Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

H20: HDMI and Component concurrently?


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
3 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Clint

Clint

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Jan 14, 2006

Posted 14 January 2006 - 12:58 AM

Hi. New guy here.

I've connected my H20 to my living room TV via HDMI. My projector in the basement has only DVI and component video inputs.

I assume I can run component cables to the projector and display the same thing that's showing upstairs. Am I wrong about this?

Also, will I be able to then use a second remote in RF mode from the basement while still using the first one upstairs in IR mode?

Thank you.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   hamltnh

hamltnh

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 28 posts
Joined: Jan 08, 2006

Posted 14 January 2006 - 08:48 AM

Hi. New guy here.

I've connected my H20 to my living room TV via HDMI. My projector in the basement has only DVI and component video inputs.

I assume I can run component cables to the projector and display the same thing that's showing upstairs. Am I wrong about this?

Also, will I be able to then use a second remote in RF mode from the basement while still using the first one upstairs in IR mode?

Thank you.


Yes, all the H20 outputs (video and audio) are active simultaneously, so in theory you could hook-up 4 display devices (HDMI, Component, S-Video and Composite) with no problem.

Re. remote modes--the H20 is either in RF or IR mode, but not both simultaneously. If the receiver is in RF mode, it ignores IR input signals. You could use IR mode and use an IR repeater for the basement.

#3 OFFLINE   Clint

Clint

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Jan 14, 2006

Posted 15 January 2006 - 06:51 PM

Then I'd assume I could also set it to RF mode and use two seperate remotes, right?

#4 OFFLINE   hamltnh

hamltnh

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 28 posts
Joined: Jan 08, 2006

Posted 15 January 2006 - 09:29 PM

Then I'd assume I could also set it to RF mode and use two seperate remotes, right?


Assuming they were both the same type of DirecTV remote, that's true. I'm not sure a different brand of remote/universal remote/etc. would work, even if it was RF capable. You'll have to try the RF mode from the basement to make sure that it works since the range of the RF mode is dependent on walls/obstructions/interference, etc.




spam firewall