Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

San Francisco MPEG-4 Stream?


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
126 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   Alexandrepsf

Alexandrepsf

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 738 posts
Joined: Oct 26, 2005

Posted 02 December 2005 - 09:00 PM

How ta heck can they take your HDTivo when there's no replacement?


Yes, exactly, I told her that it is not a DVR that she is giving me, and she said that that is the process.

She was one of those you can not negotiate, I will give them a call later tonight, let's see what will be the outcome, otherwise I will follow LockMD's advice. There is NO WAY they take my HDTivo away.

By the way, she told me about the $99, that is something else that I have to fight on after saving my HDTivo. :D

#27 OFFLINE   Wolffpack

Wolffpack

    Banned User

  • Banned User
  • 4,642 posts
Joined: Jul 29, 2003

Posted 02 December 2005 - 10:47 PM

She was one of those you can not negotiate, I will give them a call later tonight, let's see what will be the outcome, otherwise I will follow LockMD's advice. There is NO WAY they take my HDTivo away.

Amazing!!!! Stand your ground man! I'd tell you to defend your HDTivo with your 2nd amendment rights but you folks in SF don't have those any more. :(

Ok, cheap shot, not called for, but I couldn't resist. :grin: :grin: :grin: Hey, I'm from fricken Arizona. What can you expect?

#28 OFFLINE   JLucPicard

JLucPicard

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,985 posts
Joined: Apr 26, 2004

Posted 03 December 2005 - 03:58 AM

Wolffpack,

It's not often that I'll be sitting here alone and laughing right out loud, but that 2nd ammendment comment got me! Nice shot!

#29 OFFLINE   Wolffpack

Wolffpack

    Banned User

  • Banned User
  • 4,642 posts
Joined: Jul 29, 2003

Posted 03 December 2005 - 04:23 AM

A weak attempt at humor. BTW, No offense Alex.

Sad part is I'll bet 90% of those reading this have no idea what I was referencing.

Thanks for noticing JLP! Also, liked the "Nice Shot" comment!!! !pride

But regardless, Alex, don't given them your HDTivo man!!!!

#30 OFFLINE   Alexandrepsf

Alexandrepsf

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 738 posts
Joined: Oct 26, 2005

Posted 03 December 2005 - 10:18 AM

Hey Wolf,

That is fine. I am proud to live in this area, nothing will touch me. ;)

I did talk to a lady, she did not resist on the DirecTivo, but then she made me angry about the $99, because I just turned to HDTV service, and at the time they gave me that I was told that the upgrade would be free. So I stopped negotiating.

I think I am going to stick with what i have and wait for the HD DVR MPEG4.

What bothers me, is that these last years, you have to fight for your right with D*, I start to be tired of their attitude. But, being an old Cable customer, I can tell that, this attitude is far from the cable arrogency. :)

#31 OFFLINE   xnt

xnt

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 15 posts
Joined: Oct 07, 2005

Posted 03 December 2005 - 10:23 AM

I think you folks may not have to worry. Directv uses sub contractor like Ironwood Communications and they are overwhelm with the new rollout with new dish and receivers. They don't have room and warehouse to stock your old HD receivers. Based on my neighbor experience, it did not happen.

#32 OFFLINE   LockMD

LockMD

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 356 posts
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 03 December 2005 - 10:42 AM

My installer just showed said he does not want my old box, NEVER installed this dish before. Yikes! (crossing fingers) bad part is he says its not on his work order to run extra lines for my DVR's and I'd have to make another work order for that. I'm on the phone with DTV right now.

#33 OFFLINE   rabit ears

rabit ears

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 156 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2005

Posted 03 December 2005 - 11:32 AM

A weak attempt at humor. BTW, No offense Alex.

Sad part is I'll bet 90% of those reading this have no idea what I was referencing.

Thanks for noticing JLP! Also, liked the "Nice Shot" comment!!! !pride

But regardless, Alex, don't given them your HDTivo man!!!!


OK, clue me in - I'm one of the 90%.

Assuming that you are referring to the seizure of the HR10-250 box, the fourth amendment makes sense, but I don't see any applicability of the 2nd.

Sorry to be so dense.:confused:

#34 OFFLINE   Wolffpack

Wolffpack

    Banned User

  • Banned User
  • 4,642 posts
Joined: Jul 29, 2003

Posted 03 December 2005 - 05:00 PM

OK, clue me in - I'm one of the 90%.

Assuming that you are referring to the seizure of the HR10-250 box, the fourth amendment makes sense, but I don't see any applicability of the 2nd.

Sorry to be so dense.:confused:

Not dense at all.

The fine citizens of SF recently passed legislation eliminating the 2nd amendment from the Bill of Rights. The right to keep and bear arms. How a city thinks it can change the US Constitution is amazing. Ah well, that’s what the courts are for.

