Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Will signal strength effect my Picture Quality on RPTB


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
9 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   belsokar

belsokar

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 55 posts
Joined: Jul 01, 2002

Posted 10 July 2002 - 01:11 PM

I just purchased a 55" hd-ready rear projection set. I also have Dish Network feed coming in on a high-end S-Video cable. Over time, my signal strength has dropped from around low to mid 90's to around low 70's range (basically been too lazy to re-adjust). I never really noticed many problems on my old 32" set, but now that I have the projection set, i definitely see more artifacts, fuzziness, etc. I expected some loss of quality but I am wondering if signal strength will effect the picture quality or not, especially on a larger rear projection set.

#2 OFFLINE   Steve Mehs

Steve Mehs

    Hall Of Fame

  • Banned User
  • 11,499 posts
Joined: Mar 21, 2002

Posted 10 July 2002 - 01:52 PM

Signal strength will not affect pq, a SS of 125 will yield the same PQ as a SS of 30. A higher SS just means more immuniy to rain fade.
Friends Don't Let Friends Subscribe To: Verizon Landline, Verizon DSL, Verizon Fios Phone, Verizon Fios Broadband, Verizon Fios TV, Verizon Wireless or Verizion Wireless Mobile Broadband
Keep America Beautiful, Ban Verizon From Your Home!
Down With Verizon!

#3 OFFLINE   Tony S

Tony S

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 86 posts
Joined: Mar 28, 2002

Posted 10 July 2002 - 02:07 PM

Higher signal strength will not give you any better picture quality. With the digital nature of DBS, you either get a picture or you don't (there is no in between like there is with a normal analog rooftop antenna). Higher signal numbers are better because when it rains, you will have better resistance to "rain fade". Your signal is starting out at a higher level so it will have to fall further before the receiver can no longer lock on to the signal.

You are probably seeing more artifacts than you did before because your TV screen is much larger and the defects are easier to see. (The artifacts were always there but your older TV covered them up).

If you don't have a rain fade problem, you can delay re-aligning your dish - your picture will not get any better. However, if your signals continue to drop, you might want to re-tweak.

#4 OFFLINE   Scott Greczkowski

Scott Greczkowski

    Banned User

  • Banned User
  • 6,968 posts
Joined: Mar 21, 2002

Posted 10 July 2002 - 02:15 PM

Hey Steve,

Not to be Nit Picky, but I thought you needed a Signal of at least 60 to lock in a picture? :)

Once you have a picture the PQ will be the same.

A digital picture is a Digital picture, on Analog a week signal means a bad picture.

#5 OFFLINE   Steve Mehs

Steve Mehs

    Hall Of Fame

  • Banned User
  • 11,499 posts
Joined: Mar 21, 2002

Posted 10 July 2002 - 02:47 PM

Last time we had a major storm, SS on most TPs at 110 were in the 40s and 50s.
Friends Don't Let Friends Subscribe To: Verizon Landline, Verizon DSL, Verizon Fios Phone, Verizon Fios Broadband, Verizon Fios TV, Verizon Wireless or Verizion Wireless Mobile Broadband
Keep America Beautiful, Ban Verizon From Your Home!
Down With Verizon!

#6 OFFLINE   Tony S

Tony S

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 86 posts
Joined: Mar 28, 2002

Posted 10 July 2002 - 05:16 PM

I have to agree... My old 4000 and my 501 both lock on at about a signal strength level of 40 or so.

#7 OFFLINE   Steve Mehs

Steve Mehs

    Hall Of Fame

  • Banned User
  • 11,499 posts
Joined: Mar 21, 2002

Posted 10 July 2002 - 05:27 PM

Anyone know the reasoning by E* to change from a percentage system to a points system?
Friends Don't Let Friends Subscribe To: Verizon Landline, Verizon DSL, Verizon Fios Phone, Verizon Fios Broadband, Verizon Fios TV, Verizon Wireless or Verizion Wireless Mobile Broadband
Keep America Beautiful, Ban Verizon From Your Home!
Down With Verizon!

#8 OFFLINE   Jacob S

Jacob S

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,657 posts
Joined: Apr 14, 2002

Posted 10 July 2002 - 11:37 PM

I have seen it lock as low as 37 or 38 percent but used to notice it lock in the past the lowest at 40 percent and thats the minimum needed to get a picture in.

#9 OFFLINE   dmodemd

dmodemd

    Godfather/Supporter

  • Registered
  • 286 posts
Joined: Jul 05, 2002

Posted 11 July 2002 - 11:01 AM

My 110 strength is in the 70s while my 119 is around 100. Should I adjust or is this normal? I live in Maryland and I do get rain fade if a thunderstorm is coming in from the SW.

Lee

#10 OFFLINE   Cyclone

Cyclone

    Hall Of Fame/Supporter

  • Gold Members
  • 2,425 posts
Joined: Jul 01, 2002

Posted 11 July 2002 - 11:51 AM

I am in Maryland too, I'll check my 500 and see what I get on my signal strengths.
I'm an angry gumball
Known Dish 6000 Tips and Tricks




Protected By... spam firewall...And...