Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

OTA before Activation?


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
3 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   David-A

David-A

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 52 posts
Joined: Feb 21, 2006

Posted 21 February 2006 - 05:43 PM

I just received the ViP622 yesterday but my installation is not scheduled until Saturday. I'm switching over from D* and have don't have an sat antenna, etc. I plugged the 622 in, connected up the OTA antenna, a phone line, and the video projector. I was hoping I could at least receive and record OTA (as one can do with the D* HD-Tivo, for example, even if the sat dish isn't connected). However, the OTA option is grayed out in the installation menu. Is it possible to receive OTA on the 622 without connecting up to E*? If so, how?

Thanks!

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   pdxsam

pdxsam

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 351 posts
Joined: Jun 19, 2004

Posted 21 February 2006 - 07:45 PM

I just received the ViP622 yesterday but my installation is not scheduled until Saturday. I'm switching over from D* and have don't have an sat antenna, etc. I plugged the 622 in, connected up the OTA antenna, a phone line, and the video projector. I was hoping I could at least receive and record OTA (as one can do with the D* HD-Tivo, for example, even if the sat dish isn't connected). However, the OTA option is grayed out in the installation menu. Is it possible to receive OTA on the 622 without connecting up to E*? If so, how?

Thanks!



No sir it is not. Until the unit is activated it doesn't even think it's an HD receiver.

If you go to the system info page you'll see it says VIP622 - SD.


Once you agree to the HD programming and they send a hit you'll see that change to HD and your OTA will be available.

You can still prescan for the channels in your area however they will not be viewable.


Cheers,
Sam

#3 OFFLINE   David-A

David-A

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 52 posts
Joined: Feb 21, 2006

Posted 22 February 2006 - 11:46 AM

Thanks Sam. I was afraid of that. I wonder if that means that if I later deactivate Dish service I'll loose OTA capability, turning the ViP622 into an expensive door stop?

#4 OFFLINE   pdxsam

pdxsam

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 351 posts
Joined: Jun 19, 2004

Posted 22 February 2006 - 11:55 AM

Thanks Sam. I was afraid of that. I wonder if that means that if I later deactivate Dish service I'll loose OTA capability, turning the ViP622 into an expensive door stop?



I believe it will revert to doorstop status.

Sam




spam firewall