Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Banners with gibberish on some PVR recordings


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
9 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Pete K.

Pete K.

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 776 posts
Joined: Apr 23, 2002

Posted 18 July 2002 - 07:58 AM

I'm seeing gibberish such as "%*+$"pysaa"
on the descriptive banners of some of my PVR recordings.
For example, the wife watches a certain soap every
day. It records just fine and the title displays correctly
on the "events" screen but while playing, if I press
"browse" or "cancel", the banner pops up with "^%#ssy*"
"Rated G', "Not yet purchased" and additional nonsense.
Is this PVR headed for trouble or should I just give it
a good swift boot in the hard drive?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Randy_B

Randy_B

    Icon/Supporter

  • Gold Members
  • 627 posts
Joined: Apr 23, 2002

Posted 18 July 2002 - 09:05 AM

What kind of machine are you using?

#3 OFFLINE   Pete K.

Pete K.

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 776 posts
Joined: Apr 23, 2002

Posted 18 July 2002 - 09:20 AM

A 501.

#4 OFFLINE   Randy_B

Randy_B

    Icon/Supporter

  • Gold Members
  • 627 posts
Joined: Apr 23, 2002

Posted 18 July 2002 - 09:30 AM

There was a period when this kind of garble showed up on the DP during a bad record. I have never seen anything like this on the 501. Do you see this frequently, on a particular show or randomly? How long has been ocurring (that you know of)?

#5 OFFLINE   Pete K.

Pete K.

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 776 posts
Joined: Apr 23, 2002

Posted 18 July 2002 - 09:38 AM

So far, this has only occured on one program.
("Passions", WNBC, M-F 2pm EDT)
It has occured every day this week. I am checking other
recordings to see if the problem occurs there as well.
When the banner shows corrupt data, so does the
"info." (i.e.: instead of "Character A badmouths Character
B," I'll see "&$@)+klypys?" or something similar.

#6 OFFLINE   HTguy

HTguy

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 955 posts
Joined: May 06, 2002

Posted 18 July 2002 - 11:06 AM

I bet a memory dump would solve this but you would have to redo any personal settings.

You could also try removing this event from the timer menu & re-entering it later.
"A DISH IN EVERY HOME"

#7 OFFLINE   Mark Holtz

Mark Holtz

    Day Sleeper

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,849 posts
  • LocationSacramento, CA
Joined: Mar 23, 2002

Posted 18 July 2002 - 11:55 AM

I've had this happen before, although this was prior to P154. Once you are done with the recording, delete it. Then, hold down the front panel power button until both "Power" and "Record" are lit up (around 5 seconds), then release and let the 501 reboot. Wait about 5 minutes, then go in a perform a switch check.
"In many ways, this opera does fulfil my often quoted description of what most operas is about. The tenor is trying to sleep with the soprano, and the baritone is trying to stop them." - Sean Bianco, KXPR At The Opera
Check out my list of links.

#8 OFFLINE   DarrellP

DarrellP

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,637 posts
Joined: Apr 24, 2002

Posted 18 July 2002 - 01:59 PM

I've had this happen a few times on 154 and I've also had the wrong title show up on the listing. I recorded Traffic and it said 6th Day.
<---- I wish she was my girlfriend. :D

#9 OFFLINE   Randy_B

Randy_B

    Icon/Supporter

  • Gold Members
  • 627 posts
Joined: Apr 23, 2002

Posted 18 July 2002 - 07:53 PM

On occassion, if you run over the time of the show into the next, it picks up the name of the show on when the record ends. Was 6th Day on after Traffic?

#10 OFFLINE   Pete K.

Pete K.

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 776 posts
Joined: Apr 23, 2002

Posted 19 July 2002 - 06:38 AM

I've solved my problem, at least for now. I did a memory
dump as HTguy suggested. The banners are "normal"
again.




spam firewall