Then of course you have Washington DC and their view towards the 2nd amendment. But that’s another story.

I was just making fun of Alexandrepsf’s fine city.

#35 OFFLINE   LockMD

LockMD

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 356 posts
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 03 December 2005 - 05:44 PM

I checked their website and it looks like they are a major player and since their logo says "When we leave, it works", maybe the odds are good that it actually will.




:mad: Well he left, and it doesn't work! :mad:

They narrowed it down to a bad LNB or multiswitch, thought it was really rare to be a multiswitch problem? Anyhow I am getting local HD but not HD package 73, 76, etc... he (the installer) couldn't find the 110 bird at first. Appears it is pointed right now, I mean if it was wrong it would be an "all or nothing" situation, yes?

Well since I get something I believe it could be an LNB problem, I know less than half of most of you here on all the logistics of how this works.

He did run the extra lines for my DVR's and did NOT take my old HD box. They (Ironwood) are suppose to be sending someone else out with replacement parts before 5 its 3:45 here now......tick tock tick tock

#36 OFFLINE   Claus

Claus

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 80 posts
Joined: Nov 20, 2005

Posted 03 December 2005 - 05:59 PM

Hi Mr. LockMD,
When you say the installer could not find the 110 bird, was he trying to peak the dish on 110 or only verifying reception after peaking 101 and 119? If he was peaking anything at 110 he would be voilating the instructions of the new dish. (I hope we are talking about the 5 lnb dish!)
Claus

#37 OFFLINE   LockMD

LockMD

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 356 posts
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 03 December 2005 - 07:47 PM

I cant really speak for him, but I'm pretty sure he was trying to peak 103 transponder 20, 90 or better and we got 94. 110 wasn't even showing up and he said it wasnt needed. When I called to activate the box they said it was.

Hey by the way this box (H20) is very similar to the R15 in appearance and operation.

And yes we are speaking of the 5 LNB dish. I admit I dont know anything about this stuff, just trying to report my experience and observations.

#38 OFFLINE   Alexandrepsf

Alexandrepsf

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 738 posts
Joined: Oct 26, 2005

Posted 03 December 2005 - 07:51 PM

LockMD,

So did the come with the replacement pieces?

Hope things are sorted out for you.

#39 OFFLINE   LockMD

LockMD

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 356 posts
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 03 December 2005 - 09:06 PM

No they did not! :mad:

How did your intall go?

Actually I'm okay, I dont watch the channels I'm not getting that much anyhow. But, I want what I pay for. I'm happy, he ran the 3 extra lines and I am getting locals in HD (never could get them via OTA due to Mt. Diablo) Besides having the latest greatest ASAP it was my locals in HD that pushed me into rushing this. (Monday night football) so I have it now.

I will keep complaining until I get what I pay for though. Hope your install went a little easier, sheesh my installer was here for almost 6 hours. It was his first 5 LNB, considering that I think he did okay. To his defense, he basically told me they 'through him to the dogs' NEVER showed them anything training wise except the video that some have seen online.

I'm not upset with him personally. I think he did the best he could with what he had. I will keep ya'll informed on updates in my situation. I'm curious to hear about yours and others that had install dates for today too, especially CA people.

#40 OFFLINE   Alexandrepsf

Alexandrepsf

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 738 posts
Joined: Oct 26, 2005

Posted 03 December 2005 - 09:31 PM

Bummer, I hope that you will have ALL the channels soon. So which channels do you have, and which one you do not have but you should have have?

Actually, I did not do it yet, and I will not until the HD DVR comes out (I think). The thing is that they wanted to charge me, and they did not give up, the CSR agent accepted to not to take away my HDTivo, then she said that it is already a good gesture and she did not give up on charging me $99.

Did they charge you for the installation?

#41 OFFLINE   Claus

Claus

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 80 posts
Joined: Nov 20, 2005

Posted 03 December 2005 - 09:47 PM

Mr. LockMD,
It would be good for you to look at the antenna manual and maybe the installer video if you have time so you can make sure the installer is doing a good job next time. The manual and video are available on line and it’s not like reading an automatic transmission manual and then looking over the mechanic shoulder, it’s really basic and simple in approach. If you say the installer was peaking a Ka signal then it sounds like he is not properly trained and maybe you can make sure you are getting the best for your system.
Claus

I cant really speak for him, but I'm pretty sure he was trying to peak 103 transponder 20, 90 or better and we got 94. 110 wasn't even showing up and he said it wasnt needed. When I called to activate the box they said it was.

Hey by the way this box (H20) is very similar to the R15 in appearance and operation.

And yes we are speaking of the 5 LNB dish. I admit I dont know anything about this stuff, just trying to report my experience and observations.



#42 OFFLINE   LockMD

LockMD

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 356 posts
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 03 December 2005 - 11:15 PM

Bummer, I hope that you will have ALL the channels soon. So which channels do you have, and which one you do not have but you should have have?

