Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Directv Giveaway


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
77 replies to this topic

#76 OFFLINE   captenblack

captenblack

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 12 posts
Joined: Feb 25, 2006

Posted 01 March 2006 - 12:17 PM

My DVR just arrived (an HDVR2)... via Fedex. "Installation" scheduled for Saturday. Should I just call and cancel, since all I have to do is hook the thing up to the TV, no major work needs to be done.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#77 OFFLINE   John Duncan Yoyo

John Duncan Yoyo

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 37 posts
Joined: Nov 22, 2005

Posted 01 March 2006 - 10:08 PM

My DVR just arrived (an HDVR2)... via Fedex. "Installation" scheduled for Saturday. Should I just call and cancel, since all I have to do is hook the thing up to the TV, no major work needs to be done.


As long as you have two cables running to the location then you are good to go. Hook the thing up and make sure it works before you cancel just incase you need something tweaked by the installer.

#78 OFFLINE   TivoAddict

TivoAddict

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 15 posts
Joined: Feb 25, 2006

Posted 04 March 2006 - 06:24 PM

My DirecTivo arrived (FedEx). i tried setting it up (using the ONE Line in OPTION) so i could have it make its inital call. It would not set up... was reporting signal on ONLY the ODD numbered transponders...
I decided to try swapping it with my R15 to determine if it was the box or the line-- I set it up, and the inital call was completed (now shows it has software vs 6.2)
Now that i saw it was working in the living room, i thought maybe i had just done something wrong. I tested the plain receiver, and it worked FINE in the 2nd room...
I tried again to set up the DirecTivo, with same result...
Installer came today... and ran another line...
With BOTH lines-- the DVR seems to work...
BUT the installer says there IS SOMETHING wrong with it???
AND..
althought my SA TIVO will make a phone call with my VOIP...
this box will NOT do so...
ANYONE have any ideas?
I tried to call direct TV... and after giving me a hard time.. the CSR asked me to hold while he got the "correct procedure" to process a return...
After holding for about 5 min- i got a busy signal.. ( he disconnected me :-(
ANYONE have any input on why the Philips DSR7000 does NOT seem able to make a call, but my SA Tivo will?? (OLD OLD series 1 TIvo)
also both my R15 and plain receiver.. Caller ID works on BOTH Of them!!
ANY IMPUT GREATLY APPRECIATED!
THANKS!




Protected By... spam firewall...And...