Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Was able to order 622


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
47 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   BillJ

BillJ

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 830 posts
Joined: May 05, 2005

Posted 01 February 2006 - 07:17 AM

Spent 15 minutes on hold but was able to order 622 for $299. Upgrading from 6000 so April rebate wouldn't apply. Installation scheduled for Feb. 9 -- we'll see if they show up.

I don't have to return the 6000, just deactivate it. I asked for Dish 1000 because my legacy twin 500 will need switches and LNBs. CSR would only say I'd get new switches. My 61.5 dish only feeds one receiver now and I want it to feed my 301 as well. We have local sides on 61.5 and mirrored on 129 so they should do that for me if they don't give me Dish 1000.

Can't do anything about new HD channels and our Chicago HD locals until the 622 has been installed. Then I have to call back and order them.

I'm happy just so long as I get my ABC O&O feed of the Super Bowl on Sunday in MPEG2.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   lakebum431

lakebum431

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 615 posts
Joined: Jun 30, 2005

Posted 01 February 2006 - 07:39 AM

So what is your install date?

#3 OFFLINE   scooby2

scooby2

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 59 posts
Joined: Nov 29, 2005

Posted 01 February 2006 - 07:39 AM

Feb 17th here. Seems most people are getting install dates of Feb 17 - Feb 23. Definitely sounds delayed a bit.

#4 OFFLINE   cebbigh

cebbigh

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 517 posts
Joined: Feb 27, 2005

Posted 01 February 2006 - 07:46 AM

Called at 5:30am pst. Used options to get tech asst. Wait time less than 2 min. Very helpful advanced tech. Placed order with scheduled install 2/21 noon-5pm. 18 month commit. Went a lot smoother than I anticipated.
Chuck
TV: Mitsubishi 57" 1080p DLP (WD-Y577)
DTV: HR20-100 & HR21-700
BLU-RAY (Panasonic BD-35)
Netflix/Roku player

#5 OFFLINE   Hound

Hound

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 891 posts
Joined: Mar 20, 2005

Posted 01 February 2006 - 07:49 AM

Ordered mine this morning at 7:45AM. They gave me an install date of Feb. 25.
They said a tech had to install it. Paid my $299 by credit card.

#6 OFFLINE   dhaberer

dhaberer

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Feb 01, 2006

Posted 01 February 2006 - 07:51 AM

guess i should have called earlier. On hold now with a wait time "Greater than 15 minutes". Hopefully that doesn't mean it's more than an hour or so.

#7 OFFLINE   pajer

pajer

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 64 posts
Joined: Jan 09, 2004

Posted 01 February 2006 - 08:06 AM

got install date of feb 6th, funny thing is i just leased a 211 on jan 17th through the lease program and still this 622 was approved.

#8 OFFLINE   dhaberer

dhaberer

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Feb 01, 2006

Posted 01 February 2006 - 08:12 AM

Ok, not too bad. Wait actually was only around 15 minutes. Got mine ordered. PUt a $1 hold on my credit card which I'll get back in three days. Won't charge until they do the install. My install will be on the 21st of February. Not soon enough but ok with me since I'm headed on vacation next week.

Wasn't aware of the new HD programming packages. Upgraded my 120 with locals to the HDSilver with locals. Can't wait to finally put my plasma to use. Time to sell my 522 and OTA HD receiver now.

edit:
now that I think about it, I should drop my locals with Dish. I get them all OTA and now I can record them with the 622. Once everything works fine I should be able to do that. I'm also in an area where I get locals OTA from Austin and San Antonio, so I have failover in case one station goes down.

#9 OFFLINE   mwgiii

mwgiii

    Gaming Guru and Supporter

  • Gold Members
  • 799 posts
Joined: Jul 19, 2002

Posted 01 February 2006 - 08:44 AM

PUt a $1 hold on my credit card which I'll get back in three days. Won't charge until they do the install.


Wow, some people are reporting an immediate $299 charge to their credit card.



WHY ONLY 90 DAY WARRANTY?

#10 OFFLINE   dhaberer

dhaberer

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Feb 01, 2006

Posted 01 February 2006 - 08:51 AM

i was told a 90-day warrantee on the install. I'm not sure if that includes the equipment or not. But they did specifically say "on the install", whatever that means.

