Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

942 vs. 622


  • Please log in to reply
34 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   deputyjim

deputyjim

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2003

Posted 19 February 2006 - 05:03 PM

Greetings All,

I have a 942, which I've been enjoying since it first came out last year. Other than wishing the HD was bigger and that funny green/red striping problem, the unit is OK.

I recently read E* compressed some of the HD channels (in MPEG2 format) to presumably make way for more (HD) channels. MPEG4 is reported to be on the way. The 622 is MPEG4.

My question is, how compelling is the 622? I'm typically an early adopter, but I haven't had the 942 that long. What is E*'s schedule for hopping on MPEG4? It seems to me there isn't a compelling reason yet for the 622 because of the lack of MPEG4 programming.

Have I made an accurate assessment, or am I missing something? Why would I want a 622?

Thanks in advance.

Jim

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   sbuko

sbuko

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 119 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2006

Posted 19 February 2006 - 05:06 PM

You would want a 622 for the new HD channels. ESPN2, etc. You will also need a new receiver to get your HD locals.

#3 OFFLINE   deputyjim

deputyjim

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2003

Posted 19 February 2006 - 05:13 PM

You would want a 622 for the new HD channels. ESPN2, etc. You will also need a new receiver to get your HD locals.


Thnx for the reply. I get locals OTA. My rooftop looks like a government agency, with one Dish1000, one Dish500, and a "flat panel" OTA antenna!

Cheers!

Jim

#4 OFFLINE   geodi

geodi

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 25 posts
Joined: Aug 08, 2004

Posted 19 February 2006 - 05:44 PM

At this time, I don't see a compelling reason to get a 622. I'm happy with my less than 1-year old 942. I can pull in Washington and Baltimore OTA HD local stations just fine and the new HD Echostar content isn't enough for me to upgrade (my 501, because I'd keep using the 942). Maybe a better upgrade deal might arise if I wait (fingers crossed).

#5 OFFLINE   Jerry G

Jerry G

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 812 posts
Joined: Jul 12, 2003

Posted 19 February 2006 - 07:50 PM

Ever try to record two OTA HD channels at once? You can't. Unfortunately, the Dish DVRs only have one OTA tuner. Having the local HD channels via sat and OTA is one way to get around this. Record one local HD via OTA and another via sat simultaneously.

#6 OFFLINE   sbuko

sbuko

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 119 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2006

Posted 19 February 2006 - 08:53 PM

That's my motivation. I have a 942 now and watch OTA HD all the time. We have run into a couple situations where we wanted to record 2 locals stations at the same time. Can't do it unless one of them is SD.

It will be nice to record 2 local HD stations at the same time on the 622. Heck, we could even record 1 OTA HD local and 2 SAT HD local channels at the same time with the 622.

#7 OFFLINE   dturturro

dturturro

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 95 posts
Joined: Nov 24, 2004

Posted 20 February 2006 - 10:03 AM

The key to this decision is any new HD channels will be broadcast in MPEG4. That's ESPN2, Iniversal HD & 5 more VOOMs right now. If Starz HD or any other channels are signed up they'll also be broadcast in MPEG4.

#8 OFFLINE   JimD

JimD

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 149 posts
Joined: Apr 08, 2005

Posted 21 February 2006 - 01:21 PM

Universal HD is MPEG-2. Are you saying this will change at some point (after the olympics)?

#9 OFFLINE   zephyr

zephyr

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 183 posts
Joined: Jun 25, 2005

Posted 21 February 2006 - 03:37 PM

Universal HD is MPEG-2. Are you saying this will change at some point (after the olympics)?

That was stated as fact somewhere in these forums.

#10 OFFLINE   Mike Johnson

Mike Johnson

    ViP622/ViP722 Guy

  • Gold Members
  • 628 posts
Joined: Jan 16, 2005

Posted 21 February 2006 - 09:55 PM

Welcome, deputyjim! :welcome_s:

Good question and a good assessment by you and the other posters. Yours is a question I'm sure many are asking. I'm usually a early adopter as well. I purchased one of the first 942s, and since I'm a Moderator here, I felt I should do the same with the 622. Was it worth it?

So far there is only one feature the 622 has that you might need. MPEG-4. If you want the new MPEG-4 channels, there is no question, you must have a 622, but if you are happy with the programming you have now, you might want to wait. There really aren't any new and compelling features on the 622. It does seem to be a bit faster than the 942 and the extra hard disk space is nice, but I really miss my OTA channels in analog. (The 622 does not have a analog OTA tuner like the 942 has.) I don't use Dish-on-Demand, so I don't care about that. There are some minor additions to the I/O of the 622, like a S-Video port, but nothing that I wasn't able to do without on the 942. I'm also very curious of the future use of the ethernet port.

The only other thing to consider is the possible value of the 942 if you intend to sell it. Dish has already said that the 942 cannot be activated on any new account, and can't be activated as the only HD receiver on an existing account. I'm guessing that the value of the 942 will drop rather rapidly after more MPEG-4 channels are added. The real question is when will that happen.
ViP722 DVR: L612RJKD-N / 1415RJKD - Single User Mode
ViP622 DVR: L612RBDD-N / 1710RBDD - Dual User Mode
SATS: 61.5/110/119/129 all DishPro Plus with DPP44
TV: Sony KD-34XBR960 CRT HDTV
Dish Network Customer since April 1998

#11 OFFLINE   bcnvc

bcnvc

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 34 posts
Joined: Sep 09, 2005

Posted 23 February 2006 - 07:42 AM

Does the 622 have the ability to move screen centering it better like the 921?
Thanks
Bill
942 DVR,42 Plasma HD Viore,Sony STR-D1011,Sony CPD-CX230,RCA DVD,Quasar VHS,Fisher XP 7, Bose & DCM Speakers, Dual 1219 that still works

#12 OFFLINE   SKER6

SKER6

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 8 posts
Joined: Jan 12, 2006

Posted 23 February 2006 - 09:12 AM

I've seen all the deals offered for the leased 622.

