Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

How do you get ABC, FOX, CBS, etc in HD


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
8 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Chris2

Chris2

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 34 posts
Joined: Sep 05, 2005

Posted 19 September 2005 - 08:09 AM

I can't get any of them local they all come from NY, i had to wait forever to get them approved . How do you go about getting them in HD?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   TON

TON

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 41 posts
Joined: Jan 07, 2004

Posted 19 September 2005 - 08:14 AM

If you have an 811, 921, or 942, go to www.antennaweb.org. It will tell you what type of off air antenna you will need and what digital channels you can get. The only HD feed provided by dish is CBS-HD from NY or LA. You must have a dish pointed at 61.5 or 148 and usually have an HD Waver approved from you local CBS station if you don't live in a O&O market. Hope this helps

#3 OFFLINE   Chris2

Chris2

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 34 posts
Joined: Sep 05, 2005

Posted 19 September 2005 - 08:25 AM

I live in the middle of no wear i can't get anything local with an antenna.

#4 OFFLINE   Mikey

Mikey

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,295 posts
Joined: Oct 26, 2004

Posted 19 September 2005 - 09:03 AM

You can't get ABC, NBC, or FOX in HD from Dish via satellite.

#5 OFFLINE   scooper

scooper

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,715 posts
  • LocationYoungsville NC
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 19 September 2005 - 09:14 AM

To amplify -
There are no provisions currently in effect for the "Distant Network Delivery of HDTV " at this point except what ever contracts currently exist.

So, in short, if you can't receive HDTV via OTA, you probably won't be seeing it over DBS for awhile either.
You CAN put antennas on your owned and/or controlled property...

http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html

#6 OFFLINE   Curtis0620

Curtis0620

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,438 posts
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 19 September 2005 - 09:34 AM

Unless you have Directv.

#7 OFFLINE   Mikey

Mikey

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,295 posts
Joined: Oct 26, 2004

Posted 19 September 2005 - 09:46 AM

Unless you have Directv.

In an O&O market.

#8 OFFLINE   Curtis0620

Curtis0620

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,438 posts
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 19 September 2005 - 10:09 AM

In an O&O market.



Or qualify for DNS.

#9 OFFLINE   Michael P

Michael P

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,916 posts
Joined: Oct 27, 2004

Posted 19 September 2005 - 02:41 PM

If you truely live "in the middle of nowhere" you would qualilfy for DNS (SD on all networks, plus HD for CBS). You indicate in your profile that you are in "WVA", care to give us more detail? Parts of WVA have OTA service (unless you are in a valley that blocks the signals).
An E* subscriber continuously since February 1997.




spam firewall