Actually, I did not do it yet, and I will not until the HD DVR comes out (I think). The thing is that they wanted to charge me, and they did not give up, the CSR agent accepted to not to take away my HDTivo, then she said that it is already a good gesture and she did not give up on charging me $99.

Did they charge you for the installation?


The channel(s) I am not receiving are 73, 74, 76, 78, 79. I am getting 2, 5, 7, 11, and 81 (which is (5) CBS)

DVR, I just got into that and opted not to buy an h10-250 due to the fact it will not do MPEG-4. Infact, I recently just got into the DVR scene. I bought an R10 and the R15 came out a week later, so now I have both and as of today the H10 HD box and it is VERY similar to the R15 in appearance and operations.

DONT FIGHT THE BOX ISSUE WITH D*, the installers dont care! they wont take it. Infact tell D* they can have the box so D* will give you a better deal financially and hide your box for insurance. I dont know this whole thing seems hit and miss. At first, like you I got no deals. I complained and whinned and told them about the forums and I read others get a deal then she (1st level) says her maximum offer is 49.00 ask for a supervisor and got the 99.00 fee waived but still had to pay the shipping 14.95 fee. As far as the extra lines, I paid the installer under the table 50 bucks to run 3 lines. So now I have 2 lines in my bedroom for my R10 DVR and 3 lines in the living room 1 for the H20 and 2 for the R15 DVR.

Again about the box and charges keep calling back and as for a supervisor, tell them you read these forums and you see others reporting they are getting better deals. That is what I did. No, I havent got the best, but under normal circumstances I would have paid 14.95+tax only.

Good Luck and let us know what you decide. BTW how do you like the H10-250, is it more like the R10? Just not sure I want to invest that much money to be able to record HD until they have more HD channels. The 5 LNB dish is a step in the right direction.

#43 OFFLINE   LockMD

LockMD

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 356 posts
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 03 December 2005 - 11:21 PM

Mr. LockMD,
It would be good for you to look at the antenna manual and maybe the installer video if you have time so you can make sure the installer is doing a good job next time. The manual and video are available on line and it’s not like reading an automatic transmission manual and then looking over the mechanic shoulder, it’s really basic and simple in approach. If you say the installer was peaking a Ka signal then it sounds like he is not properly trained and maybe you can make sure you are getting the best for your system.
Claus



Yes, I should. Even your mention of peaking the Ka signal is greek to me. And you are right as he admitted he has had NO training on installing it (I was his first) he was calling others on his nextel and complained that no one was helping him. If this doesnt get resolved SOON and I have the time I will do exactly what you propose and maybe train myself a bit.

#44 OFFLINE   Coastsider

Coastsider

    DBSTalk Club Member

  • Registered
  • 155 posts
Joined: Nov 29, 2005

Posted 04 December 2005 - 08:34 AM

My installer just showed said he does not want my old box, NEVER installed this dish before. Yikes! (crossing fingers) bad part is he says its not on his work order to run extra lines for my DVR's and I'd have to make another work order for that. I'm on the phone with DTV right now.


At least your guy showed up. Mine didn't. After waiting until 12:30 (installer was supposed to arrive between 8 and 12 but I gave him the benefit of the doubt) I called the Ironwood 1-800 number and at first was told that I was not scheduled for the 3rd (yes I was) but for the 11th instead. They transferred me to the local office which did not answer. On the second call I was told that my installer had called in sick and that they had rescheduled me for the Sunday the 11th between 8-12. I guess they thought I was telepathic as no one had called to advise me of these facts. They said that they had someone from the local office on the line and that I would get a call from them right away. After another half hour I figured the call was also a no show and so called DirecTV Installation to complain. They verified that I had been rescheduled for the 11th and I got a $25 no-show credit ($5.00 an hour for my time - whoopee) and three free months of the HD package, which I had to ask for.

Maybe by next Sunday whoever is coming out to install my AT9 will have done a few and will actually have a clue how to aim the thing so it could be all for the better. In the meantime, I think I'll watch the video from SolidSignal a few more times and read the install manual I downloaded so at least somebody will know what they are doing.

I sent an email to Ironwood this morning and suggested that they change their slogan to "If we show up, when we leave, it works".

What a way to run a railroad.

EDIT: Hey, who changed New Member to Cool Member under my user name? It sure as hell wasn't me. I'm too old to be cool and so whoever changed it, change it back as I can't find anywhere in my Profile Edit page to do so myself. The nerve of some people.

#45 OFFLINE   LockMD

LockMD

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 356 posts
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 04 December 2005 - 03:17 PM

I'm sorry to hear that but that happened to me too. I got the automated call around 1:30 Friday. Called them at 4:30 to confirm and tell them I wanted somebody willing to crawl. Good thing I did, they said I was scheduled for the 5th.

