Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

OTA Reception


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
12 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   rkh

rkh

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 38 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2005

Posted 20 April 2006 - 06:24 AM

Does anyone know what reception level is needed to receive a stable OTA signal? I'm having difficulty holding an OTA channel in the mid 60's on the signal meter. My outboard digital tuner (Samsung) can hold the channel, but the 622 is having problems.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Ken Green

Ken Green

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,105 posts
Joined: Oct 06, 2005

Posted 20 April 2006 - 06:39 AM

under 70 is usually unstable.
ViP722 - ViP622² - ViP612 - ViP211 - 510
Slingbox SOLO
Dish 1000+ 110/118/119/129 - HD Locals/118w - DPP44²
EHDD - 750g/500g - Broadband via HomePlug
Sony 51" HDRPTV² - Dell 23" HD LCD - Sharp Aquos 17" HD LCD
OTA - Winegard HD9095P - 55 miles

#3 OFFLINE   ctshead

ctshead

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 11 posts
Joined: Jan 03, 2006

Posted 20 April 2006 - 07:22 AM

I have the same problem. My Tv's own ATSC tuner holds perfectly on a channel that the 622 has problems.

#4 OFFLINE   Jim5506

Jim5506

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,481 posts
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 20 April 2006 - 07:35 AM

I have two very weak OTA stations (<100watts, <5 miles away) and I loose lock if the signal strength drops below 55. 57,58 range it will lock and play.

#5 OFFLINE   boylehome

boylehome

    Hall Of Fame/Supporter

  • Registered
  • 2,143 posts
Joined: Jul 16, 2004

Posted 20 April 2006 - 07:36 AM

I have the same problem. My Tv's own ATSC tuner holds perfectly on a channel that the 622 has problems.

Just to add, I have 2 622's. Both have problems in locking on channels where as my 921's and TV ATSC tuner lock on an work perfectly. With the 622, if the signal is below 68, it will actually cause the yellow screen of death and a reset.

#6 OFFLINE   Jim5506

Jim5506

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,481 posts
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 20 April 2006 - 07:47 AM

I have a version A 622 and it has the best ATSC tuner of all the ones I have. It is better that both my Samsung SIR-T351 and my Accurian 6000. It locks signals anywhere above 55-56 range. Pulls in stations the other two will not.

#7 OFFLINE   Jason Kragt

Jason Kragt

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 187 posts
Joined: Dec 19, 2002

Posted 20 April 2006 - 07:52 AM

Locking in a signal depends on both strength and quality. I have one distant high-UHF station that will lock on with anything above about 58. I have another low-VHF station that still puts up yellow boxes at 80. The difference is electrical interference in the low-VHF band.

#8 OFFLINE   madbrain

madbrain

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 159 posts
Joined: Dec 10, 2004

Posted 20 April 2006 - 04:24 PM

I have a version A 622 and it has the best ATSC tuner of all the ones I have. It is better that both my Samsung SIR-T351 and my Accurian 6000. It locks signals anywhere above 55-56 range. Pulls in stations the other two will not.


Comparing the 622 and the 921, the 622 has a much better ATSC tuner implementation. The 921 had a multitude of OTA problems - dropping sound and picture on certain OTA subchannels - that were not signal related, since my Samsung SIR-T165 could pick them up.
DishPVR 921 - boot 140B, flash F052, SW L276HECD-N
DishDVR 622 - SW L356

#9 OFFLINE   nightfly85

nightfly85

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 49 posts
Joined: Oct 05, 2005

Posted 20 April 2006 - 05:21 PM

I have my 622 and my FusionHDTV 5 PCI card in my HTPC in the same room being fed from the same wineguard 1-4 splitter/amp.

As I move through the OTA channels on the 622 vs the fusionHDTV card, the 622 reports signal strengths weaker than the fusion card by no less than 10db often much more. There is no difference in the signal that both receivers get, even down to cable length. Clearly the fusion ATSC reciver is far superior to the 622. I can note that the 622 OTA is margainlly better than the 942 version.

In either case, signals below 57-58 drop out the channels and it becomes unwatchable. And one point of interest, although I haven't tried alot, with the signal strength differences, one would think that I could lock a channel easier with the fusion card than the 622, say when the signal is margainal on the 622, but this hasn't been the case.

#10 OFFLINE   LtMunst

LtMunst

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,261 posts
Joined: Aug 24, 2005

Posted 21 April 2006 - 08:31 AM

As I move through the OTA channels on the 622 vs the fusionHDTV card, the 622 reports signal strengths weaker than the fusion card by no less than 10db often much more. There is no difference in the signal that both receivers get, even down to cable length. Clearly the fusion ATSC reciver is far superior to the 622.



You cannot compare the sig strength meter readings between your 622 and Fusion Card. They do not use the same scales. Any comparison is meaningless. The 622s meter is a sig quality meter, not a simple db meter.

#11 OFFLINE   whatchel1

whatchel1

    Hall Of Fame

  • No PM's
  • 1,086 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2006

Posted 21 April 2006 - 06:48 PM

Locking in a signal depends on both strength and quality. I have one distant high-UHF station that will lock on with anything above about 58. I have another low-VHF station that still puts up yellow boxes at 80. The difference is electrical interference in the low-VHF band.

What are your refering to as electrical interference? In most cases the problems w/ ATSC is multipath not electrcal?

#12 OFFLINE   rkh

rkh

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 38 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2005

Posted 22 April 2006 - 02:30 PM

Raised my antenna about 3 feet yesterday, didn't help much with the channel I'm having issues with -- Fox 2 (58.1 digital) out of Detroit. I did see some improvement with some of the other Detroit stations (up to 5 points on whatever scale the 622 is displaying).

#13 OFFLINE   bshockley

bshockley

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Apr 21, 2006

Posted 22 April 2006 - 06:42 PM

I can't comment on the 622 yet, but I can comment on my ATSC experiences in general.

First ATSC tuner was a MyHD-100 card that I bought about 4 years ago. I in college (Lawrence, KS) and would pick up certain KC channels perfect, other's not at all with amplified indoor UHF/VHF antenna. Then with a small outdoor UHF only antenna, stuck on the roof of my apartment building pointing to Topeka KS, I'd get CBS (and hence final Four basketball :D ) Anyway, I always found overcast days gave me to best reception on the Topeka station, while just moving the bunny ears to random locations got me other stations.

Now I am using a Samsung STR-351 with just an indoor amplified UHF/VHF antenna in St. Louis (I'm actually in St. Charles, MO). Again, I have had to learn what spots around my TV pick up what stations. CBS, on the 2nd stair down behind the TV, ABC, right smack in the middle on top of the TV, fox, usually on a longer coax hanging off my curtain pole in front of the window. I have even learned to use Alum foil to help block out multipath. works fairly well.

I am really looking forward to local HD over satellite. :)




Protected By... spam firewall...And...