Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Input signal splitter & multiswitch


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
6 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   DTV_client

DTV_client

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2006

Posted 09 February 2006 - 02:05 PM

I'm new here. Could someone help me out with this question ?
I currently have a 18" Dual LNB with 2x4 (or 3x4 including antenna feed). I used up all 4 outputs with 2 IRDs and 1 Tivo. I would like to add another IRD and a friend of mine gave me an old 2x4 switch. I know I can't split the output feed to the IRD. The question is :
Can I use a sat splitter and split the input feed from the dual LNB to feed to BOTH 2x4 multiswitches, since 2x4 locks odd and even on its 2 inputs. This is NOT cascading, because both 2x4 multiswitches would receive the same splitted signal simutaneously.
Thanks.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   DTV_client

DTV_client

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2006

Posted 09 February 2006 - 02:07 PM

If I can, should I use a Sat splitter that passes power on both legs ? Would someone receommend a good one ? Thanks.

#3 OFFLINE   yogi

yogi

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 124 posts
Joined: Feb 08, 2006

Posted 09 February 2006 - 02:27 PM

You can split the signal with a high freq. splitter. B/T LPD 2P power passive 2-way
5-2500 MHz.

#4 OFFLINE   Mavrick

Mavrick

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,020 posts
Joined: Feb 01, 2006

Posted 09 February 2006 - 02:34 PM

I have also seen where people have successfully ran 2 lines from the existing multiswitch to the new multiswitch and then had enough connections for a total of 6 receivers or 3 DVR's. Do not know if this works though for I have never tried it I have just seen where supposdly other have successfully done this.

#5 OFFLINE   boba

boba

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,580 posts
Joined: May 23, 2003

Posted 09 February 2006 - 03:00 PM

I have also seen where people have successfully ran 2 lines from the existing multiswitch to the new multiswitch and then had enough connections for a total of 6 receivers or 3 DVR's. Do not know if this works though for I have never tried it I have just seen where supposdly other have successfully done this.

Yes it does work.:)

#6 OFFLINE   DTV_client

DTV_client

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2006

Posted 09 February 2006 - 03:04 PM

Thanks for the answer, Yogi, Mavrick and Boba. After the split, would signal loss be significant that warrants the use of an amplifier ?

#7 OFFLINE   Mavrick

Mavrick

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,020 posts
Joined: Feb 01, 2006

Posted 09 February 2006 - 03:12 PM

Doubtful for I now have a 6 x 8 multiswitch and signal strengths are the same as they were on my old 3 x 4 multiswitch so I cannot see where going though 2 switchs would degrade the signal that much.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...