Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

The Basics


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
4 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Grant1120

Grant1120

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Mar 03, 2006

Posted 03 March 2006 - 10:22 AM

I just purchased a Philips Flat Screen 37PF7320A/37

Last year I had a failure of the LNB on my 10 yr old DirecTV dish so I replaced it and upgraded to a 3 LNB digital dish with 2 digital STB's.

Okay, so now I have the HDTV and want to upgrade to HD source material.

I have both basic cable (analog) and the D* source material in the house but neither is HD. What I need to do is get HD source material to make some decisions about the TV and then decide which provider I should use long term for my HD source.

I mistakenly thought (true rookie) that the Digital satellite system would process the HD source material. I call D* to turn on the HD and they tell me I need the HD STB and will gladly provide it for $99 bucks with a 2 yr contract. I currently own all my own equipment and don't want a contract.

So here is my question - Do I need both an HD dish and an HD STB or can I just purchase a new STB to make this work???

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   dsanbo

dsanbo

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 181 posts
Joined: Nov 25, 2005

Posted 03 March 2006 - 01:08 PM

Grant1120.....
You will ultimately want (need) the 5LNB dish to receive the HD locals when they become available in your area.....Plus, new channels (in MPEG-4) will be added as time goes on, and these will no doubt require the use of the 5LNB dish.
IIRC, D* is now using AT-9 dishes exclusively on ALL new installs, regardless of geographic location or desire of the customer to view HD programming....so that aspect may be moot as we "speak"......As for an HD STB...absolutely...you DO need this - one designed for MPEG-4 reception if you want to view the newest-added HD channels, including your LILs...

#3 OFFLINE   Grant1120

Grant1120

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Mar 03, 2006

Posted 03 March 2006 - 02:53 PM

dsanbo, thanks for the info:

Will the current 3 LNB dish receive HD signal if I borrow a HD-STB?

I don't even know at this point whether I want DTV as my long term HD source, I just want to evaluate this new TV.

During the initial channel scan (w/o an OTA antenna) with Cable and digital Satellite hooked up the TV found OTA programs. The signal strength is obviously very poor and the pictures break up pretty bad. It seems my best solution may be an internal OTA. Will that allow a reasonable evaluation of the new HDTV?

Also if all of the local channels are OTA, the costs to upgrade for a couple of channels today just doens't seem to make sense. Am I missing something?

#4 OFFLINE   msmith

msmith

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 808 posts
Joined: Apr 23, 2002

Posted 03 March 2006 - 03:49 PM

You can use the existing 3LNB dish to receive MPEG-2 HD material. That's what DirecTV has been carrying all along.

To get MPEG-4 material (for now - just local HD stations from satellite) you need the 5LNB and the H20 receiver.

If you're just evaluating your TV, using any HD receiver with OTA capability and an antenna will get you the best signal in most cases. Just point at your local PBS station - they seem to have the best HD "shock the eyes" material.

#5 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 18,734 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 03 March 2006 - 04:09 PM

I don't even know at this point whether I want DTV as my long term HD source, I just want to evaluate this new TV.

Unless you are missing a major network in OTA HD, D* is probably the least attractive HD alternative at this time. They also strike out with not wanting to offer you a receiver for purchase*.

Will that allow a reasonable evaluation of the new HDTV?

A modest OTA antenna or is your best source for high definition material. Most other delivery mechanisms involve some sort of technology that compromises the signal.

Also if all of the local channels are OTA, the costs to upgrade for a couple of channels today just doens't seem to make sense. Am I missing something?

That depends on whether you can indeed receive all of your HD locals. Poor reception on an HD channel is very distracting.

The next step is deciding whether or not you want access to other programming in HD.

*due to the pace at which technology is advancing and prices are falling, I cannot recommend purchasing an STB.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...