Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

DVR Compression?


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
3 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Virus

Virus

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 144 posts
Joined: Sep 22, 2005

Posted 15 February 2006 - 03:44 PM

Sorry, I'm an almost newbie to Dish. My DirecTV HD Tivo records and plays full uncompressed (even though the original signal is compressed HD-Lite) Will my 622 compress my HD content or will it record the same way as my HD Tivo?

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   Rob Glasser

Rob Glasser

    Hall Of Fame

  • Super Moderators
  • 3,053 posts
Joined: Feb 22, 2005

Posted 15 February 2006 - 04:31 PM

My understanding is that there is no additional compression/uncompression of the stream onto your hard drive. It's stored on your hard drive exactly like you receive it from Dish or your OTA antenna. The quality of show live/delayed/recorded is all the same. This is why the numbers they provide are listed as "Up to XX hours" because each show can be a bit different.

It's not like an analog Tivo where you can set different levels of compression.
Rob

DISH Hopper, Hopper w/Sling, & Joey User

#3 OFFLINE   Ron Barry

Ron Barry

    622 Tips & Trick Keeper

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,879 posts
Joined: Dec 10, 2002

Posted 15 February 2006 - 04:45 PM

Analog Tivos have built in MPEG2 encoders in them to do the compression. Dish DVRs do not have an MPEG2 encoder only MPEG2 Decoder. Ooops wondering into the woods....

Ok.. MPEG2 streams is a compressed format. The transport mechanism is alos a compression point as I understand it. However the stream as I understand it is not further compressed at the drive level. It is layed down exactly as it is received. This is way all Dish receivers work from my understanding so I don't expect the 622 to work differently. Given the storage estimates given I think that confirms this theory.
<strong class='bbc'>New Member of the 9K club & 922/612 User<br /></strong><span style='font-size: 8px;'>"A release is not a release until it is released." - Me. <br />"To the true believer, no proof is necessary. To the non believer, no proof is sufficient." - Peter James (Derived from a Stewert Chase Quote)</span>

#4 OFFLINE   Virus

Virus

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 144 posts
Joined: Sep 22, 2005

Posted 15 February 2006 - 05:42 PM

Thanks for the clarification and pointing out the distinction in both.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...