Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Occassional Color Shift


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
8 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   ucrazy51

ucrazy51

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 15 posts
Joined: Jul 16, 2005

Posted 25 July 2005 - 06:06 AM

I've just switched to Dish from TWC. I've been noticing that occassionally I get a color shift from reddish to tannish shades. It's quite noticeable on faces. It seems to last for just a short time then goes away and might not comeback for a while. I have 3 TV's and all exhibit the same behavior. I have feeds to an 811 and a 625. Since it's occuring on all 3 sets I would think it has something to do with the dish or cabling into the house??

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Evil Capserian

Evil Capserian

    Godfather

  • Banned User
  • 263 posts
Joined: Jul 27, 2003

Posted 25 July 2005 - 10:37 AM

One suggestion comes to mind. Learn to live with it.

#3 OFFLINE   ucrazy51

ucrazy51

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 15 posts
Joined: Jul 16, 2005

Posted 25 July 2005 - 11:00 AM

One suggestion comes to mind. Learn to live with it.


You didn't have to get so technical... :lol:

#4 OFFLINE   Evil Capserian

Evil Capserian

    Godfather

  • Banned User
  • 263 posts
Joined: Jul 27, 2003

Posted 25 July 2005 - 11:11 AM

You didn't have to get so technical... :lol:



I never do, and hey I used to charge for my advice. Client service fee's are not free.

#5 OFFLINE   ucrazy51

ucrazy51

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 15 posts
Joined: Jul 16, 2005

Posted 25 July 2005 - 02:34 PM

I never do, and hey I used to charge for my advice. Client service fee's are not free.


I'd be willing to pay for the correct answer. Is that why you quit charging....


:hurah: :lol: :hurah:

#6 OFFLINE   Evil Capserian

Evil Capserian

    Godfather

  • Banned User
  • 263 posts
Joined: Jul 27, 2003

Posted 25 July 2005 - 03:42 PM

I'd be willing to pay for the correct answer. Is that why you quit charging....


:hurah: :lol: :hurah:



The answer lies buried deep in the heart of the ocean. You need to have deep pockets to pay my fee because there is no way in hell im going scuba diving for less than 100 an hour.

#7 OFFLINE   KKlare

KKlare

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 319 posts
Joined: Sep 24, 2004

Posted 26 July 2005 - 06:13 PM

Make sure your TV does not have auto-color turned on. It will try to make everything into flesh tones. Use manual tint adjustment -- neither too greenish nor too magenta.
-Ken

#8 OFFLINE   Montre32

Montre32

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 10 posts
Joined: Jun 16, 2005

Posted 27 July 2005 - 04:21 PM

The off-air color bars on the movie channels are a good way to calibrate. You could also try using RCA cables or S-Video instead of Channel 3-4. That clears stuff like that up.

#9 OFFLINE   ucrazy51

ucrazy51

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 15 posts
Joined: Jul 16, 2005

Posted 28 July 2005 - 07:07 AM

Thanks for the replies.

I don't have auto color on. I'm using S-video on 2 sets and Dvi on my HD set.

As I said this only occurs occassionally. I'm in the process of checking all outside cabling etc.

Thanks again.




spam firewall