#11 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 40,093 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 01 February 2006 - 09:19 AM

Leased receivers don't really need a warranty since the owner is responsible for replacement. :D

#12 OFFLINE   jgui

jgui

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Dec 06, 2003

Posted 01 February 2006 - 09:23 AM

Scheduled for install on the 22nd. :-) CSR says that Dish will ship the 622 to my house and that is why the install is scheduled for 3 weeks from now. If I get it sooner, i should call back and reschedule the install. Finally took the plunge - passed on the 921 and 942 - can't wait to unload the 6000.

CSR says they are charging my credit card today. I guess because they are shipping the unit today??

Also, installer is supposed to upgrade my sw64 and legacy LNBs.

#13 OFFLINE   sbuko

sbuko

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 119 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2006

Posted 01 February 2006 - 09:50 AM

now that I think about it, I should drop my locals with Dish. I get them all OTA and now I can record them with the 622. Once everything works fine I should be able to do that. I'm also in an area where I get locals OTA from Austin and San Antonio, so I have failover in case one station goes down.


If you drop your locals, the OTA local information would NOT be in your EPG. Also you won't be able to record two locals at the same time and if you are running in Dual mode, TV2 won't have access to live OTA locals.

#14 OFFLINE   mikehaj

mikehaj

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Dec 14, 2005

Posted 01 February 2006 - 09:50 AM

I went with the Bronze package for $54.99 + $6.00 lease fee. Supposedly this will be the total cost as long as I have it hooked up to my phone line--I forgot to ask about local HDs, the site says this is an additional $5.99.

The CSR wanted to charge an additional $6.00 'HD enabling fee' but after 5 mins of research realized that this was not necessary if one of the HD packages are ordered.

I already have a Dish-1000 and was hoping to just have them ship the 622 and do the 'install' myself--reducing the wait for an install appointment. But I'm replacing an 811 and 510 so they need an installer to come out and setup the dual tuner.

Install date of 2/25 in Southern California.

#15 OFFLINE   Antknee

Antknee

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 136 posts
Joined: Oct 13, 2005

Posted 01 February 2006 - 09:59 AM

I went with the Bronze package for $54.99 + $6.00 .

Isn't the bronze package $49.99?

#16 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 40,093 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 01 February 2006 - 10:04 AM

+$5 for locals

#17 OFFLINE   Neilh

Neilh

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 46 posts
Joined: Nov 22, 2005

Posted 01 February 2006 - 10:23 AM

Ordered my 622 this AM, 299.99 charged to my card, plus 6.00 per month for lease plus 5.98 month for DVR service at time of activation. Set for 2/25 install

#18 OFFLINE   Orcatek

Orcatek

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 159 posts
Joined: May 01, 2003

Posted 01 February 2006 - 10:26 AM

Got mine just a few minutes ago. Total time from dial to complete about 15 minutes. install on the 12th.
Orcatek

#19 OFFLINE   Neilh

Neilh

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 46 posts
Joined: Nov 22, 2005

Posted 01 February 2006 - 10:30 AM

Is everybody paying the lease and dvr fees????

#20 OFFLINE   Rogueone

Rogueone

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,133 posts
Joined: Jan 29, 2004

Posted 01 February 2006 - 10:33 AM

now that I think about it, I should drop my locals with Dish. I get them all OTA and now I can record them with the 622. Once everything works fine I should be able to do that. I'm also in an area where I get locals OTA from Austin and San Antonio, so I have failover in case one station goes down.


Speaking from experiece, you'll want to keep locals.
1) OTA do break at times. What will you do if you local station's transmitter craps out during your fav show? or during the big game? it happens.
2) OTA is only good for 1 record, so say you like 3 shows on at the same time (I currently have this happening on Wed at 9pm with Criminal Minds, Lost and Bones). With only OTA, you have NO option to catch the other network shows, not will you have locals on another set
3) no epg as stated previously.

it's not worth $5 in savings unless you watch almost no TV, but if that is the case, why are you buying HD? There are a lot of scenarios I could paint for ya, where you'd miss out on what you could do by not having locals :) Personally I can't wait to have locals so I can record 3 HD network shows at once :)
Regards,

RogueOne
Dish VIP622, 4/4/06; ex 921 owner, 2/04 to 3/06
Dish 501 (soon to upgrade to 722) :D
HD OTA (Washington DC): WRC-DT 1&2, WTTG-DT, WJLA-DT 1&2, WUSA-DT 1&2, WETA-DT 1-4, WBDC-DT 1&2, MHz 1-4, ION 1-7, WDCA-DT, and others i don't care about




Protected By... spam firewall...And...