Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Moving - Need Help


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
3 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   toade

toade

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Mar 11, 2006

Posted 11 March 2006 - 02:00 AM

Been a D* customer for a few years. I just bought a condo and I'm moving this weekend. The condo complex is prewired for Dish (6 dishes on roof, one per unit), with four lines running into my condo from my unit's dish.

The problem is, I dont want dish, i want DirecTV. I have a couple DVRs, one being the HDTV DVR, and i'd perfer to stick with them rather than having to buy all new Dish hardware.

So, assuming my HOA is okay with me changing to D*, how difficult is it to setup? Is it simply a matter of pointing the E* dish at the D* sattelites. The dish that is on the roof is the 500... in order to get the D* HDTV channels and what not, would i have to put up the oval D* dish?

If i do have to put up the oval dish, is it as simple as just hooking the cables into the oval dish?

Thanks for the help.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 11 March 2006 - 02:36 AM

For current HD offerings from D*, you'll need to put up a phase III triple LNB dish, you cant use the E* dish.....the phase III has four outputs, so you can connect the four cables to the D* dish, and if you need more than 4 connections, put a multiswitch in the condo....

#3 OFFLINE   toade

toade

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Mar 11, 2006

Posted 11 March 2006 - 01:37 PM

Until I am able to get permission to put up a different dish, is it possible to use the current E* dish with my D* receivers? Will i get any programming, will I have to point it in a different direction?

I am in the Los Angeles area.

#4 OFFLINE   TigersFanJJ

TigersFanJJ

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,546 posts
Joined: Feb 17, 2006

Posted 12 March 2006 - 08:55 AM

Until I am able to get permission to put up a different dish, is it possible to use the current E* dish with my D* receivers?




As CCarncross stated earlier, no, you can't use the other dish.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...