Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

DSL and 622


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
7 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   yellowcanary73

yellowcanary73

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 45 posts
Joined: Mar 05, 2006

Posted 29 March 2006 - 07:12 PM

Has anybody noticed any problems when hooking up the phone line on the 622 when you have DSL.I used the filter but it seems to run a lot slower almost as slow as dail up.

Thanks

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   caseystone

caseystone

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 33 posts
Joined: Feb 20, 2006

Posted 29 March 2006 - 11:28 PM

Has anybody noticed any problems when hooking up the phone line on the 622 when you have DSL.I used the filter but it seems to run a lot slower almost as slow as dail up.

Thanks


Why would it be any faster than dial up?

(dial up is just what it's doing)

-Casey

#3 OFFLINE   caseystone

caseystone

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 33 posts
Joined: Feb 20, 2006

Posted 29 March 2006 - 11:29 PM

Are you saying it slows down your DSL connection when you use your computer?

It did not affect mine.

-Casey

#4 OFFLINE   Sukey

Sukey

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 18 posts
Joined: Feb 13, 2006

Posted 30 March 2006 - 06:29 AM

Do you have more than 5 items using filters. Phones, dish boxes etc. I read there is some kind of limitation that affects performance as you add more filters. Might be able to check that out.

#5 OFFLINE   LtMunst

LtMunst

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,261 posts
Joined: Aug 24, 2005

Posted 30 March 2006 - 07:34 AM

Do you have more than 5 items using filters. Phones, dish boxes etc. I read there is some kind of limitation that affects performance as you add more filters. Might be able to check that out.


Yeah, more than 5 filters can cause impedence issues on the line. There are special filters you can get when you need more than 5. As far as the 622, there is no way that it could effect the DSL itself.

#6 OFFLINE   Bill R

Bill R

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,498 posts
Joined: Dec 20, 2002

Posted 30 March 2006 - 09:12 AM

Do you have more than 5 items using filters. Phones, dish boxes etc. I read there is some kind of limitation that affects performance as you add more filters. Might be able to check that out.


If you have more that five devices that require filters you should be using a "whole house filter" (it is really a splitter/filter). It requires that you have a direct line running from the splitter/filter to the DSL modem. Everything else is on the filtered side of the device. In some areas, the DSL provider provides them at no charge (in lieu of individual filters). In other areas you must purchase one yourself.

I am using one and there is no degradation in speed on my DSL modem and I have three satellite receivers plugged into the phone line.
Bill R

#7 OFFLINE   yellowcanary73

yellowcanary73

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 45 posts
Joined: Mar 05, 2006

Posted 30 March 2006 - 09:36 AM

I have only two filters hooked up at this time one for my phone,one for the 622.

Thanks

#8 OFFLINE   voripteth

voripteth

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 216 posts
Joined: Oct 25, 2005

Posted 30 March 2006 - 09:38 AM

I have 3 filters hooked up and don't see any performance problems.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...