Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Upgrade to new MPEG-4 Receivers


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
5 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   grodri02

grodri02

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: May 23, 2006

Posted 23 May 2006 - 07:28 AM

Hi,

I currently have two dishes in my roof: One dish 500 (110 and 119) and one regular (61.5)...they are connected via a switch SW-21 to my dish 501.

Do I need dishpro LNB to connect to the new MPEG-4 receivers?

Or will this setup work on those mpeg-4 receivers.

Thanks

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   garys

garys

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,164 posts
Joined: Nov 04, 2005

Posted 23 May 2006 - 08:08 AM

If you are getting a single tuner receiver, your current setup will work. If you want a dual tuner you would either need a second sw-21 (assuming dual lnb on 61.5 with a twin on 110/119) or upgrade to DishProPlus (switch would be built into the twin).

#3 OFFLINE   grodri02

grodri02

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: May 23, 2006

Posted 23 May 2006 - 08:39 AM

If you are getting a single tuner receiver, your current setup will work. If you want a dual tuner you would either need a second sw-21 (assuming dual lnb on 61.5 with a twin on 110/119) or upgrade to DishProPlus (switch would be built into the twin).


Ok thanks

#4 OFFLINE   datbeme

datbeme

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 15 posts
Joined: May 17, 2006

Posted 25 May 2006 - 11:40 AM

If you are getting a single tuner receiver, your current setup will work. If you want a dual tuner you would either need a second sw-21 (assuming dual lnb on 61.5 with a twin on 110/119) or upgrade to DishProPlus (switch would be built into the twin).


By dual tuner, you mean like a VIP-622? I have the same set up as the above poster, can I switch out my 2 811 receivers with 2 of the new VIP single tuner receivers as well?

#5 OFFLINE   datbeme

datbeme

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 15 posts
Joined: May 17, 2006

Posted 25 May 2006 - 12:19 PM

Ok thanks



...and would that include the HD locals if available?

#6 OFFLINE   garys

garys

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,164 posts
Joined: Nov 04, 2005

Posted 25 May 2006 - 12:33 PM

By dual tuner, you mean like a VIP-622? I have the same set up as the above poster, can I switch out my 2 811 receivers with 2 of the new VIP single tuner receivers as well?


yep, and only if you HD locals are on sat you are currently looking at. Didn't check where they are.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...