Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Mutliswitch


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
3 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   squirrelchaser

squirrelchaser

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Feb 20, 2006

Posted 20 February 2006 - 12:57 PM

Long time watcher, first time poster. Just bought a home (NY)and I'm looking to do some type of home integration with all my wiring running to a central panel. I cuurently have the oval 3 LNB dish with one coax line going to each of 4 seperate rooms. I'm looking to run multiple lines to each room(not sure where the Tivo's are going yet)

1. 2 lines to each of the 4 bedrooms= 8 total
2. 2 lines to the family room and living room= 4 total
3. I'd also like to have D* out by the pool area but I think I might do that by some sort wireless connection.

I'll eventually be upgrading to the AT9 dish which from my understanding is only compatible with the Zinwell multiswitch. I've only been able to find a 6*8 switch from Zinwell. Seeing as how I'm going to need at least 12 lines, can I use 2 Zinwells to accomplish this? Also, is the Zinwell compatible with my current 3 LNB dish? Looking to do the wiring work before the AT9 install. TIA

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   boba

boba

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,580 posts
Joined: May 23, 2003

Posted 20 February 2006 - 03:06 PM

Run all your wires to one point at least you will be prepared. The 6X8 is too new for a lot of experience, but other switches have been cascadable so hopefully the 6X8 will be.

#3 OFFLINE   Earl Bonovich

Earl Bonovich

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Registered
  • 30,092 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 20 February 2006 - 03:16 PM

Yes, the Zinwell WB 6x8 multiswitch is compatible with your 3LNB.
Yes, they are cascadable.. but they are passive, so you need to make sure that they get enough power from your boxes (aka... avoid long runs)
Earl - Gotta Love Karma

DIRECTV employee since April 2008.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#4 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 11,006 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 20 February 2006 - 06:42 PM

If you are running new coax, consider RG6 with solid copper center. That is what DirecTV is specifying for the AT9 dish and MEPG4 signals.

You will need at least 4 runs from the dish to your central location. I would recommend at least 5, if not 6. Better yet, put in a conduit that you can pull coax through. That makes future upgrades easy.

You can't diplex over the air with the AT9 dish and WB68 multiswtich. If you think you will want OTA in addition at any location, then run a third RG6 to those locations.

Also recommended would be a regular phone jack, and a data Cat5e or Cat6 line to each location.

Also, you don't need to connect every line to every bedroom or other location to a multiswitch, only those that will be live at any given time. That's the beauty of running everything to a central point - you cross connect what is needed when it is needed. That way, you may not need 12 outputs, and can use just a single multiswitch.

Carl




Protected By... spam firewall...And...