Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

H10 vs H20 for OTA


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
8 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   WhoDey

WhoDey

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2006

Posted 25 January 2006 - 01:07 PM

I just got off the phone with a D* HD specialist, he states that H10 does no worse of a job with respect to OTA then the H20.

I've read on this board that the H20 is indeed better...

Any clarity?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   dsanbo

dsanbo

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 181 posts
Joined: Nov 25, 2005

Posted 25 January 2006 - 02:11 PM

WhoDey.....
The H10 will NOT get the new MPEG4 HD channels; the H20 will (with the addition of the AT9 5LNB dish).....
Also....having had the H10....I can safely say the H20 does a MUCH better job with OTA signals; it has a more sensitive front-end than the H10..
The skinny...if you are making the choice....go with the H20.....you'll be thankful down the road.....;) Good luck!

#3 OFFLINE   Proc

Proc

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 307 posts
Joined: Jan 19, 2006

Posted 25 January 2006 - 07:41 PM

I just got off the phone with a D* HD specialist, he states that H10 does no worse of a job with respect to OTA then the H20.

I've read on this board that the H20 is indeed better...

Any clarity?


H20 is far superior for OTA than the H10. I struggled to get stuff in with the H10, not so with the H20.

#4 OFFLINE   dewalt

dewalt

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 14 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2006

Posted 27 January 2006 - 11:56 AM

Just like to add that the H20 is also much better than the HR10-250. I get all the channels OTA on the H20, but only 2 with the HR10-250.

#5 OFFLINE   Volrog

Volrog

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Jan 27, 2006

Posted 27 January 2006 - 04:38 PM

I replaced an H10 with an H20 today and I can assure you that the OTA-HD reception is exponentially better. I got 1 or 2 HD with the H10 and I'm pulling in all of the Nashville, TN stations with strong meter readings now with the H20.
Upgrade and you will see for yourself. BTW I live about 30 miles from the towers.

#6 OFFLINE   KevetS

KevetS

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 44 posts
Joined: Jan 29, 2006

Posted 29 January 2006 - 07:01 PM

I've never touched an H10 but I can say from experience that the H20 is a damn fine receiver. I'm about 30 miles from most towers in every direction possible and things work surprisingly well with an indoor antenna.

#7 OFFLINE   scottishknight

scottishknight

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Feb 13, 2006

Posted 13 February 2006 - 06:01 PM

I upgraded to HD in November '05 and D* sent me the H10 receiver. It started having problems within the 90 day warranty, so they have now sent me a remanufactured H20. I'm a little disappointed because the H20 doesn't have the coaxial Digital audio out I was using on the H10.
When I tried to authorize the H20, it wouldn't work because D* had left the H20 assigned to someone else's account. I am waiting for resolution to that problem and I'm still on the H10 for now.
I live in LA, so I do get the local channels in HD and some are in digital audio.
Will the H20 be better for me, once I get it working?

#8 OFFLINE   scottishknight

scottishknight

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Feb 13, 2006

Posted 03 March 2006 - 01:48 PM

D* never could get the remanufactured H20 to work so they sent out an installer with a brand new H20. I am getting a signal, but now my Caller ID won't work.

#9 OFFLINE   fratwell

fratwell

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 138 posts
Joined: Jul 02, 2005

Posted 04 March 2006 - 09:55 AM

The H20 is better than the H-10. I had an H10 and would not get UHF channels located in Boston (56-1, 38-1, 44-1, 44-2, 44-3) including my local channel 9-1. With the H20, they all come in OTA nice and sharp.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...