Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Any Walkarounds for these issues?


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
7 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   nowires

nowires

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Jan 31, 2006

Posted 31 January 2006 - 04:53 PM

I've noticed if you start watching a program that is already 40 min into its taping and you dont catch up to it by the end, it cuts you off and you have to start from the beginning of the show and fast forward to where you were at.

I read other complaints about the R15 saying it needs to change channels 5 minutes before it records, but why should it need to do this if its already taping something on nbc and the next recording is also on nbc, shouldn't i be able to keep watching another channel while only one program is being recorded?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Earl Bonovich

Earl Bonovich

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Registered
  • 30,092 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 31 January 2006 - 08:36 PM

The first one... I don't know of any short cuts for that.

As for the second... DirecTV has acknowledged that the 5 minute pre-switch isn't correct. And will be correted in a future update... Not sure if it is in the next update, but it is on the board as something that needs to be altered.
Earl - Gotta Love Karma

DIRECTV employee since April 2008.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#3 OFFLINE   nowires

nowires

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Jan 31, 2006

Posted 31 January 2006 - 08:47 PM

The first one... I don't know of any short cuts for that.

As for the second... DirecTV has acknowledged that the 5 minute pre-switch isn't correct. And will be correted in a future update... Not sure if it is in the next update, but it is on the board as something that needs to be altered.



Thanks for the info!
Phil

#4 OFFLINE   cabanaboy1977

cabanaboy1977

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,473 posts
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 01 February 2006 - 07:45 AM

As for the second... DirecTV has acknowledged that the 5 minute pre-switch isn't correct. And will be correted in a future update... Not sure if it is in the next update, but it is on the board as something that needs to be altered.


Have the acknowledged that it should switch without user input too? It's annoying that if you get up or leave it on before the show that it won't switch without the user input.

#5 OFFLINE   cabanaboy1977

cabanaboy1977

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,473 posts
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 01 February 2006 - 07:49 AM

I've noticed if you start watching a program that is already 40 min into its taping and you dont catch up to it by the end, it cuts you off and you have to start from the beginning of the show and fast forward to where you were at.

I read other complaints about the R15 saying it needs to change channels 5 minutes before it records, but why should it need to do this if its already taping something on nbc and the next recording is also on nbc, shouldn't i be able to keep watching another channel while only one program is being recorded?


Don't have a fix for this either but I have noticed that If you start watching a program while it's taping and then try to use the skip back button after the recording has finished that it will skip to the end. And then you have to start the program again and FF thru it.

#6 OFFLINE   Bobman

Bobman

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,528 posts
Joined: Jan 03, 2006

Posted 01 February 2006 - 09:29 AM

The workaround is to not watch a show until its finished recording.:hurah: I am just kidding but its all I can think of to avoid these problems.

#7 OFFLINE   cabanaboy1977

cabanaboy1977

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,473 posts
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 01 February 2006 - 01:41 PM

Don't have a fix for this either but I have noticed that If you start watching a program while it's taping and then try to use the skip back button after the recording has finished that it will skip to the end. And then you have to start the program again and FF thru it.


I've even found that it will this even if it's still recording on that channel, it doesn't have to be the next show.
Example: set fox sundays simpons, famliy guy, american dad to record. If your watching simpsons after it has started recording then it starts recording family guy and you try to use the jumpback buttton it will jump to the end of simpons, so you go back in FF to and start watching it again, and then pause for a bit. Then start watching it again and then after it starts recording american dad hit the jumpback button and it will jump to the end of the simpons. It's annoying since the FF doesn't work right.

#8 OFFLINE   ISWIZ

ISWIZ

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 801 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2005

Posted 01 February 2006 - 03:06 PM

Curious if you could "bookmark" the show before answering the prompt and then get right back to the spot without FF? Never used BOOKMARK but that might be a workaround.
Dave

DTV HR22-100 (Primary)
DTV R16-300 (Secondary)

DTV R16-300
(Gathering dust in a closet)




spam firewall