Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Strange problem with old receiver


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
3 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   pudge44

pudge44

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Jan 25, 2006

Posted 25 January 2006 - 02:07 PM

Wondering if anyone's ever seen this behavior before.

I have a old Sony receiver that dates to the late '90s. It's never given me any trouble. I had split the aat-out line (coax) and was running it to two different TVs (actually to one TV and to my Media Center PC).

The TV broke, so for a while it was just hooked to the MCPC. I got the TV repaired, hooked everything back up and the TV worked fine. A few hours later, I went to check the PC, and there was no signal. Went back and checked the TV, same thing ... just snow.

I removed the split and wired it directly to the TV. Nothing. I then hooked it up with RCA cables to the TV, and everything worked fine, but the coax to my PC still produces no signal.

Is it possible the Satellite Out coax jack "shorted out" or something? Anyone heard of anything like this before? Any suggestions?

I have a DTV installer coming Friday to upgrade me to the triple LNB dish and an HR10-250 for my new HDTV. Will they replace my old SD receiver for me?

Thanks!

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   boba

boba

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,580 posts
Joined: May 23, 2003

Posted 25 January 2006 - 05:23 PM

You probably have a TV/SAT switch on the remote that works as an A/B switch. It turns off the modulator output to pass through the TV antenna signal. Was it possibly pushed accidentally?

#3 OFFLINE   pudge44

pudge44

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Jan 25, 2006

Posted 26 January 2006 - 06:21 AM

That was it, thanks! That box is so old, I had completely forgotten about the old TV/SAT button -- a legacy from the days before D* even offered local channels. Remember that?

#4 OFFLINE   Bobman

Bobman

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,528 posts
Joined: Jan 03, 2006

Posted 26 January 2006 - 10:17 AM

I have an old Sony Sat-A1 and Sony Sat-A3 somewhere in the basement. Even though both are around 10 years old they offered features back then that some new receivers still dont offer. Nice units.




spam firewall