Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

How many cables do I need?


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
5 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Kevlar

Kevlar

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Dec 29, 2005

Posted 26 January 2006 - 03:44 PM

I'm having someone come to wire my house up... and I'm wondering how many wires do I need for the new Ka dish? I have a triple LNB dish now... 3 RG6s run from the dish to the attic and 1 RG6 runs to my kitchen. Instead of running all 4 to the attic and one back to the kitchen, the d*tv installer took the easy way out and just ran one directly to the kitchen. :(

I'm having the a new ( non-d*tv) installer run 3 RG6 to the 2 bedrooms and the living room and then 1 RG6 to the kitchen from the attic (1 RG6 is for cable, and 2 RG6s for satellite -- the kitchen will only need one sat feed). However, how many wires should I have them run from the dish location to the attic... 4 RG6s?

Thoughts?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   boba

boba

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,580 posts
Joined: May 23, 2003

Posted 26 January 2006 - 04:18 PM

If you can receive OTA run 5 cables to the attic. If you might put in dual tuner HDTV DVRs run 3 cables to those locations.

#3 OFFLINE   Wolffpack

Wolffpack

    Banned User

  • Banned User
  • 4,642 posts
Joined: Jul 29, 2003

Posted 26 January 2006 - 04:20 PM

How many receivers and of what types are you looking at?

I would run 2 runs to any place you would every consider having a DVR.

Personally I would take the approach of having all 4 feeds from the dish pumped to a powered multiswitch. But it needs to be capable of handling the Ka frequencies.

Also, consider the requirements of copper core RG6 cable versus copper clad.

Currently the new dish requires 4 runs. I'd still add another 1-2 if you're doing the work.

#4 OFFLINE   Kevlar

Kevlar

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Dec 29, 2005

Posted 26 January 2006 - 06:51 PM

If you can receive OTA run 5 cables to the attic. If you might put in dual tuner HDTV DVRs run 3 cables to those locations.


Well, I was only going to get the standard HDTV receivers from D*TV... and build some HTPCs to do the DVR records to a central harddrive array. Will I need 3 RG6s dedicated to just HDTV satellite work + 1 RG6 for my cable feed? (Cable comes free with the neighborhood)

How many receivers and of what types are you looking at?


Right now, I'll have 3 D*TV HDTV receivers and 1 standard receiver (the one in the kitchen).

Personally I would take the approach of having all 4 feeds from the dish pumped to a powered multiswitch.


That is what I thought too, but instead of runnin the 4 feeds into the attic, only 3 run into the attic currently and 1 runs into the kitchen. I would like to have all 4 run into the kitchen and then split from there.

#5 OFFLINE   Wolffpack

Wolffpack

    Banned User

  • Banned User
  • 4,642 posts
Joined: Jul 29, 2003

Posted 26 January 2006 - 08:07 PM

Sounds like you've got a plan Kevlar!!! :biggthump

#6 OFFLINE   Kevlar

Kevlar

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Dec 29, 2005

Posted 27 January 2006 - 08:02 AM

Doing my best to futureproof myself as much as possible... adding the toys after the wiring is done is the easy part.




spam firewall