As you know that was fixed. I'm okay for now, the only thing is I wont get channel 73 for the HD sunday night game. Hey you think if I hooked up my old box I would get those channels I'm missing?

BTW nobody changed it to cool member, its in their software after 10 posts it changes to that. Not sure what the other number of posts are but it changes automatically due to your number of posts, from what I'v noticed anyhow.

Keep us informed of your upgrade.

Larry

#46 OFFLINE   dvdguyjt

dvdguyjt

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 93 posts
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 04 December 2005 - 05:06 PM

I had an appointment set for toady between 8-12. Installer did not show, so Icalled Directv at 12:30. I was told to wait until after 1 and call back.

I called back at 1:15. I was placed on hold by D* and told they would check with Ironwood (our local installers). They put me on hold for 10 minutes and the next thing I knew a voice answered and said "Thank you for calling Ironwood" D* must have transferred me to them. After getting NO help from them, I was told that they did not have a direct line for the installer and that the local office was closed.

I asked for the local number, called it and got a voicemail box that was "full"

Called D* again and went directly to customer retention. They contacted Ironwood again with no more luck than I had. I was told I would have to reschedule, and the next weekend appoinment the yhad was on the 17th.

I requested compensation for my time, but all I could get out of them was a $20 credit. I tried for free months of the HD pack, but was told there was no offer available for that.

ANyway, long story short, I waited 6 hours and got nothing but a reschedule and a lousy $20 credit.

Maybe this MPEG-4 crap isn't so necessary right now.............

#47 OFFLINE   LockMD

LockMD

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 356 posts
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 04 December 2005 - 07:21 PM

So I guess I should just be happy my installer even showed. These guys (Ironwood) suck!

If I waited like you two and not confirmed Friday before closing, my intaller would not have shown either.

Cant believe this BS! Do you guys have the R15 too by chance? I do and my patience is wearing thin with it. The H20 is very similar to the R15 but does seem to be a bit more stable. I hear the H10-250 comes with an HDMI cable, the H20 did not, I just paid 100 bucks for the cable at best buy......off to more testing. Both of you please keep me (us) posted, as I will do the same. Its Sunday so I should not be alarmed I heard nothing from D* or Ironwood today???

#48 OFFLINE   Coastsider

Coastsider

    DBSTalk Club Member

  • Registered
  • 155 posts
Joined: Nov 29, 2005

Posted 05 December 2005 - 06:54 AM

So for Saturday, December 3rd in the S.F. Bay area two no-shows and one "when he left, it didn't work" that we know about. Of course maybe both no-shows were the same guy, so I'll give them the benefit of the doubt on that one, but sending an installer out who has never installed a dish that, according to all signs, is much more difficult that anything previous without any up front training is as unprofessional as you can get, especially with the volume of installs that are certainly in the works. At least show them the video from SolidSignal a couple of times. No OJT on my dish install please.

Maybe by the 11th, and certainly by the 17th these guys will have a few AT9 tweaking sessions under their belts and will be ready to go. Maybe.

And finally, Cool Member? Please. I wasn't even cool in the 60's when it was cool to be cool.

#49 OFFLINE   xnt

xnt

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 15 posts
Joined: Oct 07, 2005

Posted 05 December 2005 - 02:38 PM

Coastsider! I ran into the same problem as you did. ie two no-shows for both Friday and Saturday and Ironwood did not even bother to call :mad: .

And finally, Cool Member? Please. I wasn't even cool in the 60's when it was cool to be cool.

I believe this is in a vBulletin configurable option. Once you reachs a certain number of posts, your title will automatically change :hurah: .

#50 OFFLINE   rollingstone

rollingstone

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 16 posts
Joined: Dec 01, 2005

Posted 05 December 2005 - 03:01 PM

Hi All,

I bounced over here from the TIVO forums. I live in the Santa Cruz mountains and just succeeded in getting Directv to install the 5 lnb dish and h20 for 14.95. The installer is to show on Dec 16...we'll see.

I sure went through a run around to get this deal. They wanted just to install the antenna, no box. He said use the HD Tivo box! After a 1/2 hour we got to the point where they would install the dish, and THEN if I needed the H20 they would schedule another delivery visit! Well after another 1/2 hour of discussion, I think I'm getting both on the 16th!

Since I keeping my HDtivo too, I seem to be running out of "connections" I currently run everything through my amp which does component switching, but no more inputs. So I guess I'll go straight to the TV...bummer cause now the remote has to switch the AMP and the TV.

I figured one should go for this deal...basically getting the antenna installed for free. I really want a PVR for the locals in HD, and it sounds like we fight that battle in the spring.

PS, I have waivers for all but FOX. So I guess I'm really go to all this trouble for one station!

-Glen




Protected By... spam firewall...And...