Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

622


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
18 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   sat tech

sat tech

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 71 posts
Joined: Jan 16, 2006

Posted 16 January 2006 - 02:37 PM

does any one have front and back pannel pics of the vip622

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,761 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 16 January 2006 - 02:48 PM

Did you have used Search button at top of the page with a keyword "ViP622" ?
Try it !

#3 OFFLINE   Ron Barry

Ron Barry

    622 Tips & Trick Keeper

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,879 posts
Joined: Dec 10, 2002

Posted 16 January 2006 - 02:59 PM

:welcome_s sat tech

As P. Smith indicated. The search button can be your friend.

Here is a link to some pictures of the back of the VIP622.

http://www.dbstalk.c...ead.php?t=50368

And here is some video from the CES show showing the 622 being demoed.

http://www.dbstalk.c...5670#post505670
<strong class='bbc'>New Member of the 9K club & 922/612 User<br /></strong><span style='font-size: 8px;'>"A release is not a release until it is released." - Me. <br />"To the true believer, no proof is necessary. To the non believer, no proof is sufficient." - Peter James (Derived from a Stewert Chase Quote)</span>

#4 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 39,588 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 16 January 2006 - 05:15 PM

Not to mention the sticky at the top of this forum ...
ViP-622 and ViP-211 Basics

I've added the CES video to the page.

James

#5 OFFLINE   sat tech

sat tech

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 71 posts
Joined: Jan 16, 2006

Posted 19 January 2006 - 10:09 AM

Thank you!!! The company (rsp) i work for gives little info about anything new coming out. Part of my job title is training new techs. Makes it a little hard to train these people.

#6 OFFLINE   jbach

jbach

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 35 posts
Joined: Jul 18, 2005

Posted 19 January 2006 - 10:31 AM

Can't tell if there's a DVI/HDMI output - as on the 942. I don't want to assume anything, but the picture is a bit ambiguous on this.

#7 OFFLINE   Rob Glasser

Rob Glasser

    Hall Of Fame

  • Super Moderators
  • 3,052 posts
Joined: Feb 22, 2005

Posted 19 January 2006 - 10:46 AM

Can't tell if there's a DVI/HDMI output - as on the 942. I don't want to assume anything, but the picture is a bit ambiguous on this.


It's HDMI. Can see if pretty clearly on the back picture. It's the 4th input from the right. Starting from the right you have phone, USB, ethernet, then your TV1 outputs: HDMI, SVIDEO, above SVIDEO is your optical, then component and RCA. To the left of that is your TV2 output RCA, and to it's left the Coax out.
Rob

DISH Hopper, Hopper w/Sling, & Joey User

#8 OFFLINE   tomcrown1

tomcrown1

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,576 posts
Joined: Jan 16, 2006

Posted 19 January 2006 - 11:12 AM

Ron what is dem oed??

Bad jokes made by----
Welcome to Dish the new AT&T

:) life is to to to short so be???

#9 OFFLINE   DoyleS

DoyleS

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,002 posts
Joined: Oct 21, 2002

Posted 19 January 2006 - 01:07 PM

Demoed is short for demonstrated. The root is demo so there are various offshoots of the word used. You can see a Demo or someone can be demoing a piece of equipment or you could have a piece of equipment that you saw demoed at a trade show.


..Doyle

#10 OFFLINE   airpolgas

airpolgas

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 493 posts
Joined: Aug 12, 2002

Posted 20 January 2006 - 12:26 PM

Are those outputs for TV1 all active at the same time?

I was thinking using HDMI (converted to DVI) + Digital Out for my HDTV (my TV has a DVI input), then S-Video + composite audio going to the DVD-Recorder (I know it's down converted).
"There are no stupid questions, just stupid people." - Mr. Garrison from South Park
"There are no stupid questions, but there are a LOT of inquisitive idiots." - Cluelessness from despair.com

#11 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 39,588 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 20 January 2006 - 12:36 PM

Yes.

#12 OFFLINE   normang

normang

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,012 posts
Joined: Nov 14, 2002

Posted 20 January 2006 - 01:50 PM

The extra ouputs on TV1 for the 622 make it pretty nice.. We'll have to see how it works in reality..
Norm


#13 OFFLINE   BobaBird

BobaBird

    EKB Editor

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,022 posts
Joined: Mar 30, 2002

Posted 22 January 2006 - 11:29 AM

Should solve a frequent complaint of the 942, especially if the user can configure the TV1 SD ouput as letterboxed or anamorphic. And maybe TV2 too.
Charles @dishuser - a dynamic employee of Massive Veridian
Visit the EchoStar Knowledge Base
"The other guys charge $9.95/month to use tapeless record" - Dish Network Tech Forum, 8-6-01
"dual" is NOT the same as "Twin" - here's why

#14 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 39,588 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 22 January 2006 - 12:04 PM

Should solve a frequent complaint of the 942, especially if the user can configure the TV1 SD ouput as letterboxed or anamorphic. And maybe TV2 too.

On the ViP-211 the non-HD outputs (AV and modulator) are always 4:3 with 16:9 channels letterboxed. I suspect it will be the same for the ViP-622 (except with a stereo modulator).

#15 OFFLINE   liferules

liferules

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 305 posts
Joined: Aug 14, 2005

Posted 22 January 2006 - 12:50 PM

Stupid question: Ideally, what is the best way to connect the 622 to my TV (i.e. for best picture)? The HDMI? Also, is there degradation of image if I pass it thru the receiver then to the TV? or should I go straight from 622 to HDTV?

#16 OFFLINE   Ron Barry

Ron Barry

    622 Tips & Trick Keeper

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,879 posts
Joined: Dec 10, 2002

Posted 22 January 2006 - 01:23 PM

Depends a lot on the type of TV you have. For sure to get the Best PQ you need to either go HDMI or Component. If you go HDMI the signal is digital between the receiver and the TV so you don't have any PQ loss. This like any of the other HD receivers is a mileage will vary. It can range from no difference between component to big difference. PQ will vary from TV to TV depending on if you have it set to 1080i or 720p.
<strong class='bbc'>New Member of the 9K club & 922/612 User<br /></strong><span style='font-size: 8px;'>"A release is not a release until it is released." - Me. <br />"To the true believer, no proof is necessary. To the non believer, no proof is sufficient." - Peter James (Derived from a Stewert Chase Quote)</span>

#17 OFFLINE   BobMurdoch

BobMurdoch

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,009 posts
Joined: Apr 24, 2002

Posted 23 January 2006 - 09:50 AM

MY TV only has a DVI input. I have a 12 ft. cable running from my corner cabinet to the back of the TV. Can I just put an adapter between the male end of the cable (currently plugged into my 921 directly) and the 622 easily or does this somehow cause a problem?
"The mass of men lead lives of quiet desperation." Henry David Thoreau Walden (1854)

:ramblinon


XBox 360 Gamertag::grin:
Posted Image

#18 OFFLINE   tomcrown1

tomcrown1

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,576 posts
Joined: Jan 16, 2006

Posted 23 January 2006 - 10:20 AM

yes it will not degrade the PQ in any way
Welcome to Dish the new AT&T

:) life is to to to short so be???

#19 OFFLINE   BobMurdoch

BobMurdoch

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,009 posts
Joined: Apr 24, 2002

Posted 23 January 2006 - 11:03 AM

Thanks, just checking..... Ya never know when they will sneak in gotchas that render your technology incompatible...
"The mass of men lead lives of quiet desperation." Henry David Thoreau Walden (1854)

:ramblinon


XBox 360 Gamertag::grin:
Posted Image




spam firewall