Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Questions about DNS (Distant Network Service) and OTA stuff.


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
3 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   JLS24

JLS24

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Jan 02, 2006

Posted 02 January 2006 - 01:11 PM

Ok guys thanks for looking. Im thinking about going to D* but I have a few questions beofre I make the plunge. I dont receive any of my local channels through D*, but when I type in my address for DNS service these are the results.....


Standard Distant Network Service

Network Affiliate Channel Status
ABC Eligible
CBS WDTV 5 Grade B (moderate signal)
FOX Eligible
NBC WTAP 15 Grade A (strong signal)
PBS Eligible

Digital (HD) Distant Network Service

Network Affiliate Status
ABC Eligible
CBS WDTV-DT Grade B (moderate signal)
FOX Eligible
NBC WTAP-DT Grade A (strong signal)


Here are my question....Im wanting to be sure Im reading this right.....

1. Will I have HD ABC and FOX (NY) stations through the D* HD receiver? If no please explain.

2. Will I have standard ABC and FOX (NY) stations through the standard D* receivers? If no please explain.

3.Reguarding the OTA antenna......what does it hook into....My TV?, or the D* receiver? What Im wanting to know is can 3 different standard receiver rooms be watching standard NBC or CBS OTA at the same time? Does a splitter need to go off the antenna? Also If my HDTV is only HD ready do I have to buy a HD tuner to use the antenna or does it go into the D* HD receiver?

Sorry that 3rd question is complicated but I would appreciate any help. I get different answers from D* customer service. Thanks.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Greg Bimson

Greg Bimson

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,918 posts
Joined: May 05, 2003

Posted 02 January 2006 - 01:20 PM

As far as I can tell, the answers to 1) and 2) are yes, and yes. You will have to request them. I'll leave question three to the techies.

#3 OFFLINE   greatwhitenorth

greatwhitenorth

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 360 posts
Joined: Jul 18, 2005

Posted 02 January 2006 - 04:01 PM

3.Reguarding the OTA antenna......what does it hook into....My TV?, or the D* receiver? What Im wanting to know is can 3 different standard receiver rooms be watching standard NBC or CBS OTA at the same time? Does a splitter need to go off the antenna? Also If my HDTV is only HD ready do I have to buy a HD tuner to use the antenna or does it go into the D* HD receiver?

The OTA antenna should connect to the back of the recievers. You will need to get the OTA antenna feed to all 3 rooms so a splitter will be required. Yes, all 3 rooms can watch different OTA channels at the same time. Now, the last part, I know E*s HD boxes have a built in OTA tuner, and I would be surprised if D* didn't include that feature. If I'm wrong I'm sure someone will point it out.

#4 OFFLINE   Crystal Pepsi Ball

Crystal Pepsi Ball

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 253 posts
Joined: Jun 29, 2004

Posted 03 January 2006 - 12:38 AM

My D* H10 receiver has a built in tuner




Protected By... spam firewall...And...