Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

BUG REPORT L284MAJD-N : recording same program, same time, different channel fails (i


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

Poll: Have you observed this problem on your system? (3 member(s) have cast votes)

Have you observed this problem on your system?

  1. Yes (3 votes [100.00%])

    Percentage of vote: 100.00%

  2. No (0 votes [0.00%])

    Percentage of vote: 0.00%

Vote Guests cannot vote

#1 OFFLINE   mikeshlz

mikeshlz

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Mar 06, 2006

Posted 07 March 2006 - 12:16 AM

BUG REPORT L284MAJD-N : recording same program, same time, different channel fails (in L.A metro area)
Boot Strap Version 1110MAJD
Software Version L284MAJD-N
Severity: CRITICAL
Reported: forums only, no telephone support
TV: DVI connection to Sony 60XBR

I cannot record the same show, same time in Standard Definition and High Definition, it only picks the first selection and ignores the 2nd. Could be related to the others issues I am having.

I need to do this when I have OTA-HD reception issues, and I want the SD version of the program as a backup.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   kyoo

kyoo

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 88 posts
Joined: Apr 03, 2002

Posted 07 March 2006 - 12:16 PM

This, I believe, is as designed. You can manually override it in the Daily Schedule view by selecting the program that gets "skipped" and forcing it to record it. But this only works for that single instance.

I often set up both HD and SD versions to record, giving the HD versions a higher priority. But when two HD OTA channels need access to the single OTA tuner, then the lower HD timer priority loses out. The SD version of that timer then kicks in. It's fairly nice when it works out.

But this usage doesn't help you too much, since you're battling low signal on your OTA tuner. I recommend upgrading your antenna and placement.

#3 OFFLINE   mikeshlz

mikeshlz

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Mar 06, 2006

Posted 07 March 2006 - 05:20 PM

But this usage doesn't help you too much, since you're battling low signal on your OTA tuner. I recommend upgrading your antenna and placement.


I shouldn't have to climb up on my roof to install a UHF antenna for those channels! Dish has plainly announced local HDs, especially for LA area I'm in. When are they available, are they now and I just haven't found them, or is a feature waiting for roll out date?




Protected By... spam firewall...And...