Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

811 - P3.32 Software Release Notes and Discussion


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
15 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Jason Nipp

Jason Nipp

    Analog Geek in a Digital World

  • Super Moderators
  • 10,040 posts
  • LocationNorthern Illinois
Joined: Jun 10, 2004

Posted 01 December 2005 - 04:33 PM

Software Version P3.32 for DP811
  • Turbo QPSK performance enhancement
  • Readiness for Echo X due to launch next year
  • Blackout pop up rewording and other fixes to graphics
  • Guide performance corrections for most "No Info" cases
  • Miscellaneous minor fixes (Maintenance)


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Golfer

Golfer

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 52 posts
Joined: Mar 02, 2004

Posted 01 December 2005 - 05:00 PM

Anyone else having problems with your HD channels after the 3.32 update? All my HD channels are enlarged, fuzzy, etc and ESPN is really 'messed up'. I do a reboot by holding in the power button, etc, and it clears up. But it comes back eventually.

I have had no problems with any of the updates prior to this one today.

Any suggestions?

#3 OFFLINE   boylehome

boylehome

    Hall Of Fame/Supporter

  • Registered
  • 2,143 posts
Joined: Jul 16, 2004

Posted 01 December 2005 - 05:02 PM

Sounds like the Turbo QPSK performance enhancement is overcharged!

#4 OFFLINE   moman19

moman19

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 710 posts
Joined: Oct 22, 2004

Posted 01 December 2005 - 05:05 PM

Jason:

What should we expect to see? Not sure what issues bullets 1, 3 & 5 are actually targetting. For example, is studdering video adressed?

#5 OFFLINE   BFG

BFG

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,118 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2004

Posted 01 December 2005 - 05:54 PM

They explained #1 and #5 on the tech chat.

The blackout mesage is the thing used for sports.

There missing a bullet though - did not break anything that was working on the 811, that should be on their check list everytime ;)

I cringe more about what the updates break vs. what they fix :(

#6 OFFLINE   hnl469

hnl469

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 23 posts
Joined: Dec 08, 2004

Posted 01 December 2005 - 05:55 PM

I've got the same problem. Just got off the phone w/dish. Can view locals either. Can't change aspect ratio(hd vs sd) lose the picture totally and there's a black bar on the right side of the screen, inch wide.

#7 OFFLINE   Mikey

Mikey

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,295 posts
Joined: Oct 26, 2004

Posted 01 December 2005 - 05:59 PM

Everyone needs to go into their Upgrades menu (6-1-2) and choose "Ask before downloading", if they want to avoid trouble with this release.

#8 OFFLINE   BFG

BFG

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,118 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2004

Posted 01 December 2005 - 06:02 PM

Check to see if your HD resolution setting has been changed to 480p or 720p...

A couple times an update has switch the resolution on me to one of those

#9 OFFLINE   hnl469

hnl469

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 23 posts
Joined: Dec 08, 2004

Posted 01 December 2005 - 06:05 PM

Where do I find that?

#10 OFFLINE   BFG

BFG

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,118 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2004

Posted 01 December 2005 - 06:08 PM

Menu 6-1-9

#11 OFFLINE   hnl469

hnl469

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 23 posts
Joined: Dec 08, 2004

Posted 01 December 2005 - 06:09 PM

I'm on 1080i I've got the 34" dish HD TV

#12 OFFLINE   Golfer

Golfer

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 52 posts
Joined: Mar 02, 2004

Posted 01 December 2005 - 06:47 PM

Check to see if your HD resolution setting has been changed to 480p or 720p...

A couple times an update has switch the resolution on me to one of those


No, my HD resolution has not changed. And, I too, have the problem mentioned above. When I change from Normal, to stretch, etc, it screws up, bad.

#13 OFFLINE   Golfer

Golfer

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 52 posts
Joined: Mar 02, 2004

Posted 01 December 2005 - 06:49 PM

I've got the same problem. Just got off the phone w/dish. Can view locals either. Can't change aspect ratio(hd vs sd) lose the picture totally and there's a black bar on the right side of the screen, inch wide.



What did DISH suggest when you called them with the problem? Did you get any useful help? If so, please share, as I would love having it.

Thanks.

#14 OFFLINE   hnl469

hnl469

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 23 posts
Joined: Dec 08, 2004

Posted 01 December 2005 - 06:51 PM

They are reporting the problem to engineering and gave me a $9 credit as I can't watch any HD channels and my locals are out too. You should call too.

#15 OFFLINE   logray

logray

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 367 posts
Joined: Apr 08, 2005

Posted 01 December 2005 - 08:14 PM

[B][*]Miscellaneous minor fixes (Maintenance)[/LIST]


I wonder if this means the "full screen EPG BSOD" and "Add DTV bugs" have been fixed. Any 3.32 users out there that can confirm this?

#16 OFFLINE   Jason Nipp

Jason Nipp

    Analog Geek in a Digital World

  • Topic Starter
  • Super Moderators
  • 10,040 posts
  • LocationNorthern Illinois
Joined: Jun 10, 2004

Posted 01 December 2005 - 10:17 PM

I have just learned that this release has been stopped.

There is an issue that impacted the position adjustment as described below, and also an issue with Dish Home.

For the mean time I am under the impression that P3.30 has been put into stream to revert P3.32.

I will let you know if I hear more.

Jason




spam firewall