a diplexor). I see there are a couple in the for sale section for $2

#4 OFFLINE   SimpleSimon

SimpleSimon

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,468 posts
Joined: Jan 15, 2004

Posted 06 April 2005 - 11:25 PM

WRONG!

Splitters, diplexers, and separators are all DIFFERENT devices that perform DIFFERENT functions.

#5 OFFLINE   bigrick

bigrick

    Registered User

  • Users Awaiting Email Confirmatio
  • 152 posts
Joined: Oct 21, 2003

Posted 10 April 2005 - 12:30 PM

The dishpro splitter, commanly used to split the signal from a DP single to 2 receivers is what I have used with success, even though Simon disagrees.

#6 OFFLINE   SimpleSimon

SimpleSimon

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,468 posts
Joined: Jan 15, 2004

Posted 10 April 2005 - 08:22 PM

I stand by my statement. Diplexers have bandpass filters and DC blocking so that the correct signals go to the correct ports. Otherwise, harmonics from the UHF band and cause trouble on the satellite tuner, 2GHz signals from the satellite side can confuse the UHF, and the 18-20VDC on the sat side can fry some UHF gear.

Do it right, or don't do it at all. :(

#7 OFFLINE   bigrick

bigrick

    Registered User

  • Users Awaiting Email Confirmatio
  • 152 posts
Joined: Oct 21, 2003

Posted 12 April 2005 - 07:09 PM

So, to do this correct, Simon, you could use the DP splitters(as it's rated for DP's 750mA) and add bandpass filters on the sat sides(power pass) to make the harmonics work. Do you think this is technically correct?

#8 OFFLINE   SimpleSimon

SimpleSimon

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,468 posts
Joined: Jan 15, 2004

Posted 16 April 2005 - 02:04 PM

Yes - although you'd need filters on both sides.

And there's NO sense in it - a high-current diplexer costs less than a DP Splitter.

#9 OFFLINE   DJ Rob

DJ Rob

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 274 posts
Joined: Jul 23, 2003

Posted 16 April 2005 - 04:48 PM

I've been using Eagle Aspen Diplexers on my system which is Dish Pro for over a year with no problems...

I think I got them for about $2 a piece on ebay...




spam firewall