Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Need Advice on Mounting a Second Dish


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
6 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   servus56

servus56

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 23 posts
Joined: Nov 25, 2004

Posted 21 August 2005 - 04:03 AM

I currently have a Superdish aimed at 119, 110, and 121. Because of tree issues, which can't be resolved, the signal on 110 keeps dropping out. Signal on 119 and 121 are OK. Before Superdish was installed I had a Dish 500, which worked just fine with 119 and 110. I am thinking of mounting a Dish 500 again in addition to keeping the Superdish for 121. Is this advisable? What about the switches? Is there anything else that should be considered?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   BobaBird

BobaBird

    EKB Editor

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,022 posts
Joined: Mar 30, 2002

Posted 21 August 2005 - 04:50 AM

Disconnect the SuperDISH 110 LNB from the switch, connect the one from your separate dish instead. Make sure the separate dish has a DishPro LNB. If it's a DP Twin you might as well use it for 110 and 119.
Charles @dishuser - a dynamic employee of Massive Veridian
Visit the EchoStar Knowledge Base
"The other guys charge $9.95/month to use tapeless record" - Dish Network Tech Forum, 8-6-01
"dual" is NOT the same as "Twin" - here's why

#3 OFFLINE   25 Year Satellite Pro

25 Year Satellite Pro

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Aug 22, 2005

Posted 25 August 2005 - 04:42 PM

I currently have a Superdish aimed at 119, 110, and 121. Because of tree issues, which can't be resolved, the signal on 110 keeps dropping out. Signal on 119 and 121 are OK. Before Superdish was installed I had a Dish 500, which worked just fine with 119 and 110. I am thinking of mounting a Dish 500 again in addition to keeping the Superdish for 121. Is this advisable? What about the switches? Is there anything else that should be considered?

If the Super Dish is mounted in the same location as the original 500...There shouldn't be a problem with 110.

#4 OFFLINE   SimpleSimon

SimpleSimon

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,468 posts
Joined: Jan 15, 2004

Posted 27 August 2005 - 06:10 PM

Disconnect the SuperDISH 110 LNB from the switch, connect the one from your separate dish instead. Make sure the separate dish has a DishPro LNB. If it's a DP Twin you might as well use it for 110 and 119.

Correct. If possible. Avoids problems with what the Twin might be doing at any given time.

Otherwise, match the port you connect to the DP34 with the eye that's pointed at 110. That is, by default, each port is connected to the eye directly over it.
"I agreed with Bogy thrice in 5353 posts. That means he's wrong 99.94% of the time."
----------
DishDVR 921, B: 120B, F: F051, V: L211HECD-N@04-Dec-07, L212@05-Mar-01, L213@Apr-01, L215@Jun-29, L216@Jul-23, L218@Jul-28, L219@Aug-11, L270@Sep-14, L272@Oct-28, L273@Dec-08, L274@Mar-08, L275@Mar-23, L276HECD-N@06-Mar-31.
DP-Twin=110/119, DP Single=148, into a DP34, DP Dual=61.5, into DP21s to add 61.5

#5 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 39,934 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 27 August 2005 - 09:17 PM

If the Super Dish is mounted in the same location as the original 500...There shouldn't be a problem with 110.

SuperDishes are notorious for getting less signal on 119 and 110 than a Dish500 installed in the same location. The primary goal of a Superdish is to get the FSS satellite and the entire design centers around that. Reinstalling or keeping a D500 around for the DBS satellites is a good idea if you have the real estate to do it.

JL

#6 OFFLINE   Satpro92

Satpro92

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 130 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2005

Posted 28 August 2005 - 03:49 AM

SuperDishes are notorious for getting less signal on 119 and 110 than a Dish500 installed in the same location. The primary goal of a Superdish is to get the FSS satellite and the entire design centers around that. Reinstalling or keeping a D500 around for the DBS satellites is a good idea if you have the real estate to do it.

JL


True enough,but,It seems that to lose 110 is unlikely unless there is something blocking the signal. I worked on a SD last week(I didn't install it) that had a signal level on 105 equal to 119,of course that is unheard of.Turns out the installer was pretty green and didn't take into account that all three satellites were needed(an off air tower was in the way of 119).

What I did was transfer the DPLNBF to the original Dish 300 for 119,and keep SD for 110 and 105,not the best sollution I admit,but the customer did not want to pay for me to move the SuperDish.

#7 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 39,934 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 28 August 2005 - 09:28 AM

True enough,but,It seems that to lose 110 is unlikely unless there is something blocking the signal.

It may have been just that marginal on the old dish. There is also room for installer error - perhaps the 110 LNB was damaged?

In any case, reinstalling the Dish500 and using at least part of it sounds like a good idea.

JL




Protected By... spam firewall...And...