Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Dish home slow?


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
4 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   cnsf

cnsf

    Hall Of Fame/Supporter

  • Gold Members
  • 1,068 posts
Joined: Jun 06, 2002

Posted 05 July 2002 - 10:03 AM

I have a 4900 with Dish Home and find it to be so slow, it is not usable.

My two 501s don't seem to have the upgrade yet.

I expect it is a memory issue and with the 501 storage, should be much faster once they get it.

Does anyone else have the same problem with the non-HD receivers?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   andyf

andyf

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 48 posts
Joined: Apr 23, 2002

Posted 05 July 2002 - 11:41 AM

Originally posted by cnsf
I have a 4900 with Dish Home and find it to be so slow, it is not usable.

My two 501s don't seem to have the upgrade yet.

I expect it is a memory issue and with the 501 storage, should be much faster once they get it.

Does anyone else have the same problem with the non-HD receivers?


3900 - Unusable. The games time out before I've had a chance to figure out how to use them.
Andy

#3 OFFLINE   J Rath

J Rath

    AllStar/Supporter

  • Registered
  • 88 posts
Joined: Apr 13, 2002

Posted 05 July 2002 - 11:52 AM

Dish Home on my 3900 (Upgraded 3800) runs fine. There is a slight delay when changing apps but it hasn't been that big of an issue. The only issue I have been having is Instant Weather resetting the box (both from Dish Home and channel 9500) on some occassions. FYI - All of the games except the free demo timeout after about 30 seconds. There is a subscription fee ($4.99/month IIRC) that will stop the timeouts on the rest. Noticed this morning that Carrot Mania is no longer the freebie, the bowling game is now.

#4 OFFLINE   Jacob S

Jacob S

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,657 posts
Joined: Apr 14, 2002

Posted 06 July 2002 - 01:21 PM

The 4900 is probably slower than the 301, 521, etc. because it has less memory and not as fast of a processor.

#5 OFFLINE   Darkman

Darkman

    Hall Of Fame

  • Gold Members
  • 6,900 posts
Joined: Apr 16, 2002

Posted 06 July 2002 - 01:45 PM

3900 (upgraded) runs...but slowish...

and for me Dish Home is not a biggy - so instead of 119 and 110 at 3900, i put 119 with 61.5 - hehe

Runs better...




spam firewall