Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

How fast is your Internet Connection?


  • Please log in to reply
293 replies to this topic

#281 OFFLINE   TBoneit

TBoneit

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,250 posts
Joined: Jul 27, 2006

Posted 21 October 2013 - 12:46 PM

UP speed is really not all that important to us as we really don't share all that much. 

I understand entirely, I never cared about upload speed until this year. Now when I scan the emails I attach to run around 8Mb and I my be sending 5 or 10 at a clip.

 

With your Up speed 3x faster than my down in the country..... your download speed is.... disgusting!

 

:)

When I compare it with my old dial-up and then the 4Mb DSL I had for years the current speed is obscenely fast. Fortunately It isn't as costly as it seems. My Brother wanted to keep this speed when I was talking about dropping it back to reduce expenditures, so we worked a deal, I pay for the Internet stuff and he pays the Yard service that mows the lawn and does the spring cleanup.

 

Cheers

TBoneit


Edited by TBoneit, 21 October 2013 - 12:46 PM.

Remember when your kids were the TV set's remote control?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#282 OFFLINE   phrelin

phrelin

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,133 posts
  • LocationNorthern California Redwoods
Joined: Jan 18, 2007

Posted 07 December 2013 - 12:40 PM

3150831434.png

 

Thought I'd test the speed this morning as we had wet snow yesterday that created chaos on the roads, knocked power out, etc. Comcast never went down.


"In a hundred years there'll be a whole new set of people."
"Always poke the bears. They sleep too much for their own good."

"If you're good enough, they'll talk about you." - Tom Harmon
A GEEZER who remembers watching TV in 1951 and was an Echostar customer from 1988 to 2008, now a Dish Network customer.
My AV Setup
My Slingbox Pro HD Experience
My Blog: The Redwood Guardian


#283 OFFLINE   dettxw

dettxw

    MRVing

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,989 posts
  • LocationChoctaw, OK
Joined: Nov 21, 2007

Posted 07 December 2013 - 02:29 PM

Cox has increased speeds lately.

 

3151016425.png


-Steve- Subscriber since Sept 1998  My Complete Setup

SWM16 / HR44-500 (2TB & AM21) / HR34-700 (3TB & AM21) / HR24-500 (2TB eSATA) / C31 via WCCK / C41 x2 / C41W / H25-700


#284 OFFLINE   Dude111

Dude111

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 415 posts
Joined: Aug 06, 2010

Posted 07 December 2013 - 11:09 PM

Im getting 4121.2 down right now!!!

I tested from here: http://www.computers....com/speed2.asp

#285 OFFLINE   damondlt

damondlt

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,987 posts
  • LocationWanye County PA
Joined: Feb 27, 2006

Posted 08 December 2013 - 09:28 AM

3167087854.png

DIRECTV :Since 5/13/2012
HR34-700 / HR24-500 / HR23-700 / H25-100 / D12-200 /   Roku HD

  Living Room       Master bedroom     Bedroom  2         Bedroom 3    Office/Bedroom 4      bedroom 5
Slimline 5  / SWiM 16 with CCK / MRV / 15/2 Mbps Blue ridge cable Internet
Premier / MLB EI /  HD Extra /  Protection Plan


#286 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Hall Of Flame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,735 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 08 December 2013 - 10:04 AM

Im getting 4121.2 down right now!!!

I tested from here: http://www.computers....com/speed2.asp

Not a sustained test. You won't get that speed over the long haul. 


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#287 OFFLINE   FHSPSU67

FHSPSU67

    CE'er & Retired Engineer

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,359 posts
  • LocationWindber, PA
Joined: Jan 12, 2007

Posted 09 December 2013 - 08:00 AM

Upgrade here within last few days:

Attached Thumbnails

  • 3146128872.png

Fred
DIRECTV since November 1995
"Everything should be made as simple as possible, but not simpler" A.Einstein

#288 OFFLINE   phrelin

phrelin

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,133 posts
  • LocationNorthern California Redwoods
Joined: Jan 18, 2007

Posted 15 December 2013 - 12:47 AM

373675564.png

 

Was having some problems so I reset (uplugged and plugged back in) my modem and router. Decided to run the test across the country (the test says 5,300 mi. Seems pretty good, about as high was we ever get on the download side. The peaks were only slightly higher. But then it all went down again. Running a ping and then a tracert it was clear that Comcast was having intermittent problems.