Can it be purchased? If so, for how much?

I'm not too happy that I'll have to give up my 942 that I own. I've only had it for 2 months. I paid full retail for it. So, I have to pay another $99 AND they get my machine, and I don't even own the new one? That seems like a raw deal. They should allow someone who owns their 942 to trade-in the 942 for a 622 for the $99....or at least people who bought a 942 in the last month or two. And they should allow people who own their 942 to keep it, and pay the $299 lease deal for the 622. This would be much more fair.

sker6

Welcome, deputyjim! :welcome_s:

Good question and a good assessment by you and the other posters. Yours is a question I'm sure many are asking. I'm usually a early adopter as well. I purchased one of the first 942s, and since I'm a Moderator here, I felt I should do the same with the 622. Was it worth it?

So far there is only one feature the 622 has that you might need. MPEG-4. If you want the new MPEG-4 channels, there is no question, you must have a 622, but if you are happy with the programming you have now, you might want to wait. There really aren't any new and compelling features on the 622. It does seem to be a bit faster than the 942 and the extra hard disk space is nice, but I really miss my OTA channels in analog. (The 622 does not have a analog OTA tuner like the 942 has.) I don't use Dish-on-Demand, so I don't care about that. There are some minor additions to the I/O of the 622, like a S-Video port, but nothing that I wasn't able to do without on the 942. I'm also very curious of the future use of the ethernet port.

The only other thing to consider is the possible value of the 942 if you intend to sell it. Dish has already said that the 942 cannot be activated on any new account, and can't be activated as the only HD receiver on an existing account. I'm guessing that the value of the 942 will drop rather rapidly after more MPEG-4 channels are added. The real question is when will that happen.



#13 OFFLINE   LtMunst

LtMunst

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,261 posts
Joined: Aug 24, 2005

Posted 23 February 2006 - 09:30 AM

...And they should allow people who own their 942 to keep it, and pay the $299 lease deal for the 622. This would be much more fair.
sker6


This deal is already available.

#14 OFFLINE   navychop

navychop

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 193 posts
Joined: Jul 13, 2005

Posted 23 February 2006 - 11:01 AM

You don't have to give up any owned receiver. You can get the ViP622 under a lease deal for $299 up front plus monthly fees, and KEEP your 942- or any other receiver. If you want the $99 deal after 4/1/06, then you give up either a 921 or 942. I'd certainly keep the 942 and fork over the $299.99.

#15 OFFLINE   ken310

ken310

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 109 posts
Joined: Feb 24, 2006

Posted 24 February 2006 - 08:23 PM

You don't have to give up any owned receiver. You can get the ViP622 under a lease deal for $299 up front plus monthly fees, and KEEP your 942- or any other receiver. If you want the $99 deal after 4/1/06, then you give up either a 921 or 942. I'd certainly keep the 942 and fork over the $299.99.



Why? What good is a 942 if it can't be activated by a second party?

#16 OFFLINE   brettbolt

brettbolt

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 215 posts
Joined: Feb 22, 2006

Posted 25 February 2006 - 02:52 AM

Why? What good is a 942 if it can't be activated by a second party?

942s are currently selling for about $400 plus shipping on eBay. Even though they won't work with the new MPEG4 HD channels, OTA HD will continue to work. Plus, its still a 2 tuner SD DVR with lots of storage.

But I agree that the anticipated $200 Dish 942 buy back is a bad deal for customers. Yesterday I signed up for the $299 lease deal, and I don't have to send in my old 501. I was pleasantly surprised to hear that the install date is less than 3 weeks away (March 15th). But I was not so happy will all the added fees.

Are you saying that Dish will refuse new 942 activation requests for SD channels?

#17 OFFLINE   ken310

ken310

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 109 posts
Joined: Feb 24, 2006

Posted 25 February 2006 - 08:48 AM

That's what Mike above says but ??????

"The only other thing to consider is the possible value of the 942 if you intend to sell it. Dish has already said that the 942 cannot be activated on any new account, and can't be activated as the only HD receiver on an existing account."

#18 OFFLINE   auburn2

auburn2

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 65 posts
Joined: Sep 08, 2005

Posted 25 February 2006 - 09:31 AM

I didn't notice it listed on the available A/V outputs for TV2. I only saw 1 set of RCA outputs listed. Does this mean I will no longer be able to pipe the TV2 singal through my house on the existing single line RG6.

I hope I don't have to add 2 more coax lines to every room to run a 3 wire input to all my TVs.

Also does the new TV1 S-Video work at 480i when you switch the TV1 format to 720p or 1080i? If not will it shut off when you do this or carry a Hi-def format (which no TV will be able to decode on S-Video).

In theory S-Video is not compatible with anything other than 480i.

#19 OFFLINE   dturturro

dturturro

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 95 posts
Joined: Nov 24, 2004

Posted 25 February 2006 - 09:33 AM

That's what Mike above says but ??????

"The only other thing to consider is the possible value of the 942 if you intend to sell it. Dish has already said that the 942 cannot be activated on any new account, and can't be activated as the only HD receiver on an existing account."


Where did they say that?

#20 OFFLINE   ken310

ken310

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 109 posts
Joined: Feb 24, 2006

Posted 25 February 2006 - 09:38 AM

9 or 10 posts up. "Mike Johnsons"




spam firewall