Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

New directv.com


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
29 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   jamieh1

jamieh1

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,394 posts
Joined: May 01, 2003

Posted 13 March 2006 - 08:06 PM

New look to directv.com

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   moonman

moonman

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 798 posts
Joined: Oct 27, 2004

Posted 13 March 2006 - 08:23 PM

New look to directv.com

-----------------------
Ugly...........

#3 OFFLINE   myselfalso

myselfalso

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 385 posts
Joined: Jan 25, 2006

Posted 13 March 2006 - 08:27 PM

Seems like they're still working on it, to me.
I have been a DirecTV subscriber since 2005.

A few channels I'd still like to see DirecTV add are:
CSPAN3, the PAC-12 Network(s), BBC World and more international news channels.

#4 OFFLINE   moonman

moonman

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 798 posts
Joined: Oct 27, 2004

Posted 13 March 2006 - 08:31 PM

Another forum is saying it does'nt work with Firefox....can someone confirm?

#5 OFFLINE   n8dagr8

n8dagr8

    Resident Rounder

  • Gold Members
  • 1,837 posts
Joined: Aug 14, 2004

Posted 13 March 2006 - 08:46 PM

Another forum is saying it does'nt work with Firefox....can someone confirm?



works for me (v1.5.0.1)

looks a lot cleaner than the old site.
N8



"The heart has reasons that reason does not know. It is the heart that feels God and not reason." ~Pascal

"It is easy to take liberty for granted, when you have never had it taken from you." ~Dick Cheney

#6 OFFLINE   ansky

ansky

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,167 posts
Joined: Oct 11, 2005

Posted 13 March 2006 - 08:48 PM

Looks basically the same to me.

#7 OFFLINE   moonman

moonman

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 798 posts
Joined: Oct 27, 2004

Posted 13 March 2006 - 08:49 PM

works for me (v1.5.0.1)

looks a lot cleaner than the old site.

---------
Yeah that other forum say's now that Firefox works but is slooooo...thanks!

#8 OFFLINE   matty8199

matty8199

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 732 posts
Joined: Dec 04, 2005

Posted 13 March 2006 - 09:10 PM

Looks a hell of a lot nicer than the old one...

#9 OFFLINE   Wolffpack

Wolffpack

    Banned User

  • Banned User
  • 4,642 posts
Joined: Jul 29, 2003

Posted 13 March 2006 - 09:24 PM

First time I brought it up in FireFox it looked like crap. All down the left side of the screen. Did a refresh and it now looks like the MS Explorer version.

So...what's with the 4 blank boxes in the middle?

EDIT: Doesn't look like much has changed under the home page.

#10 OFFLINE   Malibu13

Malibu13

    Lifetime Achiever

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,341 posts
Joined: Sep 12, 2004

Posted 13 March 2006 - 09:33 PM

Firefox is working OK with me and doesn't seem to load any slower than previously. The 4 Advertisement boxes in the center seem to be a bit overpowering though.

#11 OFFLINE   moonman

moonman

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 798 posts
Joined: Oct 27, 2004

Posted 13 March 2006 - 09:46 PM

Firefox is working OK with me and doesn't seem to load any slower than previously. The 4 Advertisement boxes in the center seem to be a bit overpowering though.

-------------
I'm using I.E. ver 6.....no ads loading for me:) ...must be a pop-up thing?

#12 OFFLINE   Larry_Rymal

Larry_Rymal

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 86 posts
Joined: Jan 15, 2006

Posted 13 March 2006 - 10:15 PM

-------------
I'm using I.E. ver 6.....no ads loading for me:) ...must be a pop-up thing?

Not a pop up but a quad of DirecTV announcements. They are part of the main page, toward the bottom middle. The entire middle is highlights for content and events.

The page is loading smartly for me. Looks good, looks clean. No speed degradation here. Using a Macintosh with Firefox 1.5.0.1.

#13 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 11,169 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 13 March 2006 - 10:35 PM

I just read the entire service agreement that is posted on their new web page. It repeatedly talks about us OWNING our equipment, and nowhere in the entire document does the word "lease" appear.

Oh well... Updating web pages for vanity and not for functionality and accuracy.

Carl

#14 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 13 March 2006 - 11:33 PM

It'll get there....I dont care if its 2006 or not, a companie's website should not be treated as the be all end all authority on disemination of info for any company....remember the people that provide much of the info on the website to the web guys are clowns from: sales, marketing, maybe some from human resources.....if you work for a company, you cant get straight answers out of any of those departments if you actually walk in and talk to them....dont any of you work in corporate america, or at least remember what its like?

#15 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 11,169 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 14 March 2006 - 08:22 AM

...dont any of you work in corporate america, or at least remember what its like?


Hmmm. It is getting harder to remember. I'm working on it!:D

Carl
Retired

#16 OFFLINE   NVBlue

NVBlue

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 106 posts
Joined: Aug 03, 2005

Posted 14 March 2006 - 08:35 AM

Firefox works okay.

#17 OFFLINE   benn5325

benn5325

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 90 posts
Joined: Mar 16, 2004

Posted 14 March 2006 - 09:20 AM

Doesn't let you remove programming, just let's you add......

#18 OFFLINE   skaeight

skaeight

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 516 posts
Joined: Jan 15, 2004

Posted 14 March 2006 - 09:50 AM

Doesn't let you remove programming, just let's you add......


Can someone confirm this? Are you saying that it no longer allows you to remove a premium package online? Does it still allow you to change to a different premium package?

--edit-- is it possible you're within 30 days of adding a premium?

#19 OFFLINE   matty8199

matty8199

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 732 posts
Joined: Dec 04, 2005

Posted 14 March 2006 - 10:21 AM

I do like the new look, but they need to change it for all pages. For the sub-pages, they only changed the banner and left everything else as is...

#20 OFFLINE   Earl Bonovich

Earl Bonovich

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Registered
  • 30,092 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 14 March 2006 - 10:49 AM

Actually one of the reasons to change the website.... is for us.

There have been plenty of research studies...
If a copanies website stays in the same "format" for too long, the general customer think it is never updated.. ot it is boring, and why bother going there.

This is why you seem most major companies websites... go through overhalls once a year (or every other year).

Sites Like Google and Yahoo, do similar things by changing their core graphics everyonce and a while. Heck, at least half the year "GOOGLE" is usually different...
Earl - Gotta Love Karma

DIRECTV employee since April 2008.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV




Protected By... spam firewall...And...