"In a hundred years there'll be a whole new set of people."
"Always poke the bears. They sleep too much for their own good."

"If you're good enough, they'll talk about you." - Tom Harmon
A GEEZER who remembers watching TV in 1951 and was an Echostar customer from 1988 to 2008, now a Dish Network customer.
My AV Setup
My Slingbox Pro HD Experience
My Blog: The Redwood Guardian


#289 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Hall Of Flame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,735 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 15 December 2013 - 12:55 AM

Just noticed that at this hotel I am staying at in Las Vegas that the upload speed is faster than the d/l! About 25 down and 28 up!

 

phrelin- Didn't you used to have incredibly fast upload speeds? 


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#290 OFFLINE   TBoneit

TBoneit

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,250 posts
Joined: Jul 27, 2006

Posted 15 December 2013 - 08:16 AM

373675564.png

 

Was having some problems so I reset (uplugged and plugged back in) my modem and router. Decided to run the test across the country (the test says 5,300 mi. Seems pretty good, about as high was we ever get on the download side. The peaks were only slightly higher. But then it all went down again. Running a ping and then a tracert it was clear that Comcast was having intermittent problems.

 

Comcast sure got that miles between Boston and Where You are. For example it is approximately 2700 miles from San Francisco to Boston. I always guessed at 3000 but that was driving miles.
 

 

From Here http://www.distance-...an-francisco-ca

it shows that my guesstimate was fair. I would hate to think that their routing added over 2000 miles to the speedtest journey.

 

There are 2,696 miles from Boston and San Francisco and 3,105 miles by car.

 

Cheers

TB


Edited by TBoneit, 15 December 2013 - 08:16 AM.

Remember when your kids were the TV set's remote control?

#291 OFFLINE   phrelin

phrelin

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,133 posts
  • LocationNorthern California Redwoods
Joined: Jan 18, 2007

Posted 15 December 2013 - 02:58 PM

I really don't know what the routing was last night. Using tracert this morning it appears that we go 200 driving miles to San Jose and then Chicago then Boston which is driving 3,500 miles. There don't seem to be any diverted hops. And yet they insist on this again:

 

373990324.png

 

So I'm wondering if that really reflects the round trip, about 2,650 one way which might be possible if there's a lot of straight lines.


"In a hundred years there'll be a whole new set of people."
"Always poke the bears. They sleep too much for their own good."

"If you're good enough, they'll talk about you." - Tom Harmon
A GEEZER who remembers watching TV in 1951 and was an Echostar customer from 1988 to 2008, now a Dish Network customer.
My AV Setup
My Slingbox Pro HD Experience
My Blog: The Redwood Guardian


#292 OFFLINE   TBoneit

TBoneit

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,250 posts
Joined: Jul 27, 2006

Posted 16 December 2013 - 08:32 AM

Hi, That guess actually makes sense.

I suspect that when they measure distance they always use straight line mileage. The routing can change constantly so why computer it for each change.

 

Cheers

TB


Remember when your kids were the TV set's remote control?

#293 OFFLINE   RasputinAXP

RasputinAXP

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,131 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2008

Posted 10 January 2014 - 12:49 PM

I suppose I'm cheating doing this from work with our new Internet pipe. :P

Attached Thumbnails

  • speed.png

"Belligerent and numerous."

Sometimes I update the Dish Network FAQ

AT200, Hopper & 360 via HDMI to Onkyo 505 to basement 42" Westy, Hopper via Comp-over-Cat5 to living room 42" Vizio with a Roku 3, Joey to Toshiba 32" LCD with a Logitech Revue. You want fries with that? Pull up to the 2nd window.


#294 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Hall Of Flame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,735 posts
  • LocationWinters, California
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 10 January 2014 - 07:49 PM

That's disgusting!

 

:rolling:


"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.




spam firewall