Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

re-routing my voOm antenna to my 811....


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   terfmop

terfmop

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 175 posts
Joined: Sep 28, 2004

Posted 09 April 2005 - 07:40 PM

Since voom is on it's way out, I decided to use the OTA antenna that was supplied with the install for my 811 OTA. The current install had the OTA going to a switch located at the back of the voom dish, and from that switch ran a RG6 cable going to each of my 3 voom receivers. I had thought the process would be as simple as connecting a RG6 cable directly from the antenna to my 811 OTA input...not so.

When I ran the RG6 straight to my 811, I was only able to pick up 1 station (I had 5 when connected to the voom receiver). However, when I ran the OTA cable back through the switch; and then from that switch, I sent one of the cables to my 811. Everything seemed to perk back up and the 811 found all the digital stations I had when it was with the voom receiver. Then I decided to unhook my voom receivers. After I did that, my OTA signal bottomed out.....I reconnected one voom receiver an voila, the OTA signal was back.

I gather that the voom receiver powers the OTA and without the voom receiver connected, the ota is unpowered . What will I need to do to connect this OTA antenna to my 811 without having to have the voom receivers hooked up?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   SimpleSimon

SimpleSimon

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,468 posts
Joined: Jan 15, 2004

Posted 09 April 2005 - 10:10 PM

I don't know hardly anything about Voom hardware, but it's quite likely that a simple power inserter will do the trick for you.

Question is, what power rating is needed?

It's lilkely to be 13/18V @ 100-500ma. Any voltage specs on the Voom switch or receiver?
"I agreed with Bogy thrice in 5353 posts. That means he's wrong 99.94% of the time."
----------
DishDVR 921, B: 120B, F: F051, V: L211HECD-N@04-Dec-07, L212@05-Mar-01, L213@Apr-01, L215@Jun-29, L216@Jul-23, L218@Jul-28, L219@Aug-11, L270@Sep-14, L272@Oct-28, L273@Dec-08, L274@Mar-08, L275@Mar-23, L276HECD-N@06-Mar-31.
DP-Twin=110/119, DP Single=148, into a DP34, DP Dual=61.5, into DP21s to add 61.5

#3 OFFLINE   terfmop

terfmop

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 175 posts
Joined: Sep 28, 2004

Posted 10 April 2005 - 06:53 AM

the switch is a "Winegard power passing multiswitchVM-3400 ". And, as you mentioned, there is a 13V and 18V listed on the switch

#4 OFFLINE   SimpleSimon

SimpleSimon

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,468 posts
Joined: Jan 15, 2004

Posted 10 April 2005 - 10:05 AM

Well, here ya go: http://www.winegard....wersupplies.htm

The PS-9370 should work - but I'm NOT the expert in this area.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...