Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Checking transponders?


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
8 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   matty8199

matty8199

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 730 posts
Joined: Dec 04, 2005

Posted 10 February 2006 - 10:32 AM

If I'm watching a channel, how can I check to see what satellite and transponder it's on?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 10 February 2006 - 02:10 PM

Walk over to your computer and look it up

;)

I dont know of any D* receivers that will tell you the transponder a particular channel is on...

Herers one for 101, where most SD programming is located..

http://www.dbsforums.../dbs/DTV101.htm

I'm sure if you are interested in other sats tehy are available in a similar fashion

#3 OFFLINE   Wolffpack

Wolffpack

    Banned User

  • Banned User
  • 4,642 posts
Joined: Jul 29, 2003

Posted 10 February 2006 - 02:38 PM

On a DTivo with TivoWebPlus running you can see all channels and their associated SATs & transponders under Channel Prefs --> All.

Locals I can't really make out but for the rest it shows thst CNN is on 101 transponder 10. CourtTV is on 101 Transponder 9.

Looks like the list CC's posted link may be out of date if the info I can see is correct. That link shows ESPN News and ESPN Classic is on 101-5 and TWP shows:

ESPN News:
Receive= Yes
Favorite= No
SignalType= 6 (DirecTV)
NetworkID= Sat A (101)
Transponder= 6
NumStreams= 2
ServiceType= 64 (DirecTvDigitalTv)
Spi= 1 (Gtv)
StreamType= 2 (StandardVideo)

and

ESPN Classic:
Receive= Yes
Favorite= No
SignalType= 6 (DirecTV)
NetworkID= Sat A (101)
Transponder= 6
NumStreams= 2
ServiceType= 64 (DirecTvDigitalTv)
Spi= 1 (Gtv)
StreamType= 2 (StandardVideo)

But I'm not aware of any way to tell that from the screen.

#4 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 10 February 2006 - 04:09 PM

Is TivoWebPlus a mod and not something found on a standard out of the box unit?

#5 OFFLINE   Wolffpack

Wolffpack

    Banned User

  • Banned User
  • 4,642 posts
Joined: Jul 29, 2003

Posted 10 February 2006 - 04:22 PM

Yep, it's one of the addons.

I don't understand that since all of this info is on the units why there are not up to date lists published by DTV from time to time.

#6 OFFLINE   jimisham

jimisham

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 243 posts
Joined: Jun 24, 2003

Posted 10 February 2006 - 05:35 PM

Here's one that show what satellite and transponder the national channels are on. http://www.widemovie...ansponders.html
Sorry if I don't understand the question and answers, but
with my HR10-250, I can do this. Go to the channel, then 'Directv Central', 'Messages and Setup', 'Settings', 'Satellite and Off Air Antenna', ''Test Satellite Signal Strength', 'OK, Test Signal Strength Now'. Up comes the Satellite , Transponder (that the channel is on) and Signal Strength. I believe my Sony SAT 60 could do the same thing.

#7 OFFLINE   kay

kay

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 83 posts
Joined: Nov 27, 2005

Posted 10 February 2006 - 10:57 PM

depends a lot on your box, but i'm sure all have the option

#8 OFFLINE   Greg Bimson

Greg Bimson

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,918 posts
Joined: May 05, 2003

Posted 12 February 2006 - 12:07 AM

If you have a normal DirecTV DVR with TiVo, all you need to do is get your signal strength meter. You tune to the channel you wish to check, and then get a signal meter. Whatever transponder shows up during the test is the transponder the channel is on.

#9 OFFLINE   Greg Bimson

Greg Bimson

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,918 posts
Joined: May 05, 2003

Posted 12 February 2006 - 12:22 AM

matty, I seem to remember that you are from Scranton/Wilkes-Barre. All you need to do is tune to each local channel, then get a signal strength. I believe that your local channels are coming from the 119 satellite, transponder 23. And that is the transponder that should show up on the test screen if you are on your local channels.

You'll also need to tell us which receiver you have.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...