Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Need another box for lease


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
9 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   kwajr

kwajr

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 742 posts
Joined: Apr 07, 2004

Posted 15 April 2005 - 07:13 PM

I am a dhp customer what is the best deal i can get to just add another reciever for lease they told me 149 no matter what box but hell i can buy one at walmart for 100 :confused:

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   boba

boba

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,580 posts
Joined: May 23, 2003

Posted 16 April 2005 - 08:25 AM

If you are under Digital Home Plan you can have a maximum of four tuners leased. Under their upgrade promotion it may be cheaper to buy a used receiver or even a new receiver. The service contract on DHP should cover your account wether it is an owned or leased receiver.

#3 OFFLINE   DeCrapinator

DeCrapinator

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 36 posts
Joined: Feb 22, 2005

Posted 16 April 2005 - 01:41 PM

If you are under Digital Home Plan you can have a maximum of four tuners leased. Under their upgrade promotion it may be cheaper to buy a used receiver or even a new receiver. The service contract on DHP should cover your account wether it is an owned or leased receiver.


So if I have 4 boxes (single tuner) and want to add, say a 942, I have to buy it to add the FIFTH tuner to the mix? Or even if I wanted a fifth single tuner -- say a 301 -- I cannot lease it but must buy it?

Thanks.

#4 OFFLINE   Jacob S

Jacob S

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,657 posts
Joined: Apr 14, 2002

Posted 16 April 2005 - 08:13 PM

Yes you must buy it.

#5 OFFLINE   kwajr

kwajr

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 742 posts
Joined: Apr 07, 2004

Posted 17 April 2005 - 01:57 PM

i only have one box for two rooms whats the best deal to get another box

#6 OFFLINE   Darkman

Darkman

    Hall Of Fame

  • Gold Members
  • 6,900 posts
Joined: Apr 16, 2002

Posted 17 April 2005 - 02:39 PM

not sure.. (about lease)

But if wanna buy cheap.. maybe on ebay something.. just make sure it's all "kosher" before buying it (card, balance on it, etc.. you know) ;)

#7 OFFLINE   Jacob S

Jacob S

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,657 posts
Joined: Apr 14, 2002

Posted 17 April 2005 - 07:54 PM

111 is the smallest and cheapest receiver you can buy. It does not have the A/V output on it like the other receivers do. It retails for $79 new.

#8 OFFLINE   boba

boba

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,580 posts
Joined: May 23, 2003

Posted 18 April 2005 - 06:57 AM

Check out the buy,sell & trade listing on this forum you should find some receivers for less than $50.

#9 OFFLINE   Darkman

Darkman

    Hall Of Fame

  • Gold Members
  • 6,900 posts
Joined: Apr 16, 2002

Posted 18 April 2005 - 09:00 AM

ya.. forgot about this one.. - good idea, boba

#10 OFFLINE   Jacob S

Jacob S

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,657 posts
Joined: Apr 14, 2002

Posted 19 April 2005 - 11:52 PM

New 322's were on ebay for under $100 which do not have an additional outlet fee if connected to a phone line.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...